We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, great people” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #90 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Great location, great people”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This is my 6th year in a row at the Capitol Hilton and I will return again next year. 2 blocks from the White House and close to everything. The best part is the staff. They are always helpful and always friendly. Theresa Thomas at the front desk actually remembers my name every year. Stay here!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chad G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,066
    519
    211
    93
See reviews for
667
608
124
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

When in Washington, stay at the Capital Hilton. I've been staying here off and on since 2003. Steve Hart and the rest of the staff will put your mind at ease. They go the extra mile, so go the extra mile out of your way if you have to stay there. I know I have (and it's worth it).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Wade O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
383 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 16, 2014

I'm afraid our stay here was ruined due to them taking $900 from my account. I check with my Capitol One account every day while travelling to see who has taken a hold of my money and what has been charged for. So when I see six different charges to my card after the initial payment I went straight down to the desk to ask what was going on.

So the first person I spent twenty minutes talking too passed me onto someone else whom then told me they would talk to accounts and leave a message with my room. Eight hours later with no message I returned to the front desk and spent another twenty minutes going over the story to be told there is nothing they could do until the morning.

So morning comes and we are checking out and I have to go over this story again to the desk manager whom makes some calls to find out that they can see no charges at all other then the room charge. So we spend the next 30 minutes calling Capitol One who back up my story even though I had an app on my phone showing them these charges.

So long story short even after talking to their accounts devision they still could not find out why these charges were taken from my account on hold. They told me it must have been a glitch on their system. The problem being though is that I still had three more hotels to go to and they had maxed out my card putting me in a very sticky position! They deducted one nights stay from my bill that was returned to my card eight days later with the other payments. Problem was this was after I had left the country. So I spent the rest of my holiday worrying about these funds.

The room itself was fine. Big, if dated for a city Hilton. We had no other problems with our stay, but we try not to ask to much of any hotel as we have been let down so many times in the past.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 14, 2014

Hotel is old and tired and badly in need of a facelift and better services. The Restaurant is advertised as open but it is not open for Dinner, only serves lunch. One of the elevators didn't work the entire 5 days. There was no Bellman or Doorman there to help with the luggage. The water flow in the bathroom sink was a trickle.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 16, 2014
We appreciate your honest feedback regarding your experience at our hotel. We're working to address the maintenance concerns and clarify our restaurant hours. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience and hope we'll have another opportunity to demonstrate our commitment to your comfort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma, Italia
Level Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

I stayed three nights on august 2013 with my wife and our two sons (15 month and 10 years old, respectively). Perfect location for tourism and business. A big chain hotel with spacious room, good restaurant and very kind staff. The moquette was a bit smelling. Price was excellent for the service obtained.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GianlucaMaurizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that our location worked well for your visit in Washington DC. We hope to have a future opportunity to host you here in Washington DC.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Nice hotel. Close to the tourist spots. Helpful staff. Regarding Hilton Honors Benefits - I was less than impressed by two things.... 1. Daily parking fees of almost $50/day. Outrageous, plain and simple. This charge should be included in your Hilton Honors benefits, especially as a Diamond member no less. 2. Continental breakfast is in fact included (if purchased or through benefits) BUT you are charged $15/person if you decide you want something hot for breakfast? So in other words, since most people want to indulge a little on their vacation, sure we'll whack you another $15/person to add some hot eggs to your free toast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Doug721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We truly value your comments and observations.
We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Medan, Indonesia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2014

A few months ago, I and my friends came from Indonesia invited to attend a seminar on Information Technology in Washington DC and get the service to stay at this hotel. Very satisfying to spend a few days here.The location of the hotel is very strategic for tourists to enjoy the beauty of Washington D.C. Very close to the White House just a few minutes walk is not too far to the Metro Station.

Room Tip: I chose a smoking room that I think my friends and others have larger rooms than the non-smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank azmifaisal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 21, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct and Hotels.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing