We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Good location but not as expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #87 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good location but not as expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Staff was friendly and the location was great. The breakfast was also good. Bed was very comfortable.
On the downside, the hotel felt a little worn out. Just some chipped paint, scuffs, worn carpet, etc. Noise carried through hallways. A few electrical outlets were broken in the room as was the toilet seat and bathroom fan. Just a few things that you wouldn't expect to have issues with at a hotel of this caliber. Nice hotel but I think there are better options in the area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cua_irish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,422 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    770
    930
    454
    191
    77
See reviews for
560
510
105
938
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (389)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hooksett, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Title says it all: Location is good for tourists, but the rooms are getting in need of make overs -Food was hotel average; not much cose to eat; AVOID Fuel Pizza across the corner !!! Rooms are small, bathrooms decent - Price is fair - Would stay there again

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PEIGOLFER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us.
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
76 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

I have stayed at this hotel dozens of times over the past 10 years. It used to be my favorite hotel in the city under the Hilton brand, but over the past two years, things have gone down hill.

Staff aren't happy. During my most recent stay a staff member actually told me how much they hate working there, but there aren't alot of jobs available. YIKES!

Rooms are comfortable, but nothing special. Food service is spotty. Breakfast buffet is average and sometime room serice is good and sometimes not.

Really, that could be said for the entire hotel. You just never know what you might get. Sad, for what was once a very good hotel. I have given this property it's last chance. There are better options in the city.

If you have low expectations, this hotel will meet them. It is clean, the beds are comfortable and it has a great location. I just travel enough I expect more.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank afineguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you for your review of your past stay with us. I always appreciate hearing from our guests – including places of improvement. I apologize that the comfort of your stay was interrupted and I have taken your comments to our team to ensure that in the future we do a better job of providing exceptional customer service. The next time you have the opportunity to travel to the area. I do hope that you will be our guest again – thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

We stayed at this hotel just before Christmas 2012 for 3 nights - our travel agent must have got a good rate and for its location, it is a great spot. The room we had was very spacious and clean. However, unlike other hotels/motels that we have stayed in our month long vacation in various parts of USA, this hotel can do a lot more with providing better amenities to service it's guests. For starters, no free wifi service in the rooms - I suppose management assumes that as a corporate hotel, it's guests would be willing to pay for such service. If three star properties can provide free Internet access, and that it is not an expensive commodity in this country, why doesn't the Hilton Group reviews its policy on this service? Then, there is no refrigerator in the room. For a corporate style hotel, I cannot work out why this amenity is missing. Then, on Christmas Eve, the hotel decided not to run a buffet for breakfast. As an ex hotel financial controller, I can see the logic - if occupancy is low in holiday season, avoid food wastage to control food cost. But, why was this not advertised on the menu board at the restaurant entrance or advise guests in advance? My family walked in on Christmas Eve morning looking forward to a buffet breakfast only to be advised by an apologetic waitress that they can only provide a la carte menu on that morning. We were so disappointed that we left and had breakfast at a nearby hotel. The staff in the hotel were great - friendly, helpful and services were liveried with smiles. However, management needs to have a good look at its amenities in general, if it is serious to be rated as a corporate hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sknoopy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We stayed at the Capital Hilton for three nights in late December, just before Christmas. We paid to stay in an executive room, expecting the normal privileges that we have enjoyed elsewhere in Hilton executive rooms. We were disappointed with most aspects of our stay as follows.

All we received for paying over one hundred dollars more for an executive room was bathrobes and an extremely poor continental breakfast. Turns out there were no bathrobes in the closet. We had better continental breakfasts staying in 2 or 3 star hotels while we were driving across the U.S. The cut fruit was old, which you could tell by the rounded edges and the tired look of it. Some of the breakfast plates were dirty. There were polystyrene cups rather than real cups for coffee! The bread did not fit the toaster. A small thing I know, but all these small 'fails' add up to a dissatisfying experience overall.

We tried to sleep in for two of the days. On the first, the maid tried to come in at 8am to clean, waking us up. On the second, she was cleaning the room next door and kept coming in and out of the door, banging it each time, about five times in total. Of course, waking us again.

We ordered a meal from room service, which when it arrived at our room, we found out was $10 more than the price on the menu due to extra 'charges'.

The gym or fitness centre is not complementary, unless you are a gold or silver honours member. Otherwise it is $15 a visit. This was a real surprise. We have stayed at a lot of other places and the gym is always complementary.

There were no afternoon drinks in the executive lounge which is a standard inclusion for executive levels in Australia. No complementary news papers. No happy hour at the bar on the weekend. No complementary wi-fi in the rooms. No fridge in the room although they brought one up after we asked about it.

I could go on with a bit more but I'm sure you get the picture. Invest your hard earned dollars elsewhere.

Room Tip: Don't pay for an executive level room, it's not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tanya J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 17, 2013
Thank you for your honest review of your recent stay with us. At our hotel, we like to provide a personalized experience for each of our guests, but also look for ways to keep costs low while providing comfort and convenience. We appreciate your feedback and we’ll keep it in mind as we work to make our services better. Again, we apologize for the inconveniences and if you would like to discuss your stay further, please feel free to contact me directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Stayed at the Hilton for three nights and have found this one of the best hotels on our around the world adventure. The staff are friendly and courteous especially the night time doorman "Nesibu"
The rooms are what you expect from a hotel off this standard, clean, spacious and are comfortable. The location is fantastic close to the White House and the Natioal Mall.

Room Tip: They would all be equally as good
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

The Good:
- The gym is excellent - free for Hilton Honors Silver and above $15 for the rest - but could be worth the $15 if you take a class and workout
- We asked for a later check-out and got it - no charge
- The 10th floor executive lounge was simply, but free soda and water along with free breakfast (con) was great
- Free internet for Hilton Honors Gold and above
- Asked for a fridge and one was delivered in 1.5 hours
- Walking distance to White House and other sides
- Starbucks across the road

The Bad:
- $38 to park
- Found a Qtip under our sink in the bathroom and there was a lot of dusk on walls of the room
- We had a suite and it did not have a fridge or mini bar
- Staff were positive but did not go out of their way to help - maybe acceptable for four stars
- Our room (777) had a faint damp mold smell to it
- Rooms at the back look over an office building and are very dark!

Room Tip: Aak for something at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 195binney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, January 3, 2013
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review and sharing your feedback with us
We would like to apologize for the services in other areas of the hotel that did not meet your expectations. We truly appreciate your comments and observations and we look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back at the Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 487 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters Hotel in Washingto...
#76 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 885 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, Odigeo and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing