We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Great service, near national mall” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great service, near national mall”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Great service here and the rooms are very nice (new) and clean, had a issue with guest next door (screaming at midnight and using bad language) but not the fault of the hotel and they tried sending security to this neighbor but he was just rude and obnoxious. Other than that we really enjoyed our 3 nights here, shout out to the doorman because he was very helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TMas777_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear TMas777_10,

We are so happy to have read your review. It is always wonderful to hear such positive comments and feedback regarding our hotel and our associates, as we continuously strive for customer excellence. We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back to the State Plaza Hotel!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,480 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    582
    630
    189
    50
    29
See reviews for
423
414
100
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Morelia, Mexico
Level Contributor
140 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

I stayed here for 27 nights for a second year in a row. The place has excellent service and facilities. Exactly what you need to be ok. I had a suite which is a little bit bigger and helps if you have kids or stay long. Fitness center is ok and location is great for the white house, Kennedy center, etc. just 10 minutes to Reagan Airport with no traffic. Beds was very good.

Room Tip: a suite if you can pay the difference
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RodrigoSigal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear RodrigoSigal,

Thank you for your review. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of our hotel and due to this you came back to stay with us for a second time. Our rooms are very accommodating for our long term and short term guests and it’s great to hear they were a perfect fit for you. We hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

With à view over the Washington Monument and the White House à 10 min walk away combined with à superb suite and à warm welcoming this is à very good place to stay. Expensive valet parking though. 32USD

Room Tip: King suite facing E Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneSD8364NU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear JaneSD8364NU,

Thank you so much for posting your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to seeing you again the next time your travels bring you to Washington D.C.!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

We were only in DC for a night and chose State Plaza as it is near Andrew Mellon Auditorium which is were the celebration was to be held. The hotel is also conveniently located near several stores for shopping. State Plaza is a quaint establishment and met our needs for a short visit. Our room was very clean and even had a small kitchen which would come in handy for quick meals. Very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelDetailsbySJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear TravelDetailsbySJ,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. I am happy to hear that due to our convenient location and rooms with a kitchen, we were able to meet all of your needs. Thank you for choosing the State Plaza and we hope to see you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, In
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I usually have to stay here when in DC for meetings as they have a good rate for my company (a national nonprofit). Usually, I hate it as the rooms are a throwback to the 1970's. Apparently they are popular with international travelers, though, since that's what they think of when they think of America. I don't get it. I was pleasantly surprised when I was asked if I wanted a remodeled room in the north tower and even more surprised to see how much better it looked. The infrastructure is still the same (e.g., low functioning AC), bu tan improvement nonetheless.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the North Tower as the South Tower has not been remodeled yet. You will give up a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lemon.basil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechanicsburg, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean. Rooms were big and well-equipped. All rooms are actually suites, and our room had a kitchen, dressing room, bedroom and bath. Staff was courteous and helpful. Within walking distance of many good restaurants, the Kennedy Center, the waterfront, Georgetown's shopping district, etc. Weekend rates were very affordable. We would definitely stay there if/when we return to Washington in the future.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank klinsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Dear Klinsky,

Thank you for posting your review. It was nice to hear how helpful our convenient location was for you during your stay, as we are right in the middle of downtown, dc and within walking distance to many attractions. I am pleased to hear you would stay with us again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
103 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

A business trip and the hotel was chosen for me which is good in a way as it adds a degree of objectivity.

This is a deceptive hotel with two entrances in two different streets and therefore two receptions. This did confuse me on occasion in terms of where my room was !! Reception is very minimalist - no frills but efficient nonetheless.

When you walk down the corridors you get a feeling that the hotel is quite drab. It is actually a converted apartment building which shows in its layout. But this means the rooms are huge. The bed I could have got four people in (didn't try but take my word), there is a kitchen/diner and small study area and a modern bathroom. Absolutely no complaints.

Location is slap bang in the middle of the GW university campus and the main attractions are within a 15 minute walk. Metro is 10 mins away. All very pleasant.

Services - didn't eat (I have an old proverb. I don't sleep in restaurants so why would I eat in a hotel). But wifi was excellent and free. Taxi services to the airport were competitive. Staff were what you would expect in the US - quick to welcome you and offer help.

For the short stay visitor this would be a good choice.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SimonndJulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
StatePlazaHotel, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 23, 2014
Dear SimonndJulie,

We appreciate you taking the time to leave your review. It’s nice to hear that you enjoyed our convenient location and spacious rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Best Regards,

Declan Kealy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 407 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,852 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,040 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing