We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding location, huge rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #39 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Outstanding location, huge rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

Stayed here recently to look at GW University for my son.
You cannot beat the location of this hotel.
Walk to monuments and walk to GW. wow.
Huge huge rooms, room a little old and the bathroom a little small, but the location of the hotel and the size of the rooms offset any negatives.
Parking overnight is $32, but that is not bad for where the hotel is.

Breakfast is way way overpriced, $14.95 for a small small buffet, but again, given the size of the room and the location of the hotel, a small price to pay.

As a hint, you can get a great price for this hotel at a site that rhymes with velocity

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hermsherm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, April 1, 2013
Dear hermsherm,

Thank you for your review and we're glad you fund our hotel in an outstanding location and that you were able to take advantage of our huge rooms. I have sent your review to our restaurant manager to see if there is anything we can do to improve on our breakfast buffet. We are currently renovating the hotel and the bathrooms will be updated. Hope you'll come and check it out the next time you're in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,612 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    660
    674
    196
    51
    31
See reviews for
454
456
108
338
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (291)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I had stayed at the State Plaza many years ago and was not impressed at the time. I did not, however, regret my decision to give it another try recently. To my delight, I found that the hotel had been significantly refurbished. My room was spacious and, except for the carpet, was quite clean and well appointed. ( I have come to the conclusion that even the best of hotels across the globe seem to find maintaining clean carpets a challenge). The bed was comfortable and the towels and bed linens very clean. The service was great - very helpful, friendly staff. For those persons doing business the international organizations in DC, such as the OAS and PAHO, the location of the State Plaza is ideal. I would definitely stay at this hotel again when I return to DC.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsTraveller48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

Spent 6 nights in D.C. and after reading number of reviews decided on the State Plaza. Arrived late on a Monday but the staff was nice and helpful in getting me checked in. Massive room for only one person but couldn't pass up the deal. Relatively close to the metro and only a few blocks from the Mall and the White House. The only drawback would be the having the room closest to the lobby (literally right out the door from me) was that you could hear people coming and going day and night. Overall a very enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bahoo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear Bahoo1,

We're gald you had a pleasant trip to DC and that we could be a part of it. The State Plaza Hotel used to be all condos and the room you stayed was considered a one bedroom suite basically. This is why our rooms are larger than your typical hotel room. We hope to welcome you again someday and thank you for taking the time to review us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2013

My husband and I stayed during our spring break - March 9-16 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We flew into Reagan National and took a taxi - $18 - to the hotel. It was close to midnight when we arrived, but the desk and doorman immediately stepped forward and helped and answered some tourist questions. Check in was fast and effortless. We had a room with a kitchen, parlor room, bathroom and two queen beds. Very comfortable. The only negative comment, no A/C. Being from Texas we like our rooms very cool at night - front desk told us to just opened the windows. What a wonderful idea. It worked. Also they gave us a box fan - free of charge. The kitchen was a little limited in the dishes. Luckily we ended up eating out every meal because we never found any pots or pans.


On the hotel: This hotel is located in the heart of the George Washington University. It takes up a complete block with entrances on "E" and "F" street, between 19th and 20th streets. It reminded me of dorm rooms with a connecting basement. We were on the 6th floor and our room was directly across the way from a business office. It was pretty funny on Monday when I opened the curtains and there was a man working at his desk across the way. Luckily I saw him first and closed the curtains. Didn't have that problem again! The elevator was slow - we had read about that on an earlier review - but was always available. The hotel is about 3 blocks from the metro - Foggy Bottom - and 3 blocks the other way to Lincoln Memorial and tour stops and easy walking distance to the White House. There is a CVS next door on "E" street and a very small grocery store on "F". A little pricey. I can't say it enough......Location Location Location. Also the price was very reasonable!

On the staff: Our maid service - Sandra - was absolute wonderful. She kept us in fresh towels and a clean room. The rooms are a little dated but clean. I've stayed in worse. Could use an overhaul of the carpet, paint and bathroom. We loved the beds and all the comfy pillows. My only negative comment is that I sincerely believe that ALL front desk workers should know their surroundings. They should know all restaurants, grocery stores, buses and metro stops within walking distance. As a tourist, there is only so much you can understand from looking at Mapquest or other reviews. You need first hand experience.

Overall, I would give this hotel a good rating. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. If we ever plan on coming to DC again, I will stay here!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKKTEXAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
122 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 16, 2013

We had quite the mess up with our reservations here. I'd made reservations well in advance and only later did I find that we'd only be allowed to have 3 adults in a room. Mysteriously I had one more reservation show up under my name that I didn't make and I tired to work out a solution to the problem with the reservation manager. She insisted that even though I made reservations on line for 4 (two queens beds) that they'd only allow 3 people. I told her that the website allows for the selection of 5 people per room and she argued with me about it. I even went so far as to make a "screen print" of the reservation process. (The hotel needs to change their website to notify people of this. ) In addition I had made the reservations in advance so I could not cancel them without incurring a charge for the full price.
In the end, the hotel manager worked with me to cancel a portion of our reservation, which worked for me. This hotel has is a great location for walking to the National Mall, & the subway.
The room was nice, although a little odd because it was formerly an apartment. Overall, the hotel was good, I'd stay again based on the price & location. Just be sure you check your reservation and understand what they allow for people in the room.

Room Tip: Make sure you check with the hotel to know if you can have more than 3 adults in a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

I made a quick overnight trip to DC for a concert and found this hotel. Of course I reviewed Trip Advisor before booking. Getting to the hotel via my GPS was easy. It is in the PERFECT location if you want to visit and do a lot of the national attractions (Lincoln Memorial, Washington Monument, etc). The checkin and check out process was easy, Having valet parking (a cost of $32 per night +tax) was nice, so you don't have to worry about where the heck to park in DC. We parked our car and just used cabs to get to the Verizon Center area. The hotel is older, but in my opinion it is kept up and renovated nicely. Our room was VERY spacious. We did not need a kitchen, but it had it. I told my husband that when he and I go to DC for a tourist trip, we WILL be staying at the State Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LIRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear LIRich,

We're glad you found our hotel convenient while visiting Washington DC. We hope the concert was enjoyable and that we will have another opportunity to welcome you the The State Plaza Hotel on your next visit. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tempe, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2013

Clean, wonderful staff - cannot say enough good! Highly recommended. Rooms are clean, beds comfortable, kitchenettes in each room, very large rooms, location in the heart of George Washington University makes it easy to get anywhere in town.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AZRobert1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear AZRobert1,

It was wonderful to have read your review. Not only because it was flattering to our staff, but mostly because you had a wonderful stay with us. This is what we aim to accomplish and we hope we'll have the opportunity to serve you again in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#50 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 448 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 697 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#41 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#47 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing