We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Geat Value, Great Staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of State Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
State Plaza Hotel
Ranked #35 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Stow, MA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Geat Value, Great Staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

The staff was fantastic - helpful, friendly, pleasant, all the things a hotel staff should be. The rooms were immaculately clean and large with a small kitchen and a separate "make-up" table that was great. The rooms are plain and the decor is dated- no frills but comfortable and for the money this is a great value in an otherwise expensive city. We loved our stay here and especially the buses that stopped right in front of the hotel. It's close to the Mall and the Lincoln Memorial. Recommend it highly.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    583
    631
    190
    50
    29
See reviews for
424
415
100
308
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

Just returned from a one-week stay in DC and I can't say enough good things about this hotel! We arrived quite early so the front desk staff held our bags and provided a map with directions to some sights to visit in the area while our room was being prepared. We received a third-floor corner room that is larger than my son's college apartment! Nicely-appointed with comfortable beds and furniture as well as a full kkitchen and two flatscreened TVs. Housekeeping staff kept our room immaculate and honored any extra request (i.e. extra coffee). The morning newspaper is a nice touch at your doorstep each day. The staff are helpful and willing to go the "extra mile." They even assisted me in printing our boarding pass when there were issues with a website. The hotel's location is perfect and we decided to walked to every event on our travel itinerary except a few times when the front desk quickly ordered a taxi for us. We never used the city bus, but there appears to be a bus stop across the street should you need it. Also a 24-hr CVS pharmacy is right next door. One evening, we ate in the hotel bistro and had a wide variety of choices. Our food was tasty and as good or better than other DC-area restaurants. To sum it up, if I had the option for 6 stars, I would use it! We WILL be back!

Room Tip: If your stay is more than one or two nights, ask for a corner room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pbpvol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Dear pbpvol,

It was a pleasure to have read your review and we are happy you apprciated our services. It's rather flaterring to think that we deserve "6" stars if you could have given that many to us. We hope to be able to serve you again. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

We stayed here for 5 days in November 2012 and the room was sumptuous-we had two double beds and a kitchenette which we appreciated. The business suite was great with unlimited internet access. The location was good: close to the Lincoln Memorial but it was a good 30 minute walk to the Capitol. The staff were welcoming but could have been a bit more astute as we mentioned that we were expecting a package and it was promptly sent back to FedEx which was not very helpful. We enjoyed our stay in this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tika K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Tika K,

Thank you for staying with us for almost a week. We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you found our location to be good. We apologize for the mishap on the FedEx package and we promise to be more attentive next time. Happy Holidays!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belleville, Canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

I spent 3 nights here with some friends in early September. Hotel is in a great location, maybe a 20 minute drive from Reagan Airport, and an easy walk to the museums and monuments.

Our room was huge! It had 2 beds, a huge kitchen (complete with dishware, table & chairs, stove top and fridge) and equally big bathroom/ dressing area. It was really clean and in a good location - we didn't have any noise.

The room keys were a little odd - kind of like an old school key but electronic (like a usb drive), easy to lose so be careful.

Also, there are two entrances/buildings to the hotel - one on E Street and the other on F Street. If you check in on E Street and are in the F Street building, you'll have to cut through the parking garage, which is a little strange, and the lobby in the F Street building isn't staffed 24 hours, so if you need anything you'll have to go to the E Street lobby.

Would definitely stay here again. :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shorty808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Shorty808,

Greetings to you up north and thank you for taking the time of to review your stay at the State Plaza Hotel. Our rooms are some of the largest you'll find in the city as they were once efficiency condos converted to hotel rooms but we've kept the kitchens and separate vanity rooms in each of the rooms. Our key system will probably be different after our renovations this year and they will look like thin credit cards and you can just scan them at the door for entry.

Take care and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2012

One night stay for business trip - chosen by office. I found I was paying over $50 per night more than they were offering on the web - very confusing pricing - $99 BAR or $160 Government rate? Anyway, I first thought I must have a great rate since I was on the ground floor with a view of the back of a building with a garbage dumpster - apparently not! Also opposite a room they use for groups attending meetings for lunch - noisy at that time. So first advice, stay higher up and not on the first floor in the back building. Yes, the rooms are converted from apartments. Mine was a studio size - large. Huge kitchen - old cabinets and stove top. I think you could ask for a microwave but they may charge you more. Huge refrigerator. Very comfy kind bed. Liked the dressing room and old fashioned vanity with lights. Very good towels - Frette and products.Bistro - got a take away sandwich which was fine. Breakfast - had the continental - not a very good selection of breads/pastries, fresh fruit salad and yogurts. Good coffee. Staff very nice and helpful. Overall, I think it depends on the room you get and if you want to cook yourself. Location very good for business and sightseeing.

Room Tip: West side - stay high.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newyork025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Dear newyork025,

Thank you for posting your review. We are always striving to get better and these reviews offer us the best sources where we need to focus to do just that. We do deliver microwaves at no charge. We're glad you enjoyed our restaurant and that you found our staff nice and helpful. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I opened a trip advisor account just to review this Hotel. I've read the other reviews and they are all pretty accurate. When I arrived, my cab door was opened by John (a gentleman in a suit) he took my luggage to the desk and got me through the check out process, he was a tall well groomed polite man, might have been a manager, definatley has a nice attitude and was happy to be there. My room "wow" and it was just me using all this space, I could have brought my kids along since I was just traveling from Baltimore for two nights, the room was actually that big. Housekeeping was prompt friendly, they seemed to be very detailed with the cleaning methods, although the room was a little dated, I was still comfortable. As an architect I could see and tell that the room was maintained by maintenace, a lot of the details in the rooms have had attention given to them. Even the bright colored tile in the bathroom had clean grouted edges, I could see the electrical had just been updated so, the rooms are kept sharp. I really did not want to write this part but it is a review, the restaurant is awful, whoever is running the up keep of the hotel is obvioulsy not in charge of the restaurant. First, it's dirty and smelly, it smells like the same old mop has been wiped all over the floor for five years. I am familliar with this particualr smell as i worked alot of restaurants through my college and grad years, the dirty ones always smell the same. Second, why do you not have itemized breakfast menu instead of the terrible buffet that is overpriced cold and just not appetizing. The other employee of the hotel that assisted me with my safe was Frank in maintenace department, like John he was happy and delighted to be there. I didn't get the happy feelings in the restaurant that I received form John and Frank, they must have different managers. The only reason I am giving lower scores on service and cleanliness is because of your restaurant. I would stay at your hotel again, I will just bring my own food next time.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank da g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

During a recent business trip to DC, I chose to stay at the State Plaza Hotel because of the reviews on TripAdvisor. The reviews are pretty accurate. This small hotel was converted from an apartment complex, so the rooms are suites with full kitchens. Even though the hotel is an older building, the rooms are quite comfortable. It is located in a great area around George Washington University. I was not impressed with the restaurant in the hotel. I wanted a small made to order breakfast and they only offered a buffet that didn't look too appetizing. So I ate elsewhere. The staff at the hotel where all courteous and went out of their way to help.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TimeToFly123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy Bottom
Courtyard Washington, DC/Foggy B...
#38 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 408 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Lombardy
Hotel Lombardy
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,855 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
George Washington University Inn
George Washington University Inn
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#10 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to State Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about State Plaza Hotel

Property: State Plaza Hotel
Address: 2117 E St NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2916
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#31 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#60 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — State Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 225
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Odigeo, Hotwire and Agoda so you can book your State Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
State Plaza Washington Dc
Hotel State Plaza

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing