We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, Nice Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #75 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Nice Location”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

I stayed at the Renaissance Washington, D.C. DuPont Circle last weekend on a leisure trip to visit family and friends. The hotel was modern and in good condition. I loved to location close to restaurants and nightlife. It's a short walk to where the bars, restaurants, and shopping is located near DuPont Circle and is located in a nice and safe neighborhood. I would recommend visiting a restaurant/bar called Front Page for their happy hour. $3 draft beers and $5 apps is standard issue and of great value. This hotel is located almost halfway between the DuPont Circle and Foggy Bottom Metro train stations and gives you options on which line to hop on depending upon where you are going. I preferred to use Uber for town car service at night heading to and from bars, out of convenience and is an affordable option. The rooms are modern and clean, but the bathroom is pretty small. There was plenty of space for myself in the room itself and staff was friendly and accommodated my request for a mini fridge. I was able to get a 15% discount for the stay on Marriott.com (I am a Marriott Rewards member, which also offered a free coffee at the on site coffee shop, or free in room wifi). My rate was $127/night, which I thought was a tremendous value based on the quality of the hotel and its location. I will definitely stay at this hotel again next time in DC.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Brewerboy83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    476
    194
    48
    34
See reviews for
231
222
69
415
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2014 via mobile

Our first time in Washington so didn't know the city, but this hotel was a good choice . 20 minute walk to White House and half way between DuPont circle & Washington Circle. Safe neighbourhood although quite a lot of homeless throughout the city but we never felt threatened . A few restaurants nearby especially around DuPont. Hotel staff excellent, very helpful and able to provide good info. Nice bar, free wifi in far to keep kids happy and a good Gym.
Circulator bus is good for getting around, $1 per person,pay cash on bus. Old Town trolley goes past hotel and us best of the 3 main bus tours.
If we return to DC will definitely use thus hotel again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 14, 2014

My family of 4 stayed here for April break and it was very impressive. It was clean and had everything we needed. The staff was very kind. A bit of a walk to the National Mall, but doable. The Dupont Circle neighborhood is nice with some great restaurants. Our only trouble here was the valet lost our car key. That situation was a bit of a mess. Ultimately, the company handled it well, and paid for the replacement key, but it was a big hassle for a few weeks. We also found our car had been moved during our stay, despite not having been blocking any other cars. Troubling. My advice would be to pack a spare key, which luckily, we had.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktzc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2014

Rooms are nice and location is excellent, but they charge you extra for everything (for example wi-fi). Breakfast was good, but also very expensive. It's a good hotel, but nothing out of the ordinary.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myralo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashley B, Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, July 5, 2014
Thank you for your feedback. Since we are a hotel in the middle of Washington, DC we have to keep up with our competitors. If you plan on coming back in the future please do not hesitate to reach out and let us know! ashley.banks@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
1,199 reviews
235 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2014

Checkin + checkout was really smooth. The room is average size--- and mine was on the street side with good sun/light but a bit of street noise at times. Backside may be better, esp if you can get a room with decent natural light. The bed was very comfy. Room well appointed with desk and all the regular stuff. Bathroom is basic but clean/fine. as Marriott gold, i had access to free wifi and also the lounge on 8th with breakfast and snacks in the evening--- a nice benefit. The room key was very sketchy--- i had to get a new key 4 times, which is really annoying to get back to the lobby each time. The neighborhood is very close to west end/foggy bottom/georgetown/dupont. Lots of metro stations, trader joes/whole foods, CVS/walgreen, several restaurants at various price points, and a few shops nearby. Always a friendly welcome from the bellmen outside --- and they help with taxis, too. At night the lobby feels a bit too packed--- perhaps a bit like a lounge with people having drinks, watching the big screen, and with mood lights. Overall, a good business hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jenabaintheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
384 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 238 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Excellent and friendly reception, OK sized rooms (they are smaller than typical, but are upfront about it) Solid location near Foggy Bottom and Dupont Circle Locations. Easy access from DCA airport.
Lounge is OK with good breakfast and evening snacks, drinks start at $5.
Illy Cafe is a big bonus for coffee lovers.
There are many options for food nearby, I would stay again easily.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veffekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Don't expect anything boutiquey this hotel feels all corporate - but that's DC. The room was a little small but the bed was very comfortable. I found myself fumbling with the thermostat a few times trying to get the temperature right - freezing most of the time.

The hotel provides easy walking to Connecticut and DuPont Circle and a plethora of bars and restaurants, and is about 10 minutes walk to Metro. If you are slugging a bag in July or August, you may want to consider a cab. Humidity is oppressive and you will break a sweat in not time.

I have no issues with cleanliness or staff - staff was friendly and mostly inconspicuous, which is the way I like them!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ed M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#59 of 141 in Washington DC
1,242 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#109 of 141 in Washington DC
72 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#28 of 141 in Washington DC
3,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing