We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$142
$119
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$207
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $275/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$121
$99
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $174/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$127
$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$170
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$237
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$164
$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $196/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$123
$115
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $136/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$139
$125
Capitol Hill
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of $163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,312)
Filter reviews
2,312 results
Traveler rating
1,350
682
178
57
45
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,350
682
178
57
45
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsdupont circlememory foamdog parknew hampshiresmall kitchenettekeurig coffee makeru streetcorner roomnice neighborhoodwine hourquiet streetsafe neighborhoodfew blocksfront desk staffembassy rowsitting areaadams morgan
Filter
Updating list...
1,672 - 1,677 of 2,312 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Since we live in Baltimore area, we seldom have the need to stay overnight in Washington. Our only previous overnight adventures were mostly in tourist-clogged hotels close to the National Mall. After doing some homework, we sought more of an upscale ‘neighborhood’ setting, away from the national monuments, etc. to celebrate a special occasion (birthday) and explore the surrounding area as a weekend getaway. We had always heard that the Dupont Circle-Georgetown area of DC would probably fit the bill.

When I consulted Trip Advisor. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that several of the highest ranked hotels in Washington were in the Dupont Circle-Georgetown area. Taking into consideration recent guest reviews, along with room cost, we decided on the Carlyle Suites. Their consistent 5 star reviews, and positive comments regarding hotel appearance, staff, and neighborhood were all eye-openers. In fact, Carlyle Suites is located in a quiet neighborhood on New Hampshire Avenue, among well-manicured residences, embassies and various national organizations. It’s only about a 2 block walk to the shops, boutiques, bookstores, restaurants, art galleries, and Metro which all define Dupont Circle.

We found the interior design of the Carlyle Suites to be attractively ‘Art-Deco-ish’, well planned, and spotless, both in the public areas as well as the guest suites. Guest suite furnishings thankfully avoid the chain-hotel look. The chairs, tables, and other room appointments all blend in to create a comfortable artistic whole. A welcome and refreshing change, to say the least. And the staff was top notch, helpful and always there for you. All-in-all, a ‘find’ that we will definitely return to.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank artistK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CarlyleSuitesHotel, Manager at Kimpton Carlyle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2012

Dear artistK - We are so happy that you turned to TripAdvisor when planning your visit to Washington DC. We are so proud of our guest reviews because as you noted in the title of your review - we try to exceed our guest expectations each and ever day. From our at-home amenities such as the Tempur-Pedic beds and the gourmet Keurig coffee makers to our 37" HD flat screen televisions and free WiFi. (And through our service of course). Thanks again for the review and we look forward to your return! Best - MarcAnthony

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

We just returned home from a wonderful weekend in D.C. for the 10th Annual Avon Walk for Breast Cancer. This is the third year my walking team has stayed at the Carlyle Suites Hotel and we wouldn't dream of staying any place else!

Situated in Dupont Circle, we had a double double suite that overlooked New Hampshire Avenue. Plenty of windows made the rooms bright and pleasant! The little kitchen area was the perfect place to have a little pre-walk wine and cheese celebration and it was nice to have a good-size refrigerator to keep cold our water and snacks for the walk.The staff was attentive to our needs and very welcoming! We were up and out very early both days and staff made sure we had taxi cabs to get us to our destinations. After our first day walking (26.2 miles), we settled in at the bar around 5:30 to have a cold post-walkathon beer (it’s very fortifying after logging that many miles!) while watching the Kentucky Derby. We then went to our rooms to grab showers and then returned to have dinner. Haneen was especially attentive! I remembered him from last year’s Walk! The food was spectacular, service was outstanding, accommodations were top-notch and the beds were soooooooooo comfortable—we can’t thank The Carlyle Suites enough!

I am happy to report that after our third year, our Avon Walk Team—the Mountain Mommas—has raised close to $90,000 for breast cancer research! We are on target to surpass $100K next year! We could not do it without the support of our family, friends and businesses such as The Carlyle Suites.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suzi_Crowder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

I am staying for 4 nights in one of the prettiest rooms inside the beltway. I'm looking out 4 windows (that open!), two of them forming the corner of a building, into a beautiful view of light, air, and the DuPont circle neighborhood. The kitchen/dining area is a beautiful nook with a glass table. Air and light everywhere. But my room was "luck of the draw." And lucky I was, getting a corner suite. I'd book here again in a heartbeat, but would select one of the higher end rooms. It's worth it. In peeking in the other rooms, they seem nice as well, but not as spacious.

One annoying detail. I wrote this review and then the wifi went out. Luckily I had saved the text so pasted it back in.

Room Tip: Rooms 03 and 08 seem to be the front of the building corner rooms. Not sure which correspond in the back.
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CHM008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2012

Unfortunately, I was disappointed with my stay at Carlyle. While the Grande Suite we occupied was nicely furnished, there was one particular issue that made for an uncomfortable visit. A few days into our 5-night stay, I noticed that the air conditioning was not turning on even at the coldest stetting. The unit had been working the first two days of our visit. Although the weather was on the cool side, there were a couple of days around 70 degrees and the room became quite warm and stuffy. I reported the issue to the front desk and I was told that the air conditioning was turned off in favor of the heat because the weather had turned cool. The only alternative I was offered was to open my windows. I find it inconceivable that you would not be able to control the temperature of your own room. Furthermore, the room was never cool enough to even require the heat being turned on. With spring in full bloom and having hay fever allergies, keeping the window open was not really a good option...and it rained for two of the days. Upon returning home I received a "how was your stay" email from the "Vice President" of Carlyle hotels. I provided this feedback and after more than a week, never even received an acknowledgement, never mind an apology.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor room in case of street noise. Stay someplace else if you want to control your own thermostat.
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Foodies4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Had a beautiful room on the 8th floor. It was more than a room, was like a kind of apartment.
King size bed, dressing, kitchenette, sofa, desk, round table. Everything very tidy due to the extreme cleanliness standard at this hotel. Very friendly staff always there to help even when it's not really fitting into the time schedule. Excellent breakfast area with a great choice, also excellent chef serving beautiful little dishes at the bar. Thanks to the Moroccon barkeeper and supervisor of the breakfast room, speaking French, Spanish like a machine gun and excellent English. The hotel is in a very quiet area, embassy area, and close to the DuPont circle. If you prepare a little, like I did, you can walk to all the sightseeing, no need to take a subway (although it is close). So I did it all by foot , great walk and also great weather during that special blossom week. To cut it short, a hotel and staff never to forget, the same goes for Washington DC.

Stayed: April 2012
2  Thank Carlos L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews