We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Professional and Personal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #50 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
“Professional and Personal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

For the past three years I have been in DC 7 or 8 times a year for 3-4 days per trip. The only time I don't stay at the Carlyle is when I have been late in reserving a room to find they are full. Superb personell at every level and role - attentive, efficient and accomodating. Clean, comfortable and well appointed rooms for business traveler. Convenient location with easy walks to Metro, Connecticut Ave. shops. Lots of options for food and beverage. Interesting and safe neighborhood for morning or nighttime walks. Affordable and excellent value for the dollar.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Dear David H - Thank you for your full 5-circles and for your 2-P's ("Professional & Personal")...it is how we try to treat every guest! We'll look forward to seeing you on your next visit! Sincerely, the Service Stars of The Carlyle Suites Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,991 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,167
    596
    145
    46
    37
See reviews for
583
504
119
453
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
141 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013 via mobile

Having just checked out of the Carlyle Suites Hotel I am happy to say that it was a great stay. I typically stay in other hotels when in DC for business but thought I would try the Carlyle this time based on other trip advisor reviews. The service was exceptional with a big thumbs up to David for being a wonderful host. The only negative I have for the hotel is the lack of a fitness centre within the hotel but other than that it was fantastic.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TonyB932
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2013
Hi TonyB932 - We do hope that you'll "typically" stay with us from now on! Thank you for taking the time to post. While we do not have an on-site health facility, our guests are able to take advantage of all of the services offered by the near-by Washington Sports Club. The club is huge and offers all of the bells and whistles of a full services facility....cardio equipment, weights, spinning, yoga and zumba! Stop by the front desk on your next visit for a complimentary pass! Hope to see you soon, JoAnn, David & the Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

We were very pleasantly surprised with the large suite that we received for a very reasonable price. It was very clean, quiet, comfortable and had a full kitchen and great coffee maker. I would definitely recommend this hotel and stay here again. They do have about 20 parking spots behind the hotel that are free if you can get one, which we did. A short walk to the metro and many nice restaurants.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lincoln M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Thank you for your recommendation, Linclon M from Michigan!! We're happy to hear you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! JoAnn and the Service Stars...makes us sound like a Motown Group, doesn't it :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

My Partner and I recently spent 5 nights at the Carlyle Suites Hotel. In all of the hotels that I have stayed in the past 24 months this one stands out above them all. The hotel is a short walk to the Dupont Circle Metro Station and quie a few moderetly priced restaurants. We were in DC for a pleasure visit spending long days visiting the museums. Abou and Karen at the front desk as well as all of the staff we encountered were warm and friendly and truly made us feel welcome. It was truly a wonderful feeling to be greeted with, "Welcome Home" when arriving back to the hotel after spending 8 hours museum hopping. Being the owners of 4 bed and breakfast in North Louisiana we know what it takes to stand out and make guest feel welcome. Hats off to the Carlyle Suites Hotel and most importantly the staff.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
And "hats off" to you too Kirt H, for taking the time to acknowledge our hard-working team! Best of luck to you at your B&B and we hope to welcome you home to DC again soon! Best wishes, JoAnn, Karen & Abou and the rest of our Service Stars!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mahwah, New Jersey
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

We came to town to visit our nephew who attends college down here. We didn't think we would want to spring for an in-town hotel and were going to settle for a chain hotel in the outlying area. For HA-HAs, we looked at the DC proper listings and saw the high ranking of Carlyle Suites and the price point was not much more than we would have paid to stay in Sliver Springs. Better yet, the all-suites setup allowed our nephew to stay in the room with us on the pullout couch.The room was spacious, clean and modern. The staff was warm and friendly from the front desk to housekeeping. The location was perfect and having free parking in the rear gave us the ability to use our car and access the easy street parking that DC and Georgetown have on weekends. Great place. It will be our go-to choice for future DC visits.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SkinnyGuides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hi SkinnyGuides!! We LOVE TripAdvisor...it brings folks like you, who may have never found us, to our doors. We think your nephew misses you already and that you should hurry back to DC to visit him (and us!) again!! Thank you for taking the time to post - JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stay here every business trip now. We get a great rate and I love that every bed is a tempurpedic. Every room has a kitchenette. I've never stayed more than one night at a time, but I would have no problems recommending this place for longer stays. Great restaurants nearby and blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro. Near a college so lots of younger folks walking around. Feels very open and safe. Never had any problems here. Rooms are big, nice big TV. Never tried the on-site restaurant since there are so many eating choices around.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and facing the back of the hotel for a more quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Welcom Home, Michael L!! On your next visit, stop in and see Taj at the Lobby Bar (he's on duty most week nights). He'd love to introduce you to our on-site restaurant! Thank you for being one of our "regulars!" See you soon - JoAnn, David, Simon, Karen, Mediombo and the TEAM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent a weekend in this hotel. The staff.. ALL I had contact with were warm, immediately responsive, and did not seem to just be doing a job. They took pride in helping with everything from parking to fixing a coffee maker .. immediately. Of particular note were the services of Juan Carlos the house man, and Dante and Abu at the desk. The scale of the hotel was perfect for a single woman traveler and the area was full of walkable restaurants and minutes from the metro. I also found it easy to walk down to the mall (but I love walking in DC) I enjoyed having a small architecturally de-emphasized kitchenette. Finally, there were several small room details that demonstrated awareness of how to design a room and bath to make it very user friendly. I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If travelling and wanting two beds ask for a corner room.. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bentalcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Bentalcella - We will definitely look forward to seeing you again!! It's so gratifying to hear when we leave such a good impression on our guests. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to share an experience and our team memebers do love to see their name in lights! Cheers! JoAnn

For those of you reading along - the CORNER suites that keep getting mentioned are our GRAND DOUBLE DOUBLES and our GRAND DOUBLE DOUBLES with SOFA BEDS. Our GRAND KINGS are also an excellent choice if you're looking for extra space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,927 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,579 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#23 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 346 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing