We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #94 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2013

The location can't be beat--it's close to major tourists sights, three Metro stations--and the service is also very good. My only complaint about the room is that the entrance is extremely cramped--but that's a relatively minor gripe.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SueDKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that our location worked well for your visit in Washington DC. We hope to have a future opportunity to host you here in Washington DC.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,884 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    959
    1,079
    530
    218
    98
See reviews for
683
616
126
1,104
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (435)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sunnyvale, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

We booked this hotel as referred by a friend of us but we were overwhelmed with the way Frank assisted us, right from check in to all the basic help we needed in terms of planning our sight seeing trips, local commute on metro and the museums that has better proximity from the hotel.

We were booked in this hotel for three nights and glad with the services of the the people in the front office and Frank has taken special care of us to make our stay delightful. We got a good room. My husband was very fascinated by Frank's assistance... Directed us to good hotels to have dinner. Overall we enjoyed our thanksgiving holidays and got good picture of Washington DC. The gym looks very interesting although we have not visited it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajani M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff, but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Best of service from all staff especially front reception staff . Frank Poku in particular
Was extremely knowledgable and helped with local directions etc. very comfortable room
And pleasant staff even when we needed assistance after mid laying keys to suitcases!

Room Tip: Upper floor room but avoid direct view of intersection. Police cars have sirens on no matter what t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Margaret H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
391 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 373 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013

Having visited Washington DC twice before and used the Metro to get in from Virginia this was the first time I stayed so close to the major sites – only three blocks north of the White House. It seemed expensive for Brits but this trip was my grandson’s early 21st birthday present so I splashed out. Was it worth it? Well, I discovered that we’d been upgraded to a junior suite and it was splendid. Well equipped with two giant TVs (one in a small sitting room and the other in the bedroom) with a study desk area too. The hotel is a bit characterless on the outside but wears its ‘history’ well and has a good display in the airy foyer to explain the construction and development of the building. Spotlessly clean and with very considerate staff – especially at breakfast - it started off the seven-state holiday very well. Breakfasts were among the best I have ever had in the thirty-three States I have visited so far. A very wide selection of cereals, fruit and breads and almost every hot food you might require in the morning – much of it cooked in front of you by efficient chefs. Highly recommended for sightseeing unless on a budget.

Room Tip: In a city like Washington DC the lack of view proved not to be an impediment as so little time was l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EximiousTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2013 via mobile

This hotel just seemed tired. The lobby and public areas were plain and in many aspect old-looking. The room was small and outdated too. I expected more for the rate and it being a Hilton and especially its location as the lead Hilton property in DC. The people were nice, it was clean and comfortable but just overall ok.

Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gatoraggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamden, Connecticut
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

Stayed here for only one night.
Check in was fast and easy. The front desk staff was very attentive.
Room was large and clean. Plenty of storage space if needed.
King size bed was comfortable and sheets were not like paper.
Toiletries were excellent and plenty of hot water.
Check out was simple through TV. Receipt of charges was slipped under the door waiting for me in the AM.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luvmybasset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. It makes us happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that found our room to be clean and comfortable. We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

efficient, clean and welcome -good space for meetings good quality of food at meeting breakfast and lunch rooms quiet and accommodating beds very comfortable lobby bar good place to network and talk would recommend for other meeting as good venue

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GregIBrown, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Capital Hilton and for taking the time to give us your feedback. We are glad to hear that our convenient location, room accommodation and breakfast were a plus factor during your visit. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Nation’s Capital.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#52 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 761 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#59 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,878 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#25 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#19 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing