We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home from home!”
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #37 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A home from home!”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Having been working in Washington DC for a few days at the National Convention Centre we chose to take a couple of extra days vacation to check out the tourist attractions in DC. We stayed at the State Plaza on East Street and our stay could not have been more comfortable as the room featured two twin Queen Size beds, a bathroom and a spacious kitchen/dining area. The location of the hotel was superb for sightseeing as not only were many of the main attractions a short cab ride away but the Metro system was very accessible with Foggy Bottom station only a five minute walk away opening up a whole host of new possibilities. The staff at the hotel were helpful and polite and left us with the impression that nothing was too much trouble. We did not eat in the restaurant as there was a great food store next door so we decided to make full use of our kitchen facilities and go self catering. i would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for smaller pillows as the height of the standard ones is rather large!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickyt13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Dear Nickyt13,

It's very nice of you to take time to give us your review. We're also glad that you consider the State Plaza Hotel your home away from home. I will make sure to convey to our staff your kind words and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    696
    199
    53
    31
See reviews for
468
469
110
357
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (304)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bogota, Colombia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2013

I have been using the hotel for the last 22 years; it is close to a metro station and to all important places and monuments in Washington DC, it has the same classic decoration, the same furniture, the same nice restaurant, very good service, it is quiet and very enjoyable; for my generation going to the hotel is like going back home.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JuanCSilva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, March 5, 2013
Dear JuanCSilva,

In behalf of all our staff, I would like to thank you very much for your 22 years of loyalty. We are going to change a bit with our renovations but I hope you'll continue to come stay with us and maybe even appreciate the new "stuff". We're excited about it and really hope you'll like it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nehalem, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Have stayed here for our annual work trip for the last three years. PROS: affordable, big rooms, kitchen, close to Mall, in college neighborhood, staff is good. CONS: too hot at night, tub faucet leaked, wifi slow, noisy, NO hot water last morning, far from the Hill, far from metro stop, construction. . This place has been good in the past. Make sure your room is far from the elevator, and up a few floors.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Portof G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Dakota
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

I liked the location of this hotel, close to GW University, the White House, the monuments, and the museums. The bed was excellent and there was a full kitchen area (in which I only used the coffee maker). The decor had a 1950s feel, with green ceramic tile in the bathroom, etc. The entire hotel was clean, comfortable, and the room price was very affordable. Wireless internet in the room was reliable. The flat screen TV worked well and there was an excellent selection of channels. The restaurant in the lower level is an informal feeling but "white tablecloth" place with a limited menu, good service, and reasonable prices. In Washington DC there are lots of hotels with much higher prices and not much more in terms of value. I recommend the State Plaza for those on a budget who would appreciate the kitchen, the safe area, cleanliness, and handy location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank optimize
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The hotel is very close to the Lincoln Memorial
It is located in a strategic place, so you can visit all the monuments and museums by bus, metro or just walking. I love to walk so i did all my trips walking with a city map to have a chance to take photos, take a look at the restaurants and the DC enviorement.
There are lots of places where you can eat including the hotel restaurant. At Pennsylvania Ave you can find Farmers Foundation, Jhonnys Rocket, also there are starbucks or subway around the corner. There is also a liquor store and a small supermarket with pharmacy two steps away from the hotel. I have to add that i came alone and on February (the weather was still cold)
Yes it is true the elevator takes some time but to tell the truth if you are in vacation trip, whats the hurry? Jaja The rooms are big, i was at 8th floor with a nice view of Capitol Hill and Washington monument. The room was clean, and in order. The hotel staff helped me when asking for info, reserving the taxi for leaving and even printing my boarding pass. The internet in my room was good. Sometimes it faded when moving my Ipad to but worked fine at the desktop or bed. The location and price were the two things that made me decide for this option. Hope this info helps you travel and enjoy DC.

Room Tip: The 8th floor has a nice view and is less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RicktrellesPTY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear RicktrellesPTY,

We appreciate your time in giving us your review on your most recent stay with us. We are glad you found our location and hotel value "best". Sounds like you also had a good tour of Washington DC which is great. We hope to have another opportunity to serve you in the future. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

My daughter and I recently stayed in this lovely hotel. The room was clean, spacious and nicely appointed. We loved having a kitchen. Our only complaint was the early morning noise. There was some construction every morning that sounded like loud banging on the roof and our room was on the top floor.
The hotel is located walking distance to the White House, the Lincoln Memorial, and many monuments and museums. We were in DC to visit colleges, very convenient location and great price.

Room Tip: Ask about renovation, get a renovated room away from the construction.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Dear Linda P,

We were glad to know you found our hotel lovely. We apologize for the inconvenience of having to hear the loud banging in the morning. We were updating some flooring and the noises have ceased. It is part of our continued effort to renovate the hotel. We thank you and your daughter for staying with us and hope that you'll enjoy our renovated hotel should you stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
46 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at State Plaza Hotel in mid-February. Very large room with a kitchenette and makeup room, separate from the bedroom. Asked for a microwave which helped a lot. Large refrigerator and dishes and utensils provided. Room dated-looking but beds were very comfortable. Makeup room separate from bathroom and very large. Staff was very helpful and interested in my well-being at all times. CVS next door was great! I bought food and kept it in the kitchen which made life a lot easier. At the corner of Virginia and 20th, so easy to get a cab. About a 8 block walk to Foggy Bottom Metro station. Lots of light on the street so I was comfortable walking alone, even at night. Close to GW and GW Hospital. Very central to the Mall and other downtown places.
I was very pleasantly surprised but the comfort, especially at the price. It is really nice to stay in fancy upgraded hotels but they run almost $100 more per night and lack any sort of kitchen or microwave. I would easily stay here again, on business or family vacations.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eileendoylecrane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#44 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#1 of 140 in Washington DC
5.0 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#28 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#40 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#7 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#59 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and HotelQuickly so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing