We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent trip to washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent trip to washington”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We have had the most amazing two days in washington despite the shutdown.....we took the open air trolley and hopped on and off......Marilyn and Michael are amazing and I definitely think Marilyn should win the trolley tour guide award. Although the national attractions were closed, we were able to see them from outside and we got a very good feel for the city....Old Ebbitt Grill restaurant was fun with delicious food as was the Old Glory Bar in Georgetown...Eric at the Renaissance was incredible...the Renaissance was everything we wanted.....the rooms are perfect and the hotel is welcoming....an amazing experience all around....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank YolandeFaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi YolandeFaye,
Sounds like an awesome stay! There's (still) so much to see in DC, and I'm happy that you made the most of it. Thanks for the shout out for Eric! He is a new addition to the team and really knows how to give stellar service. I'm so glad that you enjoyed the tour of the city and I hope you come back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    480
    196
    50
    34
See reviews for
234
223
71
417
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Roseville, California
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is a centrally located property - close to good restaurants and the metro. Some areas of DC virtually close down in the evenings and over the weekends. Dupont Circle is, fortunately, not one of these areas. The hotel is clean and well appointed. There is a decent exercise room, and the happy hour has a good selection of appetizers.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Anne G,
Thanks for the great review! I love the area too! Whether you enjoy the top notch dining in the West End, the boutique shops in Georgetown, or the lively bar scene in Dupont Circle, there is so much to discover on our side of town. I look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I am thoroughly enjoying my stay. A++++++++ customer service from check in to day 5. Awesome location, clean rooms, extraordinary superior service. The restaurant was delicious. Great live music and
perfect ambiance. I will be stay there again and again!!!#

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cherrbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Hi Cherrbut,
I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for the fantastic review. Great customer service is what we are all about and is what keeps our guests coming back. Please see us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandenburg, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The rooms were a bit smaller as you would expect in a boutique, the design was retro-modern (some things looking as if they were old and other things modern. Such as the house phones with a design from the 40s and the beds with Scandinavian design. Everyone was pleasant and greeted me. Only bad thing is the road construction in front of the building. But what do you expect in DC?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkwaggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi mkwaggs,
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you also for the feedback. We are in the process of rolling out a new bedding package for the rooms, so please come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, MN
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

I attended a conference so it was pretty much the corporate grind between my room and the conference rooms on the lower level.

The room was nice. The lobby/bar area was nice. The conference rooms were nice.

Only one complaint: There were 4 elevators in a hotel that's only 8 or 10 floors -- yet there were some pretty significant waits. For no apparent reason. Get a room on a low floor!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JHMPLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Hi JHMPLS,
Thank you for your candid feedback. I would be frustrated if I had a meeting to go to and had long waits for the elevator. I apologize for this inconvenience. I reached out to our Director of Engineering to ensure that our elevators are in working condition. We did have one of our elevators out of service this past week, however he verified that this issue has been resolved. Thank you again for staying with us. I hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2013

The Renaissance Hotel @ Dupont Circle is clean and well run; the service was well done. The rooms were of moderate size, not large for the US, but comfortable. Some of the decoration appears a little dated (carpeting designs). The workout facility was clean and well appointed: bikes, treadmills, good selection of free weights, a good weight machine and mats for situps or floor work. The location is convenient to both the key tourist sights as well as Georgetown.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSHMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi DSHMinneapolis,
Thanks for the great review! I'm glad you enjoyed your stay at the hotel. Thank you for the feedback regarding the decoration and carpeting. If there are specific areas of the hotel that you felt needed attention please let me know. Thanks again, come back to see us when you come back to DC!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

Lobby, halls and rooms were all very clean, only downside was rooms are a little tight fit. Close walk to the metro (5-7 blocks) and a nice walk to get to Vietnam/Lincoln memorial areas (20 minutes). Beds were very nice, not to hard or soft. Lots of places to eat around the area ranging from McDonalds to upscale places all in walking distance.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirk M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Hi Kirk M,
Thanks for the great review! Clean rooms is what we are all about. We are a boutique style hotel, and our rooms do tend to run a bit smaller. However, we do have a number of different room types and sizes. Next time you come, feel free to request one of our larger rooms at the reception desk and we will try our best to accomodate you. Take care.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#106 of 141 in Washington DC
84 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,253 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
The Ritz-Carlton, Washington, DC
#13 of 141 in Washington DC
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing