We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Girl Scout Getaway!”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #95 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The Capitol Hilton was the "home base" for our Girl Scout getaway in DC. The proximity to the White House, monuments, museums, Metro, and restaurants along with the accommodations allow me to easily recommend this hotel to others looking for a nice hotel in DC.

Upon arriving at the Capitol Hilton, we were greeted by curbside staff. VERY friendly and welcoming. Checking in was quick, easy, and friendly. One of our rooms was ready, so we were able to bus our luggage to that room.

ROOMS: we had 2 rooms, each with 2 double beds, desk, large flat screen TV, closet, and bathroom. The rooms were comfortably decorated and clean. Don't expect lavish decor, but it is tastefully done. We requested a refrigerator which incurs a $25/stay charge. The refrigerator was sent to our room immediately - no waiting! Great customer service! The beds were very comfortable, pillows were in good supply (4 per bed plus an extra in the closet), and the sheets were soft. The bathroom is small'ish, but comfortable for one. Bathrooms included granite countertops, magnifying mirror, hair dryer, and standard tub/shower combination. Our room had two windows - great for light and a feeling of spaciousness. A coffeepot is also included in the room.

DINING: our room rate included a buffet breakfast in the hotel restaurant. It was very nice with well prepared food. Cereal, oatmeal, fruit, potatoes, scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, breads, made to order omelets, waffles, French toast casserole, juices, and more were included. The normal rate is $22/person; however, our room package was well worth the price and much less than purchasing breakfast individually. The food was served warm-hot and was good, overall.

PROXIMITY: this hotel is close to the White House (2 blocks), monuments, and memorials. There are also several restaurants nearby, including Starbucks and Fuel (a pizza place). The Metro is also very close - just 2 blocks away, which makes this hotel accessible to many DC attractions and neighborhoods.

PARKING: valet parking is available for approximately $50 per day. Our room package included parking; however, we added a tip as is expected. The valet service was fine; although, it does take some time (approximately 30 minutes) to get your automobile on a busy day. We were told in advance that there would be a delay, and appreciated their honesty.

SERVICE: every staff member we encountered was friendly and helpful, giving us their undivided attention. Upon check out, our bill was incorrect; however, it was handled quickly to our satisfaction.

Overall, this was a great hotel in a great location in a great city. I recommend it to anyone looking for a comfortable room with comfortable appointments in Downtown DC.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,150)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,147 - 2,153 of 3,151 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Capital Hilton was great hotel to stay in Washington D.C. White House is in walking distance. Smithsonian museums and all historical monuments are easy to see by taxi or metro. Room was clean and quiet. Staff was friendly and helpful. Hotel was totally full during our three day stay. That's why lines were very long to the breakfast, if you were there later.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank HOHarrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit to the Nation's Capital. We appreciate your comments and we hope to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

My stay at the Capital Hilton exceeded my expectations. The staff was helpful, and the condition of the facility was great. The staff ensured that my needs were met in a short period, and answered all questions. I was able to access the other restaurants in the area, and was within walking distance to the white House. The bus system was in front of the hotel, and was always on schedule. The hotel was clean and staff was friendly and considerate. Information was posted in view of patrons and other sorority information was available on the counters.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Brenda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear gracious compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2013

The room smelled, the comforter smelled. The air conditioning DID NOT work. Room service charged a different amount from the book that was in the room. Room was loud Hallway smelled and carpet on hallway dirty and old.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
Thank Mirtha S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about our hotel. We apologize for the inconvenient smell during your stay and we are sorry we were not able to provide you with the quality of services and amenities you deserve. Because travel is very important, we try hard to make sure all our guests have a rewarding experience at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights during my sorority reunion. We had 25 rooms and no complaints. The rooms were clean and comfortable. The restaurant and bar was not over crowded. It had a nice atmosphere. There iwas plenty of space within the lobby and bar to hang out with family and friends. Although this hotel was completely booked, it didn't feel overcrowded. The elevators were fast. The staff was friendly. Its worth paying for a rate to include the buffet because the buffet is $22. The buffet was loaded with fresh fruit, pastries, omelette bar, sausage, bacon, juice bar, and smoothies. There was something for everyone. The White House is 2 short blocks from the hotel. This was a great location for cabs. Restaurants and Starbucks are across the street. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynnette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

For more than 15 years I have stayed at the Capital Hilton when I have business in Washington. It is centrally located, and has never disappointed. The rooms are well appointed, comfortable and the air conditioner works. Unlike hotels where you are subjected to their idea of the perfect temperature, here you can choose so it is fine for summer visits. The most important thing is that each time I come back, it is as good as the time before. Great restaurant, pleasant for breakfast or anytime during the day. And yes, I have stayed with family here as well as for business. This Hilton does not dissapoint!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2013

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Best Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I stayed at the Capital Hilton for work recently and it was nice, clean and comfortable. I offer a few comments that may or may not matter to you...keep in mind I make these tiny comments only because there was nothing big to complain about. A pet peeve of mine is hotel room without a bottle of water - even to purchase! The bathroom in my room was kind of around the corner from the bed/tv. The bathroom light also turned on the fan, so there was no way to listen to the morning news while getting ready. Also, the bathroom was small and the door would swing open unless you actually closed it all the way. So, if you travel alone and don't want to close the door while showering because it steams up, you are out of luck unless you don't mind stepping into the door as you step out of the shower. It was really annoying. You had to push the door all the way open or closed if you wanted to use the facilities...but, of course, it wouldn't stay closed unless all the way closed or it would hit you in the legs. Frustrating.

It's a nice walk to the metro, really close and pretty. Great location. Room service food was good, seemed pricier than most though.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne2StLouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane-Bennani, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

We would like to take this opportunity to thank for you for your posting. We always appreciate candid feedback from all of our guests, and we will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management. We look forward to having you back in the future. Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 142 in Washington DC
928 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 142 in Washington DC
1,294 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Sofitel Washington DC
#20 of 142 in Washington DC
3,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $106 - $584 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing