We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Inverness, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A pleasant stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Myself and my fiancé stayed here for 4 nights between February and March. It was a pleasant stay and for the price we paid there wasn't to much to complain about. Yes the decor is old but who really cares? The rooms are big and clean.

The only negatives were the smell coming from the ventilator fan on the 8th floor, some evenings our room would have an unpleasant smell for a few hours, the slowness of the lift and the fridge in our kitchen was quite noisy.

Would still recommend you stay here.

Room Tip: Try not to get room 829!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BananaMilkshake1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 13, 2013
Dear BananaMilkshake1,

Thank you for your review and we're glad you and your fiance had a pleasant stay with us. We apologize for the negatives you've experienced while staying with us but we will make sure to identify the sources of these issues so that we can either fix them or replace them so that they'll be no bother to anyone else in the future. We hope to have you back in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    619
    187
    50
    29
See reviews for
403
407
99
304
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (259)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having been working in Washington DC for a few days at the National Convention Centre we chose to take a couple of extra days vacation to check out the tourist attractions in DC. We stayed at the State Plaza on East Street and our stay could not have been more comfortable as the room featured two twin Queen Size beds, a bathroom and a spacious kitchen/dining area. The location of the hotel was superb for sightseeing as not only were many of the main attractions a short cab ride away but the Metro system was very accessible with Foggy Bottom station only a five minute walk away opening up a whole host of new possibilities. The staff at the hotel were helpful and polite and left us with the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We did not eat in the restaurant as there was a great food store next door so we decided to make full use of our kitchen facilities and go self catering. i would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for smaller pillows as the height of the standard ones is rather large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Nickyt13,

It's very nice of you to take time to give us your review. We're also glad that you consider the State Plaza Hotel your home away from home. I will make sure to convey to our staff your kind words and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been using the hotel for the last 22 years; it is close to a metro station and to all important places and monuments in Washington DC, it has the same classic decoration, the same furniture, the same nice restaurant, very good service, it is quiet and very enjoyable; for my generation going to the hotel is like going back home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanCSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear JuanCSilva,

In behalf of all our staff, I would like to thank you very much for your 22 years of loyalty. We are going to change a bit with our renovations but I hope you'll continue to come stay with us and maybe even appreciate the new "stuff". We're excited about it and really hope you'll like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehalem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here for our annual work trip for the last three years. PROS: affordable, big rooms, kitchen, close to Mall, in college neighborhood, staff is good. CONS: too hot at night, tub faucet leaked, wifi slow, noisy, NO hot water last morning, far from the Hill, far from metro stop, construction. . This place has been good in the past. Make sure your room is far from the elevator, and up a few floors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked the location of this hotel, close to GW University, the White House, the monuments, and the museums. The bed was excellent and there was a full kitchen area (in which I only used the coffee maker). The decor had a 1950s feel, with green ceramic tile in the bathroom, etc. The entire hotel was clean, comfortable, and the room price was very affordable. Wireless internet in the room was reliable. The flat screen TV worked well and there was an excellent selection of channels. The restaurant in the lower level is an informal feeling but "white tablecloth" place with a limited menu, good service, and reasonable prices. In Washington DC there are lots of hotels with much higher prices and not much more in terms of value. I recommend the State Plaza for those on a budget who would appreciate the kitchen, the safe area, cleanliness, and handy location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank optimize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Lincoln Memorial
It is located in a strategic place, so you can visit all the monuments and museums by bus, metro or just walking. I love to walk so i did all my trips walking with a city map to have a chance to take photos, take a look at the restaurants and the DC enviorement.
There are lots of places where you can eat including the hotel restaurant. At Pennsylvania Ave you can find Farmers Foundation, Jhonnys Rocket, also there are starbucks or subway around the corner. There is also a liquor store and a small supermarket with pharmacy two steps away from the hotel. I have to add that i came alone and on February (the weather was still cold)
Yes it is true the elevator takes some time but to tell the truth if you are in vacation trip, whats the hurry? Jaja The rooms are big, i was at 8th floor with a nice view of Capitol Hill and Washington monument. The room was clean, and in order. The hotel staff helped me when asking for info, reserving the taxi for leaving and even printing my boarding pass. The internet in my room was good. Sometimes it faded when moving my Ipad to but worked fine at the desktop or bed. The location and price were the two things that made me decide for this option. Hope this info helps you travel and enjoy DC.

Room Tip: The 8th floor has a nice view and is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RicktrellesPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear RicktrellesPTY,

We appreciate your time in giving us your review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location and hotel value "best". Sounds like you also had a good tour of Washington DC which is great. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Simsbury, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed in this lovely hotel. The room was clean, spacious and nicely appointed. We loved having a kitchen. Our only complaint was the early morning noise. There was some construction every morning that sounded like loud banging on the roof and our room was on the top floor.
The hotel is located walking distance to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, and many monuments and museums. We were in DC to visit colleges, very convenient location and great price.

Room Tip: Ask about renovation, get a renovated room away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Linda P,

We were glad to know you found our hotel lovely. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to hear the loud banging in the morning. We were updating some flooring and the noises have ceased. It is part of our continued effort to renovate the hotel. We thank you and your daughter for staying with us and hope that you'll enjoy our renovated hotel should you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 395 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#18 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,800 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#26 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 580 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#8 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, Expedia and getaroom.com so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing