We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Update to previous review”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Returning to the State Plaza after a 2009 visit was pleasant. This hotel is a good value with rooms that are large and have convenient kitchenettes. The best improvement over the 2009 visit is that the WiFi is finally accessible at a decent speed. There is a Whole Foods grocery store is within walking distance so if you enjoy preparing food in your room, this hotel is a good choice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NWBallardTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,750)
There are newer reviews for State Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

946 - 952 of 1,750 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2013

I stayed here because of it's proximity to the State Department (where I had meetings). I was there during the unexpected cold snap last week. For $300 per night, the room was grimy and dated, the fridge was ridiculously noisy (I didn't need or ask for a full kitchen and would have much preferred that they spent the money on the comfort of my room), and they refused to turn the heat on. After a couple of nights, they provided me with an equally grimy space heater!

Breakfast was $12 for some mini, overly sweet, baked goods, a standard cantaloupe/honeydew/grape fruit salad, bad coffee, and to-go yogurts complete with a plastic spoon. All nicely laid out on the bar counter for you to help yourself. And then be forced to pay the 15% gratuity.

I've stayed in worse places, but never paid that much money for the privilege.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sheeners_views
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

First of all the price was a high but I imagine that is because of the great location. It's a few blocks walk to the Vietnam memorial and the Lincoln Monument. The room was clean but the bathroom was dated and had a few issues. I'm not picky or a hotel snob (check out other places I've stayed) but when you are paying almost $300 a night you expect more. The bathroom didn't have a shower curtain when we checked in but that was taken care of with two phone calls. Also the toilet broke and stopped filling. Lastly the shower drained extremely slow so you were standing in a few inches of water. I'm sure that the staff would of handled these problems but we only stayed one night.
Basically there was nothing at this hotel that would draw me back. Old decor that wasn't classy and It had the feel of an apartment building.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proptravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel for 3 nights, the price was around $130 per room per night. The room was huge, actually it is a suite with 2 queen size beds, little kitchen with big refrigerator, stove, sink, all necessary dishes, table and chairs for two. There is coffee machine and toaster too, and every day the coffee was refilled. The wi-fi was also free, it wasn't the fastest wi-fi, but enough for e-mails and some Internet browsing.
There is also small dressing room in front of the bathroom. Everything was impeccably clean, we were given 4 sets of towels each day, even though there were only 2 of us in the room.
The location is great, close to Monuments, White House, The Mall. Georgetown is just 20 minutes walk, but if it is too much for you, then there is a bus right in front of the hotel which takes you to Georgetown ($1.80 one way ticket). The subway station (Foggy Bottom) is only 10 minutes walk, so it is easy to come by metro from Union Station (we arrived there from NYC). If you take the cab to Union Station it will cost you around $14 (tip included).
We didn't have breakfast in the restaurant, so I don't know if it was good. There is CVS pharmacy right next door (open 24/7) so we bought there everything we needed for breakfast in the morning.
I think this hotel is great option for everyone who wants to explore Washington D.C. by foot, as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pantaghana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

I found this hotel a good price for the D.C. area. With the National Mall only a 2 blocks away and a short walk to George Washington University; it is a great location for all the most attractive sites D.C. has to offer. The hotel was a little outdated but is well maintained and very clean. The rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. But...as I misread, the breakfast was not complimentary and was charged $16.95. Dunkin Doughnuts is on the corner, it got my breakfast buisness for the week. Reasonable price-Great Location

Stayed: March 2013
1  Thank Wrldtrvld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 15, 2013

Dear Wrldtrvld,

We're happy you found the hotel nice for a decent price. Our location serves many people well and we are on our way to have all our rooms renovated. We've completed almost two floors and will not stop until all 16 floors are completed. We hope you'll come back and see us again sometime in the future and givce us another review. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

We found accommodation in DC to be quite expensive, however the State Plaza offered a decent experience for the price/location.

The rooms are comfortable, quite large and included a kitchen and powder room (!?!). Cleanliness and service were of a high standard and the location was great in terms of accessing the cities immense number of attractions and Foggy Bottom metro station.

Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank 5cott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Was really impressed with the hotel. Room was much larger than expected very large wardrobe, nice bathroom separate dressing room. Separate kitchen with table, large refrigerator and the bedroom was very spacious like an apartment. And fortunately there is a CVS next door so you can stock up on food and drinks. Staff were great very helpful with directions and storing our luggage when we checked out.

Stayed for 3 nights in February 2013. Location is really good too although D.C is not a huge place anyway it was great location as you have Georgetown nearby. Arlington Cemetery and the White House all within walking distance.

The area is very quiet at night but feels safe. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank adammacd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 10, 2013

Dear adammacd,

Thank you for your review. Happy to have impressed you. We were an apartment at one time prior to becoming a hotel so our rooms are that of a typical apartment and not of a hotel. We want to keep them that way to keep the ample space our Guests enjoy. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#53 of 142 in Washington DC
500 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#5 of 142 in Washington DC
445 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#38 of 142 in Washington DC
2,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#39 of 142 in Washington DC
752 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#13 of 142 in Washington DC
1,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $124 - $408 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek and sophisticated, with impeccable service, the all-suite State Plaza Hotel offers a new standard of comfort to visitors to our nation's capital. These downtown Washington DC hotel suites provide spacious lodging in a fashionable, convenient setting, adjacent to George Washington University. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing