We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$121
$99
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 42% below average rates

The price you found is 42% lower than this hotel's average rate of $172/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $293/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$119
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of $180/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $144/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of $169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$170
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$159
Hyatt.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of $197/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$139
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of $164/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$237
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$233
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,930)
Filter reviews
1,930 results
Traveler rating
851
774
216
54
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
774
216
54
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln memorialdressing roomfull kitchenfoggy bottomnorth towergarden cafewhite houseliquor storewithin walking distancestove topdressing areaseparate kitchenminute walkgw universityfew blockswhole foodsworld bank
Filter
Updating list...
1,188 - 1,193 of 1,930 reviews
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Stayed for 5 nights at the state plaza hotel. Was attending a global meeting on Immunization monitoring and surveillance at the Pan American Health Organization (PAHO building). Just 2-5 minutes walk to the venue. CVS just next door. No need to move far to get your basic needs. Very spacious rooms with two queen size beds and lots of pillows. Kitchen is well equiped with all that you need to prepare your own food. A very big freezer for your room. Well not sure whether the other rooms had the same size. A gas burner in the kitchen and a coffee maker. It's a real home away from home. Bathrooms are very neat with a number of towels. Actually had five towels for the five nights. And the staff, right from the reception to the room service were all very caring. In summary, it is worth the name. The next time you are in DC, check it out.

Room Tip: Prefarably select rooms on the higher floors. They are very quiet.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mugisha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Mugisha D,

Thank you for taking the time to review the State Plaza Hotel. We're glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found the hotel conveniently located as you were only minutes away from your meetings. We send our greetings to Uganda and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We read the reviews, we took a chance, and paid in advance. In the end, we couldn't have been happier with our decision. In fact we have already recommended this to another traveler heading to DC this month.

*Location - we spent 6 nights at the end of September, and loved that everything was within walking distance. 4 blocks to Whole Foods, Foggy Bottom Metro, and several restaurants. 3 blocks from the Vietnam Memorial one direction, and the White House the other direction. Then the furthest point of interest being the Capitol was a mere 2 miles. Except for a one day trip to Monticello, we walked everywhere, and were grateful for being able to get each day started with a simple walk out the front door of the hotel. And at the end of the day, it was handy to have both a CVS and Liquor store right next door.

*Accommodations - The only better price we found was at Harrington Hotel, and having stayed there before, this place is far superior in all ways. Exceptionally clean, very roomy, and we loved the bonus of a kitchen; while we went out to eat a few times, we saved a ton of money by shopping at Whole Foods and fixing breakfast and a few dinners in. Plus they did the dishes!!! (remember to tip your maid service well). The in room safe made storing iPads and laptop more secure. The bedding has the "brand new" look and feel, and four big pillows per bed were a nice touch. Rooms are non-smoking, they deliver a daily newspaper, and provide the makings for coffee.

*Service - We felt we were coming "home" each evening, as we were greeted by Manuel and the rest of the staff. Each morning, they were there to open doors and wish us a good day. We never saw the maids, but our room was very clean, and inviting at the end of our long days.
The only slight we felt was the evening front desk gentleman using scare tactics about street metered parking and not trusting we wouldn't get towed, urging us to pay the overnight garage fee of $28. (We went ahead and paid $8 for the meter 2 blocks away. That's the cost for between 6pm and 10pm, then it's free from 10pm til 7am, but you have to move the car before 7am).

Bottom line: If you are looking for the giltz and glamour of a Ritz Carlton, this is not your place. If you are looking for a great price, fantastic location, and comfort of a clean large room, with a homey feel and nice service, you can trust your at the right place with the State Plaza Hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icefamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2012

Dear Icefamily4,

It was wonderful having your family stay with us for almost a week. Our staff thrives in making our Guests feel at home and I'll make sure they read your review specially Manuel. I know they'll appreciate it. Thank you for making us part of your visit to our Nation's Capital and for recommending our Hotel to another traveler. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed in room 416 at the State Plaza for a single night and found the whole place to be a bit sterile yet adequate for a standard overnight hotel stay in a city.

The room was large with two queen beds, a living area, a kitchenette equipped with all the things one might need to make simple meals as well as a freezer stocked with full ice trays. The beds were very comfy with 4 pillows each and the living room area had a nice big window looking out the front of the hotel.

The bathroom was a bit pokey, but was adequate with fairly boring toiletries called 'rain kissed' which I found a bit pretentious and more in tune with a mountain lodge than a boring city hotel.

The venue was ideally situated a 5 minute walk from the Lincoln Memorial as well as the White House and right across from the State Department building - meaning that once you are there, you are in walking distance of most things tourist. This is a plus.

Parking was a bit pricey but standard with what most places offer. A valet service for $28 (plus tax) per day and one can come and go as one pleases. Some of the parking is off-site, which could make 'quickly running down' to the car or waiting for the valet a bit of problem.

The positive aspects include its location - what with a CVS store and a liquor store right next door as well as proximity to all the major tourist landmarks. It is clean and run efficiently.

The negative aspects include a rather dry and standoffish staff - although Lilly and one bellhop were friendly and helpful, the rest seemed a little robotic. The whole venue is a little boring to be honest and without personality, which I don't think it minds.

To conclude I would say that the State Plaza is standard and competent. Nothing to write home about, but nothing to complain about. If you want accommodation that just works and doesn't razzle dazzle, this is for you.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wonderboy1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2012

Dear Wonderboy1000,

Thank you for your review of the State Plaza Hotel. Your opinions are very important to us. We will address the negative aspects of your review and willstrive to improve on them. We will soon see quite a few changes to the hotel which we hope will bring more character and make the State Plaza an even greater value for all our Guests. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Nice big rooms with new carpet, and very clean. Very comfortable beds with nice crisp linens and a lot of towels in the bathroom. Kitchenettes and bathrooms are dated in a retro kind of way but spotless. Fantastic location if visiting students at GWU, close to monuments and DC tourist attractions. Only $5 cab ride to Georgetown. If you're a light sleeper do not stay on 8th floor ... arrived late (1:30 a.m.) and heard motors and fans running all night. Noticed the next morning while walking there is a mechanical room on the roof which happen to be under our room. Staff was very understanding and moved us to a lower floor before 11 a.m. Had breakfast Sunday a.m. at F Street Bistro. Service was very good and noticed they employ GW students! CVS next door was convenient, there's a larger one 2 blocks north on 21st Street. A lot of great restaurants or places to get a quick meal (Leo's Deli, Carvings, Roti Mediterranean Grill) without spending a lot.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LSudbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2012 via mobile

It is a well placed hotel to see all the sites. Not many bars and restaurants nearby but don't let that put u off. It's a great hotel. The rooms are big and very comfortable. The kitchen is an added bonus. The staff are friendly and very helpful. Manuel and the door staff are fantastic.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Farside72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 5, 2012

Dear Farside72,

Thank you for taking the time to give us your review of our hotel and for mentioning Manuel. We will certainly notify him and we're sure he'll be delighted. We do have someoof the largest rooms in the city with kitchens and we're glad you enjoyed them. Take care and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews