We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
State Plaza Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$409
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$404
$369
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$463
$399
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$375
$271
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$370
$351
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$383
$287
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,866)
Filter reviews
1,866 results
Traveler rating
810
756
213
53
34
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
810
756
213
53
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln memorialdressing roomfull kitchenfoggy bottomnorth towergarden cafewhite houseliquor storewithin walking distancestove topdressing areaseparate kitchenminute walkgw universitywhole foodsfew blocksworld bank
Filter
Updating list...
1,149 - 1,154 of 1,866 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2012

I have stayed at the State Plaza a number of times now for weekend trips to DC. The hotel is conveniently located near several popular parts of the District, which makes for easy access to restaurants, tourist attractions and nightlife. Street parking is available on both sides of the hotel (the main entrance is on E Street; the back entrance on F street connects the second building), and the hotel offers valet parking that will cost you a nice chunk per day. Dining is available on site if you desire to try the fare. The hotel decor, though well-kept, shows its age, but also adds a unique charm to the building that the average chain hotel doesn't have. The staff is typically helpful and professional. If you are looking for a reasonably-priced, clean place that provides the basic amenities while you lay your head while in D.C. for a night or two, this is worth checking out!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2012

Dear Toni G,

It's wonderful hearing from a regular visitor like yourself. Nice to hear you find The State Plaza Hotel conveniently located and a great value. We are also excited to let you know that we will be undergoing some renovations very soon floor by floor to make The State Plaza Hotel an even greater value. We hope to welcome you again to The State Plaza Hotel soon. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

Excellent location, service and comfort. Added plus, a small kitchen with sink, stove, refrigerator and could request microwave. Could walk to White House, National Mall and Smithsonsian if fit. About 6 blocks from a Metro station (Foggy Bottom) and was around the block from George Washington University. Would recommend not having an auto (just an extra expense) and transportation was nearby. We will definitely stay there again when we return to Washington.

Room Tip: Would recommend second floor to be able to walk down stairway and not have to take the elevator each time.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NepalTraveler66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMatSP, General Manager at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2012

Dear NepalTraveler66,

It is our pleasure to have read your review and that you enjoyed your stay at the State Plaza Hotel. It is also nice that you found our location ideal and within a short walking distance to most of Washington D.C.'s popular attractions. We look forward to welcoming you back to the State Plaza Hotel in the future. Much regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

I paid $178 for bed only (corporate rate) this September.

I like this place because of location (close to subway, close to shopping, bars & restaurants) and rooms (flat screen TV, microwave in kitchenette, good Internet connectivity). Had to ask for microwave.

They are very good at getting taxis and the airport shuttle for Dulles.

Restaurant is good but a little pricey; the adjoining drug store has lots of ready to eat food.

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the E Street side of the hotel. Otherwise, you need to walk through the garage to the rear suites.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank constanttraveler71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear constanttraveler71,

We're happy to hear you like our location and that you found our hotel a good value. We thank you for staying with us and hope that we could be of service to you once again should your travel plans bring you back to Washinbgton D.C.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2012

My husband and I just returned from our stay at State Plaza Hotel. It is located within the George Washington Univ. campus (Foggy Bottom area). It is quiet, clean. Price was pretty good for the area. Our room actually had a kitchen attached with a full fridge and oven. Just used the fridge for water and beer. They had wine glasses too! Room service was great! Elevators were a bit slow and we had to get used to which side of the building to enter as there are two entrances, north or south. If you go to the 6th floor of the north building and your room is in the south building, you have to go all the way back down the slow elevator to the lobby and walk across to the other side and take that slow elevator. LOL Other than that, this is a GREAT place to stay! Staff was very nice and helpful. Very close walk to the National Mall too! They also can order you a taxi for return to the airport at a cost of $18, or you can always take the Metro. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bonnie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 21, 2012

Dear Bonnie K,

Thank you for posting your review. We're glad you were able to take advantage of all our amenities. We actually have a front desk where you can check in and out on both ends of each building so no reason to walk all the way to the other side anymore. It was our pleasure serving you and we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Right near the Metro Center, Farrgot North, and near a Whole Foods/CVS which was great for our little kitchen to cook in. The price was extremely fair and we booked 2 weeks which saved us a nice chunk of change.
This hotel looks fairly plain on the outside, but the rooms offer plenty of space the room service is prompt. We had a situation where our toaster malfunctioned, burnt one side to a crisp and the other side wasn't even toasted. It ended up filling our room with smoke. The desk was kind and within 5 minutes offered us a new toaster and forgiveness on our "Toasty" room. (Bad pun I know).
I was really glad to see that they cared so much about our burnt toast even though it was around 1am!
The location is great because you are able to walk 3 blocks to the metro station and from there you can access every point in DC. Another reason for the location is it is close to Penn. which means easy access to the Mall, but also to the great eating locations of DC.

My one tiny complaint is no pots and pans in the kitchen. Plates and silverware were present.

Enjoy and Book Early!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bleeble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear bleeble,

We appreciate you taking the time give us your review of The State Plaza Hotel. We're glad you found our Hotel clean and safe with a pretty good "Book in advance deals". You can actually request for pots and pans and we will be happy to bring them to you for your cooking needs at no additional charge. Sorry you weren't informed about this. We hope to have you again as our Guests in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews