We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First-rate service and ideal location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“First-rate service and ideal location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2009

The hotel is in a great location - it's pricey at rack rate, but if you can get a good deal online (I used Priceline) it's a great place to stay. What really stood out to me is that the staff were genuinely warm and helpful - you get the sense that they actually want you to enjoy the hotel, vs. just being nice because it's part of their jobs. Absolutely top-of-the-line experience that way.

The bed was so fabulous, I want to call the hotel to ask where I can get a duvet like it had. They use feather pillows, which I find very uncomfortable, but I'd be willing to bet that housekeeping could probably switch them out for something more supportive. (I was too tired to ask!) Also, the decor is bright and interesting - much more fun than standard neutral cookie-cutter hotel rooms. Maybe not what I would have in my own home, but a refreshing change from the usual. Oh, and yes, I have to agree with just about everyone who mentioned that the rooms are small - but considering how little time you spend in there, that is not problematic at all. I'm very claustrophobic, but I still did not feel cramped. Plus you can see the tv better from the bed this way!

DuPont Circle is just up the street, and the restaurants are open super-late. It seems to be where the young hip crowd hangs out, but its not so painfully chic that a not-so-young, totally-UNhip mom would feel out of place. We ate at "Afterwords" - a cafe at the back of Kramer's bookstore, and it was great. There's also a Metro station right there at the circle, which is convenient for exploring all there is to see. [We were there for a Georgetown U visit - which unfortunately is NOT as close as I thought. It's fine if you don't mind really long walks, but in August heat the last thing I wanted was a really long walk. A cab was a much better choice.]

The valet parking is $35, which sounded like a lot, but is apparently common in the area. There's a garage at 2000 L Street, just a few blocks away, but we arrived late at night and I did not feel safe without many people on that street, so I bit the bullet and parked at the hotel. One thing I wish I had done is study the map more carefully - the area is full of one-ways and these baffling signs that tell you not to turn right, even onto a two-way street. And the circle - holy cow! Five or six streets converge. Madness. I got so confused, it took an extra 20 minutes to find the way back. Of course if you fly in, this is all a moot point, but I sure wish I had taken a closer look before I tried to navigate.

I would stay here again, but would probably wait until the weather cooled off some. Washington is a beautiful city, but with all the walking you inevitably do, it is not somewhere I want to be when it's so hot out. The Georgetown area is full of interesting shops and cafes and it would have been so nice to have a little more time to explore.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chalupacabra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,081 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    458
    188
    45
    30
See reviews for
220
216
65
392
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toa Alta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

I stayed for a week in this hotel and they always received me with a big smile and greetings. I really enjoyed my stay and the $99/night rate was well worth it. The location is great, has a CVS, Subway, McDonalds, Chipotle, USPS office and Foggy Bottom Metro Station walking distance. There are other restaurants in the area but I'm a student... look for cheap places so I didn't try any of them. Also, lots of students walking around made me feel comfortable and safe.

The wireless Internet is free in the lobby and they have a laptop you can use for free if you don't have your own. By the way, the lobby is really nice so I didn’t mind having to use the Internet there. The bed and pillows are very comfortable and there is a coffee maker in the room. The room was always clean, towels were changed every day. On weekdays, the newspaper of your choice (they offer 3 different I think) is delivered to your room. Whenever I needed to go somewhere the concierge told me how to or else looked it up if he/she didn't know and they provide free maps and brochures. Taxis are in front of the hotel 24/7.

What I liked the best of this hotel was the customer service, I love when they treat you like family, it makes me feel home. I really have nothing bad to say about this hotel, if the Internet was for free in the rooms also it would be nicer, but it works good in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MFlamingJuneY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon Center, Ohio
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2009

We stayed here a couple of nights. Courteous, professional staff. Valet parking was very efficient and helpful. Rooms and bathrooms were clean. They have a nice lounge club at the 8th floor with excellent breakfast and a computer.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Exploratoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dre11434
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2009

Like someone said in another review, if u paid more than the Priceline rate $70-$75, then u were stiffed. The location is great, the hotel and room were clean and the staff was somewhat helpful but the room as ridiculously tiny. There was no way I was going to be able to use the desk, if anything it just crowded the room more. There was a bit of a hiccup checking in. The room wasn't ready (we should up a bit early) and we were made to wait and seem to have been forgotten about. i had to go back after 2 hours and ask of the room wasn't ready. I also had a problem with the wifi that no one could help me with, though they did offer me use of another computer.

All in all, it was an OK experience and definitely worth the $70 I paid.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dre11434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
2 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2009

checked in and explained had a 3yr old and a 5month old and got put in the smallest room with no bath..check in guy was a lampshade..no initiative.said no rooms avail with 2 doubles as i asked for. came down after seeing the pathetic little room and spoke to someone else and poof one appeared.
booked on priceline in the 4 star upscale category....westins etc.....dream on this is holiday in at the most ..3 star ! no pool..never ever seen a 4 star with no pool in the usa. rooms are small for usa standards....best for a biz trveller on his/her own not a family!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank worldtraveller1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2009

This hotel is typical of its type. If an average business hotel is what you are looking for then look no further. The food is equally banal. If you are looking for character, excitement or pizazz then go somewhere else. Eminently forgettable.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cimbalon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valley Village, CA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2009

The Renaissance M Street Hotel was an amazing lodging experience. From the moment I walked in the door, I knew I was in a great hotel. I was greeted by very courteous bellmen that were willing to assist even though my bag was small enough to where I clearly didn't need help. Once I reached the front desk, I was greeted by some of the most welcoming front desk staff/concierge I've ever experienced. The service was simply amazing. I was assigned a room that was close to the stairs, and learned right away that wasn't the best room because of the noise from the door. I contacted the front desk and without any delay, I was moved to another room. The rooms were small, but very cozy and breathtaking. I loved the decor and the beds were amazing. If I could take the bed and pillows home with me, I would. As with most hotels, the cleaning staff was a little noisy, but other than that, every aspect of my stay was amazing. I will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank chadej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,847 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing