We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DC's chic but outstanding hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Ranked #43 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“DC's chic but outstanding hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

The lobby is unimpressive and it looks like you walked into a movie theater of the 60s. But wait till you get to the room. Neat, spacious, elegant decor, electric iron with board, hair dryer, etc but wait! It comes with a fully stocked kitchen. They call it a kitchenette but I call it a neat kitchen. Microwave is standard but I don't recall seeing a regular oven. A Kreuig coffee maker and selection of teas on request, free wifi, don't know what else to ask for. Great service and a great helpful staff. Their breakfast buffer is perhaps th best I have seen for such a small hotel. This is the second time I stayed and I won't be moving back to the Marriott in a hurry...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vivek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hi Vivek! Thank you for returning to the Carlyle Suites Hotel! It is the best compliment we could every have! (We love the review too, don't get me wrong!) Glad to hear you made good use of the kitchens and the Keurig machines.... Our Controller had one in her office and raved about it so much we put one in every room! Hope you had a great trip back to India! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,109
    556
    139
    39
    34
See reviews for
555
471
115
423
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

My first stay in Washington DC and I was told to stay at the Embassy Row/DuPont Circle area because it is safe and close to good restaurants and accessible to the train station. I compared different hotels in the area and checked all the ratings and found Carlyle Suite Hotel to meet all my criteria for a very good hotel at a reasonable price. True to the ratings, the hotel has great staff, the room is very clean and complete with everything that you need. They let me checked in 3 hours before the check in time which is always great after an early morning travel. I highly recommend the hotel and the location.

Room Tip: Request for a lower floor. I was given a corner suite with a complete kitchen setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank esonnieratglobal2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Hey there esonnieratglobal2020! Super review for the Carlyle Suites Hotel! Thank you so very much! Thank you for pointing out the value of our Dupont Circle Hotel. We try to keep our rates reasonable and our amenities up-to-date! Hope you enjoyed the Tempur-pedic beds, kitchens and the gourmet Keurig coffee machines. If you make it back from Houston, please give us another try! Thanks again! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Had a really good three-night stay here. They'd given us a corner room on the 6th floor which easily fit two adults, a toddler and a baby in a portable cot supplied by the hotel. The kitchenette was handy for washing up baby bottles and the coffee was excellent. Beds were amazingly comfy.

The area is really pretty and mostly quiet, on a street with lots of embassies. On the Saturday night there was a drunken idiot shouting outside for a while which was pretty annoying but you run the risk of that in any city! There are plenty of good eating options nearby at Dupont Circle (about a 5-10 minute walk), including Firehook bakery which has loads of amazing pastries. There's a metro station at Dupont Circle too so it's pretty easy to get to most attractions (think most of the metro stations have lifts so you can take buggies around) and a big CVS pharmacy/ where you can get baby stuff and food and drink (not fresh stuff but things like pizza, cereal, snacks etc).

I had to email them before the trip to arrange the cot and they were really helpful and quick to reply. Didn't eat in the in-house restaurant but it looked quite nice. Staff were all really friendly, the hotel is a nice art deco-ey style and was well-kept. And all for about the same price as you'd get a characterless chain hotel room or an average b&b in the UK. I'd thoroughly recommend it!

Room Tip: Corner rooms are the biggest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank smbxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear SMBXX - We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your stay (especially the comfy Tempur Pedic beds) in our Dupont Circle hotel! I am so happy you discovered Firehook Bakery! So delicious! Hope you had a safe trip back to Brighton! Cheers - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

Pluses- decent location, free parking and (slow) Internet. Washer and dryer in basement. Clean, friendly staff. $13 Buffet breakfast w/custom-made omelets. Frig and microwave in room. Negative - older hotel, no movies available.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank roy h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Hi Roy! Thanks for the 4 circle review! Thanks for making a point to mention the location, staff and free parking we think those are our best amenities! Indeed we are an older hotel. We have been making improvements along the way such as adding 37" HD flat screen televisions by Samsung, Tempur-Pedic beds, gourmet Keurig coffee makers in each rooms and premium cable television. I will check out the WiFi for you to make sure we get it running again at full capacity. I am hoping we just need to reboot the router. Thanks for mentioning it. Roy - We are making enhancements every month! Be sure to give us another try. We promise you won't be disappointed! Warm Regards, MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I stayed one night in the Carlyle Suites while on a business trip and was very pleased with the hotel. The staff was friendly, competent, and helpful (I'm usually glad to get two out of three). The room was clean and had a very usable layout. There were a few decorating quirks such as a surface mounted electrical box and light switches in unexpected places that speak to the age of the building and the compromises that come with renovations. These did not negatively impact my stay, but I mention them in case you're very sensitive to a room's decorations. I didn't make use of the kitchen facilities in the room.

The location was great with a scenic 10 minute walk past embassies to the DuPont Circle metro station. There were also several restaurants and other retail near DuPont Circle with an easy hop to Union Station. I look forward to staying at the Carlyle on a future trip when I can spend a little more time there.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi Bill! Thanks for the great review detailing your recent stay of our Dupont Circle Hotel!
Please do make it a point to stay longer... there is so much to do and see like the Phillips Collection Museum, a 20 minute walk to the White House, great food along 14th Street and an easy walk down the U Street Corridor or up to Adams Morgan for a little live music! If you come, try to plan it around Christmas time or even better... Cherry Blossom Season! It's a magical time of year! See you soon! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncks Corner, South Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

My friend and I decided to stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel based on their trip advisor rating and we were very impressed with this hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and they even upgraded our room since we were not able to check in early. They helped us find our way around the city and made great suggestions on things to do. The room was very large & clean. I really felt this hotel was safe and the staff was trustworthy. In order to take the elavator to each floor, you must have a room key to insert. < Nice feature I thought. You could walk anywhere you wanted to go or just walk about 7 minutes to Dupont Circle and catch the Metro. I would stay here again for sure. Great Value & Clean Hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morganlainee1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Hi Morgan! Your review is GREATLY appreciated and how sweet of you to mention the staff. I think they are our BEST amenity personally! (he he he). Thanks for mentioning the elevator key security feature too... some guests thinks its strange.... glad you found it kind of nice! Its funny, I actually look for that now when I travel. Please let us know when you are ready to revisit. We would love to personally assist you with your next reservation. Just email me at mcrimi@greataddresses.com. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berrien Springs, Michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Because our daughter lives in the Dupont Circle area of the city, she has booked us into this hotel a number of times over the past 3-4 years. During every experience the entire staff from the doorman-bell hops through the front desk folks and manager to the housekeeping [very good!] seemed to know that the guests were special. Each seemed to go out of his/her way to be helpful without being obnoxious. Jordan and Simon were most helpful during our last visit.

The art-deco style is unique and well done, especially in the guest rooms.

Located a half mile east of Dupont Circle in a safe 'walking' neighborhood, one can blend
in that way or the staff will easily find a cab.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Longintheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you Longintheway for the lovely review and for frequently returning to the Carlyle Suites Hotel! That is the best compliment we could every receive! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team, especially Housekeeping, Simon and Jordan. Please send our thanks to your daughter for sending you our way! Warm Regards, MarcAnthony and team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,556 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#51 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
The Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,423 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Fairfax at Embassy Row, Washington D.C.
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
Kimpton Topaz Hotel
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel

Property: The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, The Carlyle Hotel in Washington DC offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. The Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Cancelon, Odigeo, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing