We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #51 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I have just spent 7 nights at the Carlyle. I can only say good things. The staff on reception were terrific - friendly and welcoming and helpful to a first time Washington visitor. Anything I asked/needed they were always quick to attend to - if I needed a cab for example there was always someone to hail one as soon as I needed it. My room (8th floor corner) was spacious, two very comfortable double beds (not queen), nice sitting area, furnishings in very nice condition, small kitchenette (a kettle was the only thing missing for this Aussie - making cups of tea in the microwave a bit strange! but there was a coffee maker which was good), the bathroom is small but very adequate with good hot water pressure and had a nice powder room with good mirrors, seat etc. The decor is toward Art Deco in keeping with the age of the hotel. Breakfast was served in a lovely light conservatory style space with a good buffet selection of hot and cold food and fresh omlettes or waffles made to order. Plenty of fresh fruit salad. All for about $13 inc taxes. I did not eat dinner at the hotel so cannot comment. The hotel is an easy walk to Dupont Circle and the Metro. I was attending a conf at the Hilton which was an easy 7 min walk. Reception provides a map for you to follow so no trouble finding your way and the Carlyle is much more personable - I'd choose it over the Hilton any day. There are loads on cool restaurants within easy walk as well thru lovely brownstone streets. I would like to say thanks to Mediombu, David, Giovani, Bernadette and Dora among others for a great stay. Thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Greetings Sue! Thank you for the detailed review of your recent stay at the Carlyle Suites Hotel in Dupont Circle! It will certainly help us, and other TripAdvisor readers to the services of our hotel. I have passed along your thanks to Mediombu, David and the team and they are all blushing!
We hope you had a safe trip back to Brisbane. Warm Regards - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,217)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,375 - 1,381 of 2,217 reviews

Reviewed November 6, 2012

Let me start out by saying that the staff of this hotel went out of their way to be nice and accomodating. We arrived the Sunday before Hurricane Sandy hit and the front desk was pretty busy when we arrived. My only complaint at this point was that the desk clerk kept stopping to answer the phone instead of getting us checked in. A bit annoying but they did take care of us. The rooms - if you book a suite - are very large for a city hotel and have a kitchenette which is very convenient especially if you have to ride out a hurricane. The beds are very comfortable as everyone states in their reviews and it is pretty clean.The neighborhood is very pretty and close to the metro. But there were a few things that made wonder about the high rating. Although the bathroom shower sprayed very hard (good for waking up) it also sprayed all over the bathroom. The glass partition does not block the water and it goes everywhere. Put plenty of towels down and don't leave anything on the wall hooks. On Halloween night the room next door had a very very noisy party until 6 (I'm not making this up) in the morning. We asked them to at least turn down the music, which they did, but they were still pretty noisy. Can't believe that management didn't hear it. The next night the couple on the other side of us starting a very loud screaming match with lots of things being knocked around and hitting the walls. When their baby starting screaming we decided to call the front desk because I was worried it was the wife that was hitting the walls. I knew at the beginning that the hotel was not top of the line but because of the price and the high rating (#7 at the time) I decided to take a chance. I think these are just a few examples of the type of clientele that stay here. It is a hotel that is trying so hard to be a classier property but is just short of the mark. If I visited again with family I might stay here but this was just me and my husband and wanted something a little more luxurious.

Room Tip: Make sure you get one of the suites that are on the corners. At first we had a room that was in an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kattraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear Kattraveler61 - We greatly appreciate you taking the time to share your experience of your recent stay at the Carlyle Suites. I am glad you thought the staff was attentive and the rooms spacious and clean. This is by far the main reason we get rated so high on TripAdvisor as the reviews attest (as well as our modest rates for DC hotel). We are certainly not the Ritz and very comfortable with that. We like to think of ourselves as a 3 star property with 5 star service. ;) I was super disappointed when I heard about the noise issues during your stay. When I hear about other guests affecting the stay of another, my heart just sinks. We don't want this to be the lasting impression! I am sure if you gave us another try, you would see that it is not indicative of the type of customers we attract and your stay was indeed an anomaly. Warm Wishes to you Katt and to your husband. We hope you had a safe trip home. Best - Marcanthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Lovely big rooms with a small shower room and two double beds. Used the beds as twins as we are used to a 6' bed. We had a corner room that was nice and bright. We even had a little kitchen.
They did have some water issues in that there was a damp smell in the corridors. The behind the desk staff were not as knowledgeable as they should be. We tried to find out about the hop on and hop off bus and they could not tell us where it went from at Dupont Circle. Said we could not walk to the White House as it was too far - anyway we did as we could not find the bus.
Good breakfast and well situated hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonniegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi Bonniegirl! First off - let me start by saying that Guest Reception is now armed with maps of the hop-on/hop-off bus and ready to tackle that question for the next guest! That was just unacceptable for us to miss such an easy one! As far as the walk to the White House, it wasn't so bad right?! I am a New York'er and used to walking around and know it takes about 20 minutes from the Carlyle Suites Hotel. DC is a small city and very accessible isn't it. Still - the next time you are in town, the bus is a great way to see the city. Especially the monuments at night. So pretty! Thanks for reviewing our hotel and we hope you make the trip across the pond again soon! Best - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The Hotel was magnificent the food was very nice the staff were very polite and the rooms were very clean and tidy. We went on a school trip to Washington and we stayed here. We all couldn't wait to get back as it was very comfy and relaxing. It also has wifi so we could all go on Facebook and talk to our families back home. We also had good use of the phones. They are completely different to English phones as you can have two people on the line. You can ring them up and they will call you up as a wake up call at what ever time you want. Overall it is one of the best hotels i have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stefan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Hi Stefan! We are so happy you and your school enjoyed your stay at the Carlyle! We really loved having you! There is so much to do in Washington so I hope you squeezed in all my favorites like the Newseum, the paddle boats on the Tidal Basin and the new Martin Luther King Memorial! Cheers my friend! Come back to us soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently visited Carlyle Suites Hotel in Georgetown section of Washington, DC. for a 6 day
vacation with my sister. Great location and within walking distance to many fine restaurants.
Clean and updated accommodations with comfortable beds. We are senior citizens but felt
safe even walking to and from dinner at night. (and no we didn't go during the early bird specials!) The personnel from Simon, Bernadette to all members of the staff were welcoming, helpful and a true delight to "come home" to after a day of sightseeing. We also loved the
people of DC - truly warm and helpful. We ended up using the Metro during the day and
found it incredibly easy, clean and economical to get around the city. A spendid experience!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room facing alley and were wakened early one morning by noise. However, lack of vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherylwithaC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dearest CherlywithaC - Your five circle review as us all beaming (especially Simon and Bernadette who were mentioned! - they get such a hoot out of that!) We really appreciate the details from service to location. It makes a big difference to our business. Much love - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Carlyle is a great place, lots of room. The staff is lovely and accomodating. Nice bar with good food. Short walk to bus and lots of great dining options close by. Parking is a littly 'iffy' but if you don't have to move your car a lot you will be ok.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sjones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear sJones! Your 5 circle review is helping the Carlyle Suites Hotel get back into the top 5 hotels in Washington DC! Glad you liked the food too! With all the restaurant in DC, most guests enjoy eating out, but our food it great isn't it!?! All the best to you in Raleigh! MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our group of 8 runners shared three rooms. Due to the length of the marathon, we needed a late check out to shower after the race. They graciously accomodated our request. Two of our ladies were delayed by a slow metro and arrived after we checked out. The manager, David, opened up another room and allowed them to change and shower at no cost. Talk about service! Highly recommend Carlyle Suites.

Room Tip: Slept very well. Extremely quiet. Beds were super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Dear David! Thanks for your service to our country and for selecting the Carlyle Suites Hotel as your home away from home when visiting Washington DC! Opening up the rooms after check out for a quick shower and change for our guests was the least we could do for you! Just happy we were able to accommodate. Congrats on the race and hopefully we will see you and your friends next year! Cheers - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,382 reviews
Kimpton Glover Park Hotel
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Kimpton George Hotel
#20 of 141 in Washington DC
2,217 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
Melrose Georgetown Hotel
#39 of 141 in Washington DC
1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#21 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#25 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $114 - $366 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing