We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We got ripped off” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #90 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We got ripped off”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013 via mobile

We booked a deluxe king and we got a small queen room. We had arrived a day earlier than planned and asked if we could book the same room for both days. The concierge said it would be no problem, but she gave us a queen. She was misleading and we got ripped off in terms of room and parking. We were told the Hilton valet parking was a better deal than local parking garages. As visitors from out of state, we took her word and got valet parking for $47.20/day. Later we found out local garage parking goes for about $12/day.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank qotsagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
First of all, Thank you for your review regarding your past stay at our hotel. We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including areas of opportunity. Our front desk department goes through a lengthy process each day to ensure that our guests receive exactly the room expected, however at times we do not have the same availability due to guests extending their stays with us. Again, we apologize for all of the inconveniences and we do hope that the next time you travel to the area you will consider staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,066
    519
    211
    93
See reviews for
667
608
124
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

We routed through DC on our way to Louisiana for a family wedding so we could meet friends in DC. Chose the Capital Hilton because it was only a few blocks to the Whitehoiuse and Capital Building. The hotel treated us very well. The rooms were large and clean. The guy in the bar where we had snacks was very firendly. The people in the restauarnt where we had breakfast were friendly and talked to us about their experiences in the UK and other countries. They were good to our young daughter and entertained her during breakfast. Prices were resonable. Exchange rates were also good. When we go to DC again we will be sure to return to the Hilton. All in all they set up our visit very well

Room Tip: Book well in advance. Join the hiltonhonors club online and get even good rates
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank J0hnC51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff, but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013 via mobile

I spent here two nights for an international conference. It was great. The elevators are fast! The food was delicious and the location is great. Just two blocks away from White House. The only weird thing was that there was no fridge or minibar in my room. The floors have vending machines free ice machines. It was sure a great experience to stay there and explore the capital.

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Hasan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We appreciate your comments and want you to know that we do have refrigerators available upon request, and at no charge. We will be happy to deliver one to your room. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainview, United States
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

Hotel service and rooms were fantastic. Desk staff and bell staff were ready to serve enthusiastically. Watch for the bar area, however. There seemed to be less team cohesiveness on the food and beverage side of the house as you could tell there was tension from the server and the bar tender, often vocal and the food and beverage service manager on duty didn't seem to think it was a problem when addressed to him. Otherwise, it is a great facility and close to all attractions.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Stanley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
We would like to take this opportunity to thank for you for your posting. We always appreciate candid feedback from all of our guests, and we will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management. We look forward to having you back in the future. Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2013

We had many places where we could have spent our anniversary at but we picked D.C we were unsure of where to stay but stumbled upon capital hilton on the web and saw it had pretty good reviews. Let me start off by saying our stay was more then we ever expected. I asked for an upgrade and did not expect that much of an upgrade we got passes to the executive lounge for breakfast every morning (toast hard boiled eggs, cereal, muffins juice yogurt fruit etc) and drinks throughout the day (non-alcoholic) We were in room 756 which first off is HUGE and faces 16th st. We couldn't see directly to the white house but that didn't even matter because the accommodations were stupendous ! We got to wake up and open up our shades to beautiful white falling snow which we do not have here in Florida so that was definitely a treat. Our housekeeper Hong was so sweet and friendly and made our stay just that much more pleasant ! She definitely deserved a HUGE tip she cleaned our room everyday and when i say clean it was spotless !!! Felt great to know we could just go downstairs and catch a cab or metro or walk. Everything was so close in distance but we did take the cab often only because we were there during a pretty cold time and us Floridian's are not used to that cold climate ! We walked from the capital building back to the hotel and i don't recommend it in the winter (about 2 miles or so) however had it been warmer outside it would have been a breeze! But there were some times when we walked to took the train or to eat, if you love Starbucks don't worry they literally have one every corner ! Cab ride from Reagan airport was about 15$ plus tip so not bad at all. Front Desk was very friendly and they had a beautiful tree on display in the lobby which just made it feel so much more like the holidays for us. Overall if you are looking for a place to stay in D.C then capital Hilton is the way to go !

I think the ONLY negative thing i could say was it did get a bit hot throughout the night about 80 degrees according to the thermostat in the room, could not adjust the AC due to the HVAC but it was an easy fix by just opening up the windows ! So that did not bother us at all.

Room Tip: Call in advance and Ask for an upgrade of some sort especially if you are celebrating something spec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandyy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly made our day. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

This is a pretty nice hotel, but most of the price is from the location. Great place to be, but I wasn't overly impressed with the rooms or services available, given the price of staying here. They do well, but if you want a premium feel you might consider somewhere competing more than on location

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank ewohwerd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 6, 2013

This was a week where the weather was changing. I called and met a very nice person, who tried his best to solve my problem ( 80 degrees) in the room.
The thermostat indicated this temperature. It was explained to me that the system for the hotel would either heat or cool. The solution was to turn the heat off and open the windows.
The hotel is a great location, the staff is very helpful. The HVAC system needs work.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing