We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location but everything else is sub par” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Capital Hilton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Capital Hilton
Ranked #90 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Hampton Roads, Virginia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good location but everything else is sub par”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a room that looked out on the street. Noise level was so loud we could not sleep until 1:30AM. Car horns, sirens, people yelling all night and there is insufficient buffering --- curtains do not cover the windows. Parking is pretty much valet only and it is the typical D.C. $38 for a night. Drinks at the bar are expensive and forget room service. The room was clean and the bed was comfortable enough to toss and turn in until the sound level became bearable. A few blocks from the White House, so it did have a decent location. We have stayed in D.C. a half dozen times and this was the worse place we have ever stayed. You can find better for less.

Room Tip: Choose an inside room not looking out on the street or expect a long, loud night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mindbender8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gbrown231, General Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, October 29, 2012
I sincerely apologize for the noise issue encountered during your stay. Your comfort and safety is my number one concern so I appreciate you bringing this to my attention and your review will assist in correcting issues in the future. I do hope that the next time you are in the area you will consider staying at our location again. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    946
    1,066
    519
    211
    93
See reviews for
667
608
124
1,085
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

The hotel was very modern, beautiful decor, a couple of blocks from the White House, it was easy to get to with valet parking, the staff were very helpful and although we had accidentally booked a king room they had no problem providing us with a room with 2 queen beds right away at no additional cost. The common areas and rooms were perfectly clean and the concierge was excellent recommending fabulous restaurants. The location of the hotel really couldn't have been better. I also got it on a hotwire deal, so it was a steal ;)

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelleeire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, india
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I've been at the Capital Hilton a couple of times, my latest visit a few days ago. While I love the property's location and the friendliness of the staff, especially the front office, I think the housekeeping is a real issue. Its so difficult to get even basic room make up done since they're so short-staffed.

Otherwise a great hotel and lovely interiors, I like the old Washington feel about the place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malini P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

I was so pleased to find out that we were walking distance to the white house. The hotel was nice with a spacious room. The only complaint I would have is that the double bed was the smallest I have ever slept in. Other than that lovely hotel.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

Good hotel. Well maintained. Ideally located for visitors who want to walk the Mall and be close the DuPont Circle. Reasonably priced but maintains it's accent. Sometimes it doesn't take 200 characters to describe an experience. Brevity has its advantages!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mortakye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Loved the high ceiling of the lobby
Good location close to the back of the White House - CVS store just opposite, restaurants around the area.
But room was a little old.
The room safe was wobbly..
It is also not near the main hop on and hop off sightseeing bus routes.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MelbS_LP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your Tripadvisor review. Your gracious feedback is quite refreshing and very reassuring. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your visit to the Nation's Capital. We look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed here over the weekend. There were a total of 3 of us. The room was small, but expected due to the urban location of the hotel. But the bathroom...was tiny. I felt like if I left the door open I had to step over the toilet to get in the shower. Other than that....everything was up to date. The TV was large, plenty of channels, in room Cuisinart coffee maker, bottled water, comfortable clean beds, clean room. Everything you need in a hotel for a quick trip.

The bartender....well....service was slow at best. Two beers took about 10 minutes with 3 other people in the bar. He fancied talking to the business professionals at the bar instead of helping the tourists just stopping through for a drink.

The shining star of this hotel is Mohamed, the doorman. He was very helpful in giving us directions and giving us insider tips on places to eat. Every time we saw him he had a smile on his face. On our departure he helped us load our car, wished us well on our travels and grabbed some leftover garbage from our trip into town out of our car. It is those little extras that sometimes go unnoticed by travelers.

Would love to come back and stay here again soon. Next time we will stay longer.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashley t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Imane B, Manager at Capital Hilton, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Thank you for your great Tripadvisor review. It is certainly gratifying and reassuring to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are also delighted to know that our friendly staff factored in the success of your visit. We take pride in our product along with our warm and welcoming staff but nothing could make us happier than to hear great compliments for our staff and the services they provide to our guests. We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to the historic Capital Hilton in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White House
Hyatt Place Washington DC/White ...
#51 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Hamilton Crowne Plaza Hotel
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,809 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
Club Quarters Hotel in Washington, D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Capital Hilton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Capital Hilton

Property: Capital Hilton
Address: 1001 16th St NW, corner K & 16th Street, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Dupont Circle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#39 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#64 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#70 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Capital Hilton 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Capital Hilton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Capital Hilton Hotel Washington Dc
Hilton Washington Dc
Washington Dc Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing