We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, Accommodating staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #88 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We just returned from a four-night stay at this hotel. It's a good location to get to Georgetown walking and not too far by cab to Capitol Hill, the White House, Embassy Row, the monuments, National Cathedral and other sights of D.C. I can't say enough about the staff -- very professional, yet super friendly and accommodating. Everyone from housekeeping to the manager were absolutely wonderful. Rooms were clean and well maintained, although not very big - definitely adequate. The service of this hotel is unmatched by much more expensive hotels. I would definitely recommend it!

Room Tip: Ask for quiet corner
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi winrock,
Thank you for taking the time to review us. Clean rooms and friendly, genuine service is what we are all about! Come see us again next time you are in DC.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,170)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

716 - 722 of 1,170 reviews

Reviewed April 12, 2013

This felt like a boutique hotel because the staff was so friendly and so helpful. We had an HVAC problem, but they worked diligently to address it. AND, when I left a critical item in the room, they shipped it to me free of charge! I felt like they knew I was frantic ( it was part of my laptop), and they worked until they found it. We would definitely stay again-- and will! Cc

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank Claudia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi Claudia C,
Thanks for the great review! I'm so happy we were able to turn some potential problems into Wins. I look forward to having you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights in mid March whilst on a business trip. The rooms are very small so don't attempt to swing any felines in here. The hotel is clean and tidy but just make sure you're prepared to tip the staff at breakfast otherwise you'll be confronted with dumb-founded stares. I didn't tip as I couldn't see why they deserved a tip for pouring a coffee from a percolator! The location central with good access to all the sights and shopping. Got a good rate so all in all value for me I reckon.

Room Tip: The hotel was formerly a hospital, so make sure you ask to see the floor plan at check-in and choose...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kleopapas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 21, 2013

Hi kleopapas,
I'm happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We are a boutique hotel with clean, modern, cozy rooms that do tend to run on the smaller side. As for the restaurant feedback, we will share this with the Food and Beverage staff. Thank you for your candid feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel offers great customer service. Employees worked hard to ensure our stay was perfect/ comfortable. It's in the perfect location for shopping, dining and entertainment. Our only complain was paying an additional $6.30 parking tax per day in addition to paying $35 per day for parking. The additional fee was not disclosed till checkout. Parking cost is excessive....this does not include tips paid to the valets for parking/retrieving the car.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dxwcarty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi dxwcarty,
Thank you for staying with us. I am glad to see that we took care of you during your stay. Friendly, accomodating service is how we separate ourselves from the other great hotels in Washington. As far as the parking fees are concerned, we are competitive with the other hotels in the area. I will be reviewing this feedback with our team so that guests are notified up front what the valet costs and taxes are. Thank you for this helpful feedack.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Renaissance Dupont Circle is the best kept hotel secret in DC. It is in a great location, within short walks of Georgetown, Dupont Circle and George Washington University and also provides easy access to public transportation. The staff at the hotel is friendly, attentive and among the best I have ever experienced.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wandrews1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi wandrews1,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I will make sure to share this great feedback with the team so we can continue to be the "best kept secret in DC!" Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

This hotel is in the heart of Washington D.C, and is very comfortable. The rooms are clean and spacious and the service is OK. Breakfast is not included. Walk distance of the most important monuments and museums of the city.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elvira R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi Elvira R,
I was happy to see that you enjoyed your stay with us. Good service and clean rooms is what we are all about! Thank you for your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2013

I had an overnight stay at this hotel for business. A higher quality Marriott property centrally located. Only a short walk from Foggy Bottom Metro stop, this is definitely more of a boutique style hotel with smaller, but well-appointed rooms. I arrived well before check in, but they front desk was able to find me a room just the same. The bed was firm, but comfortable. Sheets could have used a few more thread counts for this level hotel, but still soft enough. The bathroom was small, but the vanity was appropriately sized and it was easy to move around. The shower was great with excellent water pressure and plenty of hot water. Towels were like the sheets, could have been a bit softer, but still very good. I used room service, which said it would take 25 minutes and they were spot on. Try the braised beef rib quesadillas. Yum!! The television had more than average number of channels including a couple of HBO’s and all of the ESPN’s. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Concierge was very knowledgeable. The lobby/bar had nice seating for relaxing after walking around town. I wish I had been staying longer to enjoy the property more, but I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Has2bJustRight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2013

Hi Has2bJustRight,
It sounds like we were just right! Thank you for the feedback. We would love to have you back soon. The quesadillas will be here waiting for you. Take care

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Washington Marriott Georgetown
Washington Marriott Georgetown
#99 of 141 in Washington DC
151 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#22 of 141 in Washington DC
3,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hilton Garden Inn Washington DC / Georgetown Area
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#40 of 141 in Washington DC
706 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Address: 1143 New Hampshire Avenue NW, Washington DC, DC 20037
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#41 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $101 - $386 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of the 355 rooms and suites at our hotel in Washington, DC are stylishly designed and boast luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of Dupont Circle and DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay including the National Mall, White House and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing