We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Windsor Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Embassy Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Washington Hilton(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
The Embassy Row Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Rouge Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Tabard Inn(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Kimpton Topaz Hotel(Washington DC)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Reviews (2,263)
Filter reviews
2,263 results
Traveler rating
1,319
674
171
56
43
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,319
674
171
56
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circledog parkmemory foamnew hampshiresmall kitchenettekeurig coffee makeru streetcorner roomnice neighborhoodwine hourstreet parkingsafe neighborhoodfew blocksfront desk staffembassy rowsitting areabeds were very comfortable
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,364 - 1,369 of 2,263 reviews
Reviewed January 29, 2013

I recently spent a weekend in this hotel. The staff.. ALL I had contact with were warm, immediately responsive, and did not seem to just be doing a job. They took pride in helping with everything from parking to fixing a coffee maker .. immediately. Of particular note were the services of Juan Carlos the house man, and Dante and Abu at the desk. The scale of the hotel was perfect for a single woman traveler and the area was full of walkable restaurants and minutes from the metro. I also found it easy to walk down to the mall (but I love walking in DC) I enjoyed having a small architecturally de-emphasized kitchenette. Finally, there were several small room details that demonstrated awareness of how to design a room and bath to make it very user friendly. I will definitely stay here again

Room Tip: If travelling and wanting two beds ask for a corner room.. Lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentalcella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

Bentalcella - We will definitely look forward to seeing you again!! It's so gratifying to hear when we leave such a good impression on our guests. We appreciate the time and effort it takes to share an experience and our team memebers do love to see their name in lights! Cheers! JoAnn

For those of you reading along - the CORNER suites that keep getting mentioned are our GRAND DOUBLE DOUBLES and our GRAND DOUBLE DOUBLES with SOFA BEDS. Our GRAND KINGS are also an excellent choice if you're looking for extra space!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I had a very lovely stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel, from beginning to end. The reservation service staff was helpful and accurate. Upon arrival, there was no delay, just a welcome! The room was comfortable with many pleasant features--free Wi-Fi, comfortable mattress, shower set up so that you can turn it on without getting wet, tidy kitchenette, and good heating system on a bitter cold day. I cannot say enough nice things about the staff. Juan Carlos goes beyond in providing whatever is needed; all were gracious; I remember Kamaria and Karcu always smiling. If you come early, free parking may be available. I would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: The corner suite on a high floor is perfect.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank classicalmusictravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ServiceSpecialists, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2013

And we'd love to have you stay here again! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with others and for acknowledging the work of our dedicated Service Specialists -
Best wishes, JoAnn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2013

We stayed 4 nights at the Carlyle Suites Hotel. The room were very comfortable for me, my husband and 12 year old daughter. We appreciated the kitchenette, the free Wi-Fi (although it was inconvenient to have to log in all the time) and the friendly, helpful staff. A light blew and was replaced within the hour. Great location, lovely neighborhood. We were able to walk to the the two kosher restaurants in DC as well as many other places.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Robin22228
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Hi Robin! Thank you for the terrific 5 circle review! We are so grateful for you taking the time to post a TripAdvisor review - the leading hotel review site for the hospitality industry! We hope you had a safe trip back to Sydney and look forward to your return! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

Very nice Art Deco property, walking distance from the Dupont Circle in the elegant district of Embasy Row, the staff was helpfull and friendly at all times. The bedroom was confortable, on the small side, but cozy, with a kitchinette, a refrigerator, and a convenient Kourig cooffe maker.
We enjoyed a nice parking place for 4 nights plus permission to let the car in the parking lot during our travel to New York for 5 days. That is what I call a good service!!!!!.
Definitelly I will recommend this Hotel, and will be back when again in Washington.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dgaspar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear dgaspar - Your 5 circle review of the Carlyle Suites Hotel in DC made my day! We appreciate you sharing your experience with the TripAdvisor community! We look forward to your return and hope you make the trip from Miramar Florida soon! Best MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

I would say this is great value, but that would undermine the overall review. this is a great hotel, location, room, and service - for any price! There is free wifi, close to DuPont Circle (<8 min walk), and close to Hilton hotels and Adams Morgan area. The beds were very comfortable, and the suites are large with with the amenities you would expect in a suite. Dante and Jordan at the front desk were also very friendly and accommodating.

Room Tip: corner rooms are bigger - it seems to be a relatively quiet location
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 23, 2013

Dear Philip - What could I possible say after such a great review! I know - THANK YOU!! We hope to see you again and look forward to your next trip from Atlanta! Warm Regards - MarcAtnhony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews