We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“budget friendly”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #36 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Great hotel for the money. Very close to all the sites. The kitchen was a added bonus for breakfast. Could have been a bit better if a microwave was in the room. The room it self was spacious for a family of 4 with 2 older children.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Chuck B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,747)
There are newer reviews for State Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

897 - 903 of 1,747 reviews

Reviewed August 3, 2013

DC is a great tourist town - full of great attractions, restaurants, and everything a tourist could want. Typically you have to choose between cheaper places that are far from the key attractions and usually require a bunch of time and expense on transportation, or expensive places that you can walk everywhere from.

We found the State Plaza to be a great compromise - not a fancy place with a giant lobby and swimming pool, but ideal for a family trip - close to the main attractions if you like walking, clean rooms with enough space for a family. The rooms do look a bit older, but are being renovated slowly. Since its right next to GWU, there aren't a lot of eating options, but walking a few blocks opens up a lot more. Its also very safe to walk around at night, and is an easy cab ride or metro ride to the attractions that aren't within walking distance. The money we saved by staying here paid for a bunch of meals!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank visual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013 via mobile

The people here were so helpful and nice!! It was a wonderful place to stay. The rooms are great with full kitchens and there is a 24 hour CVS next door with tons of food options. The staff have us tips on where to go and what to see as well as directions and maps. I would highly recommend this place to all my family and friends!!

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bmoore2267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2013

Dear Bmoore2267,

A big thanks for taking the time to give us your review. Our focus as employees here at the State Plaza is all about Guest service and we're so glad you as our Guests are experiencing it in a most positive way. Our location and convenience to almost everything is always recommended and we truly appreciate your own personal recommendations based on your experiences having stayed with us. Take care and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I read several reviews prior to booking a room and the hotel did not disappoint! Great rooms, friendly staff and location, location, location. It might be unassuming on the outside, but inside you will find lovely suites which include a full kitchen. The décor might be older but the room was spotless and ideal for a family visiting DC. Last but not least, there is a Drugstore right next door stocked with items you can buy and prepare in your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rstd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I'd like to thank all of the staff for they're excellent service and attention. Hotel is right across the street from the state dept. just a couple of blocks from the Lincoln Memorial and Vietnam Wall. The hotel is located next to the George Washington University. Area is highly secure. Hotel is right next to a 24 hr CVS groceries re very expensive remember its a pharmacy. I recommend visiting the whole market about 4 blocks away. The hotel is only minutes from constitution ave and the White House. I recommend using a taxi to get down town the closest metro stop is about 4 blocks away and for 3 people it can run about the same as the cab and a cab gives you door to door service so after a long day of walking all over you have to walk back to the hotel from the metro stop. Again my thanks to all the employees at the plaza especially the doormen who really know how to get what you need. I would highly recommend it......

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank johnrv99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2013

Dear johnrv99,

Thank you as well for the wonderful review. It is always a joy to know you've made someone's visit a memorable one. I will make sure our doormen hears of your comments and we hope to see you soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Guess we missed the bottled water and towels that others got, but it WAS hot! The room was very clean and comfortable. The kitchenette is nice, but without a microwave (at least), it was of minimal use. The full-sized refrigerator was very handy. Housekeeping does not keep you supplied with paper goods, like tissues and toilet paper unless you ask. I had a cold the entire week we were there and had to call the front desk every day for one or the other.

The doormen were very friendly and helpful. I asked for a late checkout (1.5 hours after the normal time) and was immediately told "No, we're completely booked tomorrow", yet while we were waiting in the lobby during this 1.5 hours, another gentleman checked out around 1:15pm and they desk staff didn't say anything. Another couple decided to stay an extra day, and lo and behold, they had no trouble doing so. I wasn't impressed that we were immediately put off when we asked for this small courtesy after staying with them a week.

Don't eat breakfast in their restaurant. It's not worth the price. Walk a few blocks to Founding Farmers. It's very reasonably priced and delicious!

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

I can't imagine a better deal so close to the White House. Very safe area near GWU. Rooms are large with good-sized kitchenette. Decor is tired (some chipped plaster, 50's tile, stain on stool) but room was very clean. Can't be beaten for a safe area and bargain hotel in the heart of DC. Superb staff and hotel restaurant was very nice with garden seating.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helene_UNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2013

Dear Helene_UNC,

Thank you for taking the time to let us know of your experience while staying with us. We're very happy that you found us to be an "excellent bargain". We are renovating the hotel floor by floor to update the hotel and the results so far have been wonderful based on some of the comments we've received on some (minimal) of the rooms we've completed. We hope you'll come and see us again to experience them in the future. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#52 of 141 in Washington DC
499 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#3 of 141 in Washington DC
434 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
2,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
751 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#14 of 141 in Washington DC
1,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $128 - $405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek and sophisticated, with impeccable service, the all-suite State Plaza Hotel offers a new standard of comfort to visitors to our nation's capital. These downtown Washington DC hotel suites provide spacious lodging in a fashionable, convenient setting, adjacent to George Washington University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing