We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Good 3 star hotel. Lounge not worth visiting for food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #87 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Good 3 star hotel. Lounge not worth visiting for food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

Windows can be opened. No minibar in room but you can have one delivered.
Executive lounge serves very basic and simple breakfast and snacks in the evening.
Drinks are not free and come with crazy prices if you consider that you already did pay for executive lounge access and you have self service.
The only benefit in executive rooms are two free small bottles of water.
Room 1126 was offered as junior suite which it is not. You can not watch tv in bed.
For an extra payment of $ 8,- you can "enjoy" the Am breakfast buffet in the restaurant which is for international visitors a big disappointment. It has nothing in common with Hilton breakfast in Africa, Asia and Europe where chefs and pastry chefs show their skills at buffet.
Altogether for US businessmen and tourists the Hilton capital is sufficient.
The fact that apart from BBC there is no other international tv program as CCTV, AL Jazeera, RT, NHK, TV5, DW-TV or arirang shows clearly that like in most HIlton in the US foreigners are not welcome.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. Thank you once again for your comments and happy holidays
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    818
    980
    470
    199
    81
See reviews for
597
551
111
969
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (404)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
61 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Stayed at the Capital Hilton on business. They charge $300 a night for a 'deluxe queen' and will 'fee' you for everything from WIFI (note: PER DEVICE) as well as $15 a day gym fee (unless a Silver HHonors member). The place is not the most glamourous I've stayed at - from the outside, it looks very boxy and like a dorm room hall. The lobby is very simple. However, the hotel is very clean and the staff are very friendly. The rooms are pretty small from what I'm used to however, this is a city. Just keep in mind (here's a visual.....) when you're going to the bathroom, the bathroom door handle when open, will be right in your face. Yes, the room is tight. Shower is standard without a massage and the water takes a while to heat up - I was nervous that it wouldnt' get hot after showering different times during the week. It did, just slow. Pressure fair. Nice makeup/ighted mirror. Room Sevice 18% + a $5 fee. I complimented the chef on the goat cheese/artichoke ravioli with mushroom sauce/spinach. Delicious - I actually got it twice. The bed linens are very soft and feel upscale/comfortable. All fixtures are modern and new. TV is 40" flatscreen. No TVland LOL. The gym (name is MINT) - is conveniently attached as well as a small spa. Free USA Today. Overall a great experience - convenient to office as well as tourist attractions.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view that when you look out, look directly into another room - so be aware that th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weiler97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carmel, Indiana
Level Contributor
133 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2012 via mobile

The location is outstanding. Just a fewblocks from the White House and the National Mall. The hotel is just like any other Hilton. Similar amenities. Good fitness center. The room is spacious. To the Hotel manager: please replace or clean the shower curtains.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Jljigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Havana, Fl.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Stayed here for the FSU v. Maryland game. 2 blocks from white house and walking distance to everything in town. If you want to get to Arlington, it is easy to jump on the metro. Nice staff and rooms. Doormen nice and everyone is not looking for a tip around every corner. Nice restaurants are close (even a gentlemen's club across street if wife wants to partake and make hubby happy). Will definitely stay there again. Good prices compared to other hotels nearby. Had to pay 15 bucks for the gym, wife wasnt too happy about that. Took Super Shuttle from Reagan to hotel, not a bad price.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dilweg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review the Capital Hilton. We are delighted that our convenient location and friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear gracious compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

Stayed here one night in2007 .excellent top floor accomodation with lounge area on each loot with all the usual bonuses. Great comfortable stay after drive from New Jersey.Friends who also stayed here with us then walked us around Washington and hotel well placed for famous sights

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DaveBarrington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We were pleased to note that our location worked well for your visit in Washington DC. We hope to have a future opportunity to host you here in Washington DC.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

This hotel is in a great location, 2 blocks from the White House and walking distance to many sights. The staff were professional and helpful. Would definitely go back.

Parking at the hotel (valet only) is very expensive though. There are much cheaper options just 2 blocks away.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DutchgirlNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We would like to take this opportunity to thank for you for your posting. We always appreciate candid feedback from all of our guests, and we will make sure all of your comments are shared with the Hotel Management.
We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome and serve you at the historic Capital Hilton in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mendham, New Jersey
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here for business. I had no choice on this one but am often in area. Often stay at other hotels but had last minute booking problems. One employee was honestly very nice. A young lady, I believe, every other person I encountered behaved as though it was the worst experience ever to even smile. Perhaps it was because of holidays. I had the best outlook possible and ended up spending most of my time at another hotel with friends who were visiting at same time. They stopped by and had similar experience. Staff, if you have to work holidays, don't take it out on clientele.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mstarstew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
I appreciate your review of your recent experience at our hotel. I'm very sorry you had a disappointing experience with us and I have addressed these issues with our staff. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve. I hope that next time you are in town, you consider staying with us. Thank you once again for your comments and happy holidays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#42 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 565 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Club Quarters Hotel in Washingto...
#78 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#71 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,565 reviews
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#91 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 3,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#65 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#71 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Capital Hilton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Agoda, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing