We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, easy access” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #47 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Great Neck, NY
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great location, easy access”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2013

I stay here every business trip now. We get a great rate and I love that every bed is a tempurpedic. Every room has a kitchenette. I've never stayed more than one night at a time, but I would have no problems recommending this place for longer stays. Great restaurants nearby and blocks from the Dupont Circle Metro. Near a college so lots of younger folks walking around. Feels very open and safe. Never had any problems here. Rooms are big, nice big TV. Never tried the on-site restaurant since there are so many eating choices around.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms higher up and facing the back of the hotel for a more quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Welcom Home, Michael L!! On your next visit, stop in and see Taj at the Lobby Bar (he's on duty most week nights). He'd love to introduce you to our on-site restaurant! Thank you for being one of our "regulars!" See you soon - JoAnn, David, Simon, Karen, Mediombo and the TEAM!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,910 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,125
    567
    144
    40
    34
See reviews for
561
484
116
432
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morgantown, West Virginia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent a weekend in this hotel. The staff.. ALL I had contact with were warm, immediately responsive, and did not seem to just be doing a job. They took pride in helping with everything from parking to fixing a coffee maker .. immediately. Of particular note were the services of Juan Carlos the house man, and Dante and Abu at the desk. The scale of the hotel was perfect for a single woman traveler and the area was full of walkable restaurants and minutes from the metro. I also found it easy to walk down to the mall (but I love walking in DC) I enjoyed having a small architecturally de-emphasized kitchenette. Finally, there were several small room details that demonstrated awareness of how to design a room and bath to make it very user friendly. I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If travelling and wanting two beds ask for a corner room.. Lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentalcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Bentalcella - We will definitely look forward to seeing you again!! It's so gratifying to hear when we leave such a good impression on our guests. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to share an experience and our team memebers do love to see their name in lights! Cheers! JoAnn

For those of you reading along - the CORNER suites that keep getting mentioned are our GRAND DOUBLE DOUBLES and our GRAND DOUBLE DOUBLES with SOFA BEDS. Our GRAND KINGS are also an excellent choice if you're looking for extra space!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a very lovely stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel, from beginning to end. The reservation service staff was helpful and accurate. Upon arrival, there was no delay, just a welcome! The room was comfortable with many pleasant features--free Wi-Fi, comfortable mattress, shower set up so that you can turn it on without getting wet, tidy kitchenette, and good heating system on a bitter cold day. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff. Juan Carlos goes beyond in providing whatever is needed; all were gracious; I remember Kamaria and Karcu always smiling. If you come early, free parking may be available. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The corner suite on a high floor is perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
And we'd love to have you stay here again! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and for acknowledging the work of our dedicated Service Specialists -
Best wishes, JoAnn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Carlyle Suites Hotel. The room were very comfortable for me, my husband and 12 year old daughter. We appreciated the kitchenette, the free Wi-Fi (although it was inconvenient to have to log in all the time) and the friendly, helpful staff. A light blew and was replaced within the hour. Great location, lovely neighborhood. We were able to walk to the the two kosher restaurants in DC as well as many other places.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robin22228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi Robin! Thank you for the terrific 5 circle review! We are so grateful for you taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review - the leading hotel review site for the hospitality industry! We hope you had a safe trip back to Sydney and look forward to your return! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miramar, Florida
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very nice Art Deco property, walking distance from the Dupont Circle in the elegant district of Embasy Row, the staff was helpfull and friendly at all times. The bedroom was confortable, on the small side, but cozy, with a kitchinette, a refrigerator, and a convenient Kourig cooffe maker.
We enjoyed a nice parking place for 4 nights plus permission to let the car in the parking lot during our travel to New York for 5 days. That is what I call a good service!!!!!.
Definitelly I will recommend this Hotel, and will be back when again in Washington.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dgaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear dgaspar - Your 5 circle review of the Carlyle Suites Hotel in DC made my day! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We look forward to your return and hope you make the trip from Miramar Florida soon! Best MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2013

I would say this is great value, but that would undermine the overall review. this is a great hotel, location, room, and service - for any price! There is free wifi, close to DuPont Circle (<8 min walk), and close to Hilton hotels and Adams Morgan area. The beds were very comfortable, and the suites are large with with the amenities you would expect in a suite. Dante and Jordan at the front desk were also very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger - it seems to be a relatively quiet location
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Dear Philip - What could I possible say after such a great review! I know - THANK YOU!! We hope to see you again and look forward to your next trip from Atlanta! Warm Regards - MarcAtnhony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Carlyle Hotel. We had a free upgrade upon arrival. We loved the cleanliness of the hotel and it's location was perfect for us since we brought our dog..dog park is just steps away.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vjenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Hi VJenny! So happy you found the new dog park down the street! Isn't it fabulous! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your return! Let us know if can personally look after you on your next visit! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,676 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#54 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan
The Kimpton Donovan
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,493 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#27 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 232 reviews
The Normandy Hotel
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Odigeo, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing