We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #89 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

Renovated hotel with nice, clean rooms. Staff was pleasant. hotel is in a great location. Near the White House. Several good restaurants nearby at various price points. Drug stores nearby, too. Couple blocks from McPherson Square metro stop. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your kind comments and was pleased to learn of your experience at the Capital Hilton. Thank you for recommending us to other travelers!! We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    769
    929
    454
    191
    77
See reviews for
559
510
105
937
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Being a diamond member at Hilton, I visit a lot Hilton properties worldwide and I must say I was disappointed by that one. Starting from a car that parked at the start of the ramp, which blocked the hotel entrance (the bellman didn't move), a cold greeting at the reception, an average room quality and a really dull lounge. The fact that the room doesn't have a minibar seems to be the new Hilton standard in the U.S. (quite bothering really when you need something at night), there was no complimentary water bottles, so I had to call service to bring me a few!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AymanAlAnsary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 19, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review. We’re very sorry you experienced a less than satisfying stay with us. The problems you mentioned with your stay have been addressed with the necessary team members. We appreciate you alerting us to this issue and we hope you will give us a second chance if you return to the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everyone at this hotel was very nice and helpful. Overall the property is very nice. The hotel bar is very expensive and one if the bartenders is very rude. Also, be prepared to spend $15 per day if you'd like to workout. You are also able to hear quite a bit if traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurley2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed several times on business at the C Hilton. The staff on this visit were exceptional, from bell stand to front desk to maids. A couple of cons: room smelled a little musky and I could here bell stand whistling cabs early and late. I would stay again there for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the bell stand so you don't hear the whistle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

I did enjoy staying at this hotel - the bathroom and room were really cozy and wonderful - but the staff seemed to either misplace or make a mess of everything they got their hands on. They lost my reservation modification, re-booked at the wrong rate, and lost a faxed credit card authorization no less than three times. Even calling the front desk was a 10 minute ordeal, as I was routinely transferred FROM the front desk back TO it upon asking for events or the finance department. The maids and bell hops were wonderful; it's just the front desk that needs some major help. For these reasons alone I will not be staying here again... Too much of a hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope that we can have another opportunity to provide a great stay for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
96 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a business trip, stayed in a large, suite room. The front desk staff was very helpful. Had a delicious , healthful lunch in a lovely dining room. BTW....fascinating guests from Coptic Priests to African delegates.

Room Tip: Short cab ride to DC sights, the Capital, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERG0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the only hotel I stay at while in DC. It's swrvice is excellent; rooms are comfortable and very clean; staff is stellar; and, the location is perfect. It's walking distance to the White House, the Mall, and many other attractions in DC, or a quick and inexpensive cab ride. The food is also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in DC!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly were refreshing and quite frankly very reassuring indeed. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit.
We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#37 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 484 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters Hotel in Washingto...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Odigeo, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing