We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine Corps Marathon weekend”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Ranked #52 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Rich
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marine Corps Marathon weekend”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Our group of 8 runners shared three rooms. Due to the length of the marathon, we needed a late check out to shower after the race. They graciously accomodated our request. Two of our ladies were delayed by a slow metro and arrived after we checked out. The manager, David, opened up another room and allowed them to change and shower at no cost. Talk about service! Highly recommend Carlyle Suites.

Room Tip: Slept very well. Extremely quiet. Beds were super comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 11, 2012
Dear David! Thanks for your service to our country and for selecting the Carlyle Suites Hotel as your home away from home when visiting Washington DC! Opening up the rooms after check out for a quick shower and change for our guests was the least we could do for you! Just happy we were able to accommodate. Congrats on the race and hopefully we will see you and your friends next year! Cheers - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,028 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,184
    611
    148
    48
    37
See reviews for
592
514
123
465
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (408)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Great attention from Simon the manager and from the rest of the hotel staff.
Clean rooms.
The bed a little to soft for me but good.
I didn't like that the soap for the dishes was refill with water do.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paulaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Paulaula - Thank you for the review and mentioning Simon and the cleanliness of our rooms. Both Simon and the entire Housekeeping department at the Carlyle Suites Hotel are a big reason why we get rated so high by our guest on TripAdvisor! Hope you had a nice trip back to Guatemala! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mary Esther, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Simon and the staff here at the Carlyle made our visit to DC feel like home. The friendly service, the ambience, the decor, the location all made my first visit the DC and excellent experience. They go out of their way to make their guests feel so welcomed, The suite felt more like a small apartment. I love the art deco design. The food was wonderful and very affordable; and if you choose to prepare your own there is a fully equipped kitchen in each suite and a nearby supermarket. The neighborhood was a mixture of residential buildings, restaurants,embassies, and shops. The Metro station is within walking distance and taxi service is easily attainable. Then just 3 miles away was the White House ! Access to Reagan Airport was effortless. I will definitely choose the Carlyle again and again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Proshop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Proshop2! This is just about one of the nicest reviews! How grateful are we that you took the time to share your experience with the TripAdvisor community! I know Simon may be a little embarrassed for getting an online mention, but we are just so proud of him and the service he provides. Thanks again! MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

best experience ever. wonderful treatment with special consideration on our anniversary. first class room, great location, wonderful neighborhood, fun to walk and explore great food. but the staff led by david trezevant the manager and simon made us feel like diplomats. what a great experience in washington. we will be back this july. thank you all for the champions you are and your pride and professionalism shines above your competition. bev and ric

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ric o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Bev! HI Ric! Thank you for sharing your Anniversary with us! Glad to hear that we made it extra special for you both! Can't wait to see you again in July! Give us a call if you need any ideas on things to do over the Summer! One of my favorite things to do is take a picnic on the National Mall or stashing some wine and cheese in a sack and taking out one of the paddle boats on the Tidal Basin! So Romantic! email me for more ideas! Cheers - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent a week here at the Carlyle Suites and truly enjoyed it. The hotel is nicely designed, up to date and in great condition. Located only 5 minutes walk from the Metro and in a very quiet part of town. The breakfast buffet is great and quite varied, with the option of having an omelette or waffels made.
Rooms are spacious and well equipped. Beds are very nice with Tempur mattresses and plenty of pillows.
The best about the hotel however is the staff who are friendly, accommodating and knowledgable even beyond normal high US standards. They quickly replied to any and all of our requests and really went out of their way to make our stay great.
One minor issue is parking which can be tricky late at night as the hotel itself have only a few parkingspots - but even here the staff were extremely helpful.

We will most definitely stay here again next time we visit D.C.!

Room Tip: If possible request a room in the upper floors as Wifi reception and noice levels are lower here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nord1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Nord1 - Your comments on the service you experienced during your visit was the best compliment we could ever receive! We are very lucky to have a staff that truly enjoys servicing others and who take great pride in the work they do each and every day. As far as our parking situation, we wish we could expand upon our tiny little parking lot. Since there are only about 15 spaces in all, we keep it complimentary because charging would just not seem right. Thanks again for the review and we hope you make the trip again from Copenhagen again soon! Warm Regards - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

As a family of four we recently travelled to Washington in October and stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel. The staff Abou and Simon were very friendly and went out of their way to help us with any of our enquiries. The suite that we stayed in was a large room which was great with a family of four. The beds were very comfortable. The location was fantastic for shops and transport. It is located in a very beautiful part of Washington. Facilties were great- laundry.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
This mus be the travel season for our Aussie friends! This is the 3rd review in the last 2 weeks! Thanks Lee! I passed along your comments to Abou and Simon! Aren't they just the TOPS! Glad you liked the beds - they are premium Tempur-Pedic beds and make for a great nights rest. It's so comfy that it makes it hard to get out of bed! I had to stay over recently and was almost late for my shift! LOL! Hope you and the rest of the family enjoyed the States over your holiday! Best - MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2012

It's a nice hotel with a great location and awesome amenities... they even allow pets! If the front desk staff were nicer, I'd give it 5 stars. The art deco decor is a little overwhelming, but it's definitely endearing if you're into that style. The hotel has all the modern amenities that you'll need though -- wifi, kitchens in each room, etc. The t.v.s are large and the beds are comfy. As a security feature, you can't go up to the rooms via stairs or elevator unless you have a room key card, so keep that in mind when determining how many key cards to ask for upon sign-in.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mason I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Hi Mason! Thanks for putting up your parents during their visit to Washington DC! It seems we had an off day considering your thoughts on our service. As you can see from most reviews it is the reason we rank so high on TripAdvisor. If you give us another try, I am sure we won't disappoint. Take care and thank you again for the review. It is much appreciated. MarcAnthony
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,028 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#32 of 141 in Washington DC
1,607 reviews
Logan Circle/ Shaw
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
Kimpton Rouge Hotel
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
1,814 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#36 of 141 in Washington DC
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kimpton Carlyle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kimpton Carlyle Hotel

Property: Kimpton Carlyle Hotel
Address: 1731 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20009-2501 (Formerly The Carlyle Dupont Circle, a Kimpton Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#26 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#46 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#51 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Kimpton Carlyle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located in fashionable Dupont Circle and newly renovated, Kimpton Carlyle Hotel offers 198 spacious hotel accommodations, some available with kitchenettes, Tempur-Pedic beds, plush duvets and at-home amenities. All rooms feature a flat screen television, available WiFi, and luxurious bath amenities by Bigelow. Kimpton Carlyle Hotel in Dupont Circle is also walking distance to DC's landmark neighborhoods and attractions such as Georgetown, Adams Morgan, U Street and our nation's most famous residence - the White House. The DC Metro and famed Dupont Circle fountain is just a short three block walk from our DC hotel, and premier dining is within easy reach along Connecticut Ave. As well as Dupont Circle. Come and stay with us and enjoy the beautiful tree lined streets and character rich architecture of the neighborhood. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kimpton Carlyle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlyle Hotel Washington Dc
The Carlyle Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing