We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$148
$107
GardenInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$135
$119
Kimpton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$125
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of $156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$207
$180
InterContinental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 45% below average rates

The price you found is 45% lower than this hotel's average rate of $330/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$110
$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of $173/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$170
Dupont Circle
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hyatt Regency Washington on Capitol Hill(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$159
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of $202/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$284
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$233
Omni Hotels
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)(Great Value!)
$141
$125
Capitol Hill
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of $177/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,931)
Filter reviews
1,931 results
Traveler rating
851
775
216
54
35
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
851
775
216
54
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslincoln memorialdressing roomfull kitchenfoggy bottomnorth towergarden cafewhite houseliquor storewithin walking distancestove topdressing areaseparate kitchenminute walkgw universityfew blockswhole foodsworld bank
Filter
Updating list...
1,222 - 1,227 of 1,931 reviews
Reviewed August 12, 2012

This may not be the glitziest place, but it is immaculately clean, comfortable, well located, well-equipped, and great value for the price. I stayed there in August 2012, and was welcomed by the staff, who were accommodating of every question and the few issues I had. The F Street bistro, located in the hotel, had a very nice breakfast buffet, and the suites are equipped with a full refrigerator, stovetop, sink, coffee maker, toaster, and some minimal dishes and cutlery (but no cooking equipment). There is a 24-hour CVS pharmacy next door, a small grocery store within a half block, and even a little park adjacent to the F Street entrance. VERY convenient to the George Washington U. campus and just a few short blocks from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop and Constitution Avenue and the Mall. Short walking distance to the Vietnam Veterans Memorial and the Lincoln Memorial. Bus to Foggy Bottom Station stops right out front.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Elstro,

Greetings! We're gald you found The State Plaza a great value. Our staff is greatful for your comments and we hope to see you again. Next time you're with us, just call the reception for cooking equipments and we'll be happy to bring them to you free of charge. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 11, 2012

So it's not that expensive for DC - we paid $145 per night with a parking fee added on, you arrive they give you water for your room and off you go. The rooms are old apartments turned into hotel rooms so they are big - bedroom, bathroom, kitchen and lounge room - you have a toaster, microwave and large fridge.
Here's the but - it's old, the couches have stains on them, the beds are not that comfortable and you can here what's going on in the bathroom next door.
I will not stay here again unless I am look for a budget room. ked past lots of places to eat without knowing it and ended up at Johnny Rockets - OMG do not eat there - grease, grease and more grease.

Room Tip: there are two buildings, if you have lots of luggage ask for ground floor in the E building- elevators are slower than slower and the F St building is a long walk.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandyshaw66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

Dear Sandyshaw66,

Thank you for posting your review of The State Plaza Hotel. I am happy to let you know that we are currently undergoing renovation and we are doing it floor by floor. I hope you'll reconsider us with your next trip to Washington DC. I think you'll be pleasantly surprised. You can contact me directly for more details if you're interested.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

Clean but older rooms in Foggy Bottom. A few blocks from Metro station and walking distance to the Mall and all the tourist sites there. Small kitchen was a plus. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Skip the breakfast buffet, eggs were overcooked and bacon undercooked. CVS and Liqour store next door. Dunkin Donuts and TGI Fridays nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Georgia_Hills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 9, 2012

Dear Georgia_Hills,

Greetings! We're glad you found The State Plaza Hotel to be of good value and conveniently located for your needs. We've addressed the breakfast issue with our Restaurant Manager and can assure you that these issues will be resolved immediately. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2012

I was taking my 9 year old son to D.C. for the weekend. Since he suffers from food allergies, I wanted a hotel with kitchens in the room. The room here was perfectly fine. Large with two comfortable queen beds and lovely linens. The seperate kitchen was clean and very useable. Housekeeping washed the dishes and cleaned the pots daily. I must add that all of the hotel staff was very friendly and accomidating. There was a 24 hour CVS right next door. This was convienent and comforting. Here's the downside. Directly across the street is a small park. During the day and night, it was inhabitated by bums, homeless, mentally ill, whatever you want to call them. They were drunk all the time. I saw them passing a fifth of vodka around. this made my son feel a little uncomfortable and me depressed and turned off. No one wants to see this upon exiting their hotel. It seems the D.C. government has forgotten about this area. The trash cans in the park were overflowing. The homeless tents were down the street . the hotel should really do something about this.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank 880river
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear 880river,

Thank you for your review. We're happy that we were able to serve your needs and that you found our hotel staff friendly and accomodating. We've taken note of your concerns regarding the park across the street and we have notified the city to make sure they keep the park clean and safe at all times. There are several federal buildings on the other side of the park so there are always extra security monitoring the area which has been incident free for as long as we can remember.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Great hotel location, spacious rooms, good showers. We didn't have breakfast here so no idea what that's like.

The rooms are very clean and well laid out - ours even had a kitchenette. Staff were helpful and friendly. A great place to stay if you're in town to sight see.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravellingTrillian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DOSatSP, Director of Sales at State Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2012

Dear TravellingTrillian,

We're pleased to know you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is really convenient to most major DC attractions and we're glad you were able to stay with us. Take care.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews