We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice property, nice location just down the street from the White House, and close to Metro.”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #96 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very nice property, nice location just down the street from the White House, and close to Metro.”
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Everyone at this hotel was very nice and helpful. Overall the property is very nice. The hotel bar is very expensive and one if the bartenders is very rude. Also, be prepared to spend $15 per day if you'd like to workout. You are also able to hear quite a bit if traffic noise.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hurley2519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We would also like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,024 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,009
    1,126
    558
    225
    106
See reviews for
721
651
135
1,152
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (452)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I've stayed several times on business at the C Hilton. The staff on this visit were exceptional, from bell stand to front desk to maids. A couple of cons: room smelled a little musky and I could here bell stand whistling cabs early and late. I would stay again there for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the other side of the bell stand so you don't hear the whistle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I did enjoy staying at this hotel - the bathroom and room were really cozy and wonderful - but the staff seemed to either misplace or make a mess of everything they got their hands on. They lost my reservation modification, re-booked at the wrong rate, and lost a faxed credit card authorization no less than three times. Even calling the front desk was a 10 minute ordeal, as I was routinely transferred FROM the front desk back TO it upon asking for events or the finance department. The maids and bell hops were wonderful; it's just the front desk that needs some major help. For these reasons alone I will not be staying here again... Too much of a hassle.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We are sorry that you had a disappointing experience with us. At Hilton, we always aim to ensure every guest feels cared for, valued and respected. Your feedback will help us deliver this brand promise. Guest satisfaction is very important to us and we try hard to make sure all of our guests have a rewarding stay. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and we hope that we can have another opportunity to provide a great stay for you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

On a business trip, stayed in a large, suite room. The front desk staff was very helpful. Had a delicious , healthful lunch in a lovely dining room. BTW....fascinating guests from Coptic Priests to African delegates.

Room Tip: Short cab ride to DC sights, the Capital, etc.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ERG0716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

This is the only hotel I stay at while in DC. It's swrvice is excellent; rooms are comfortable and very clean; staff is stellar; and, the location is perfect. It's walking distance to the White House, the Mall, and many other attractions in DC, or a quick and inexpensive cab ride. The food is also very good. I would highly recommend this hotel if you need a place to stay in DC!

Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for the outstanding TripAdvisor review. Your gracious comments certainly were refreshing and quite frankly very reassuring indeed. We are delighted that our convenient location, room accommodation and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit.
We look forward for the opportunity to serve you again on your next visit to Washington, DC.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

We were originally excited to stay here because of the location and the fact that the Conference I was attending met here. The Capital Hilton met those expectations, but not much more.

The pros: The location was hard to beat. If your goal in DC is to hit a lot of tourist/historical sites and shop -- you cannot go wrong at the Capital Hilton. And the rooms are huge. Seriously, I have rented smaller apartments.

The cons: Some of the staff were courteous and tried to be helpful, some not so much. Sadly, even some of the staff that tried to be helpful weren't as knowledgable as they should have been. Directing us to closed Metro Stations, sending a car back to valet park instead of waiting for the bellman with the luggage cart... Also, amenities were scarce - no bathrobes or slippers, and even though there was a separate bar area in its own little room -- with sink and cupboard space -- there was no mini-bar (stuff to buy) or fridge. And finding free wifi was next to impossible. You had to be right smack in the first floor lobby, or you were out of luck. So all the conventioneers (600 - 800) were trying to sit in the lobby or sit on the staircase to the lobby, etc. Maybe it is just a pet peeve of mine, but if I am paying more than $250 per night for a room, I do not expect to pay extra for wifi. Even phones need it so that batteries stay charged longer. If the low-end hotels can cover wifi in the room cost, Hilton should just build it into their price so that wifi is available throughout the property.

The bottom line is - great location but mediocre experience. Next time we will probably explore other lodging options.

Room Tip: We had a room at the end of the hall facing the front of the hotel -- it was huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WVElbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
We appreciate your feedback regarding the cost of our wireless internet service. While we do charge an additional fee for wireless internet, we strive to be competitive with other hotels and offer quality services and amenities in our guest rooms. However, we would also like to apologize for the issues you experienced with some of our staff members. We've addressed your review with our team and we don't expect issues like this one to be repeated. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Euless, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

Located on the hill across from the Senate and Congress offices the location is unbeatable. I was there for one night and was shocked at the size of the room. One very large room with couch, TV, mini fridge and microwave. Then a joining room with another large TV. The rooms were very nice and comfortable. If you are a feather fan, this is your place. Feather pillows and down feather comforter. I am not a big fan of feather pillows and tried to get a foam or something different and was unsuccessful, but this was my only negative. One minor inconvenience was the continental breakfast was located in another building and to get there you have to exit hotel and walk down sidewalk. It was very cold and windy and not very prepared for the walk to get a cup of coffee. These two minor inconveniences would not at all prevent me from using this hotel in the future. The price was not cheap, but very comparable to other surrounding hotels. Also within walking distance of hotel was numerous restaurants and shops (including two liquor stores!)

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcfla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you for staying with us and we appreciate the time you took to review the hotel and share your thoughts. We are happy to hear that our convenient location factored in the success of your visit. We look forward to hosting you again on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#56 of 141 in Washington DC
849 reviews
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#24 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
738 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing