We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great time with our little ones”
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #99 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a nice couple day vacation with our little ones. The service was nice and the location was especially excellent. It was within walking distance to so many things....a few blocks to the White House and several other museums. The hotel staff was great and very friendly. The smell on our floor was a little off putting but otherwise, all was good. The Executive Lounge staff were excellent and made my a.m. and p.m. experience especially enjoyable! Overall good stay!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EVE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,240)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,467 - 2,473 of 3,240 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2012

Excellent location, superb service and wonderful food food! The hotel is located within walking distance to restaurants and attractions. The staff is pleasant, knowledgeable and extremely helpful. The corner room was spacious and very clean. The decor of the room could use some updating, but all in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mirdel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2012

Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I lodged there for the entire Presidential Election Day week on the 7th floor facing 16th street, about three blocks from the north entrance of the White House. On Tuesday night it was very difficult to sleep from 11:00 p.m. to about 2:00 a.m. because of the cacophony of noise emanated from the hordes of over zealous crowds marching down 16th street to the White House screaming, yelping, colorfully cursing the loosing candidate while praising the winning candidate with equally expressive words of passion as happy horn blowing and not-so-happy police sirens added background music to the scene. Sure it was an historical week in America and human expression is to be expected, welcomed, and perhaps embraced. I agree BUT I did learn something about the Capital Hilton that I found less than adequate for a prestigious hotel located in a populated city – BAD WINDOWS! More than 90% of all the exterior noise comes in through windows and doors. So when windows face a noisy city street, then installing soundproof windows can reduce noise levels by 75-95%.

Other than the poorly acoustically engineered windows, the Capital Hilton was a delightful place to lodge in all categories – But do know that it is never a good choice to get any sleep during a local celebration or even a political demonstration on the streets of Washington.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

First of all, thank you for your review of your past stay at our hotel. I appreciate you selecting our hotel during such a historic event! We always appreciate hearing from our guests - including when comments help identify ways we can improve. I understand that the noise was an issue during your stay; while we do have additional security and overnight managers available during high traffic periods - we regret that noise was disruptive to you. I have however; taken your suggestions about installing soundproof windows and at this time we are discussing potential options that we can implement to reduce noise. I thank you very much for your comments and do apologize if you were inconvenienced during your stay. I do hope the next time you return to the area you consider staying with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Enjoyed this stay! In town to see a concert at the Verizon Center. Very convenient a nice comfortable walk. Room was very clean, bed was extremely comfortable. woke up and enjoyed a nice workout in the gym. Starbucks directly across the street. Beware of the overnight parking fees.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tryto82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded November 26, 2012

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Recently stayed at the Hilton overnight. The hotel is very nicely located near all the big monuments in DC. The rooms a bit outdated but it is to be expected. The one thing I didn't enjoy about the hotel was the fact that the cleaning staff knocked and tried to open our room door 4 times in a period of 2 hours. We didn't put the DND sign out but thought that they would only try once. They kept waking us up (which is why I didn't put the DND sign - was sleeping). Other than that it was a pleasant stay. Breakfast was good too.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Thank Silvio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

I have spent a weekend here and was pleased with service. The location is convenient for travel by car as well as public transport. If you have a chance then use the executive floor. The only thing I didn't like is that they charge for everything you consume in the lounge. This is not common as I could experience in Asia.
I will come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank I-was_here_A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

The Capital Hilton is centrally located and within walking distance of the White House and Smithsonian. We were upgraded to a king room on the club level. Very nice room. Definitely ask to be located far from the elevators as we experienced quite a bit of noise as guests were coming and going. The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. If you usually use the Hilton Honors free breakfast, just note that the room is very small and you need to get in early to grab a table. Food options are limited, but adequate. Overall, the convenience of the location made the stay worthwhile.

Room Tip: Select a room on a higher floor for better views and request to be far from the elevator as it is qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tarheelfan91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Adams Morgan
Washington Hilton
Washington Hilton
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
4,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,382 reviews
Holiday Inn Washington - Capitol
#84 of 141 in Washington DC
2,648 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $104 - $486 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing