We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not up to a marriott standard”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #75 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Not up to a marriott standard”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Poor experience with Marriott hotels.
The only 3good things about this place are an associate called Jamie on F/o, concierge and Location.
Before booking i checked with the hotel wether there was a non charge parking for their building, it was confirmed positivaly that was why i went with my car.

While arriving, i was welcomed by an orginally eastern european associate who seemed to be the one in charge of the valet department who had a very unhospital personality.

Check in process was fast and friendly by Jamie, bags delivered to the room shortly by a nice associate too however they should be carfule banging the walls and furniture of the place that looked newly refurbished.

In the lobby cafe, there was no waiter for 20 minutes, later they delivered stained menus and we had to go to the bar area to ask them send someone for th order.

Order was taken, after a minutes a man with a suit came to reconfirm the order, and 2min later
the same order taker came again to reconfirm a third time.

After finishing our meal, i explained to Jamie how my first couple hours have been and how unhappy we were, she recovered accordingly and made the begining of the stay better.

My friend joined the next day and booked another room for one night. We grabbed our coffees from illy and ordered to desserts from the waitress how came and apologized several times for the delay, after 30 min the order was wrong and offered complimentary.

On theC/O, my friend's wife did not have a valet card for her car as she claimed not to be given one initially, we asked for the car and explained that we never received a card, again the valet man stated on the top was very rude saying that this is not possible and she should find it.

Again Jamie had to jump in and fix and aplogize. While the car arrived, the valet same unhospital person asked the lady if she paid andasked for a proof after her confirmation.

This is not how any guest should be treated in a Marriott group hotel, especially if it is an in house paying a 35 usd a day for a car to be parked.

Management of this hotel should seriously look into training and look after the guest in a more proffessional way that goes with the brand they are managing.

Big disapointment

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FoodConcepts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mike_Horowitz, Rooms Operations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel, responded to this review, February 3, 2013
Hi Food Concepts,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. I am sorry that you had such a disappointing experience. I would like to speak with you more about what happened during your stay because it sounds like we fell short on many levels despite Jamie's best efforts. Please feel free to reach out to me. We will certainly address these issues that you brought up with the team and see what we can do to make sure they are not repeated. Our goal is to provide guests' with a truly memorable experience and I would love to get that opportunity to do this for you in the future. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,092 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    361
    463
    190
    47
    31
See reviews for
226
216
66
395
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (181)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2013

This is a more upscale hotel in my opinion. The lobby is very chic/modern and I think this is a decorative trend in the DC area. The hotel is in a good location close to georgetown. I stayed one night on a business trip. Like similar four star hotels, they charge extra for internet in the room. I did greatly appreciate the Aveda products in the bathroom and the nice hair dryer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulaNJNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, MD
Level Contributor
354 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

We have stayed here a few times including overnight on this New Year's Eve. We liked the location for this night because we were going to the Kennedy Center and to dinner in Georgetown ... the hotel is convenient to both. It is also just a few minutes walk to Dupont Circle where there are numerous shops and restaurants.

The room was rather small, making the seating arrangement a bit awkward, but the rooms are nicely appointed as are all Renaissance hotels. The back of the hotel has no view but is quiet. The bathroom was also snug, but was updated and clean.

The entire staff could not have been nicer, friendlier or more helpful, making coming and going a pleasant experience.

We had a night-cap in the bar when we returned in the evening, two glasses of red wine. Don't know if it was because it was New Year's Eve or if that was their normal charge, but at a total of $28 we thought it was very expensive for rather ordinary wine.

But it was a nice stay and I would recommend to anyone wanting to be in the West End while visiting DC.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nancyen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We visited DC for just a quick overnight, and choose this hotel because it was 1/2 way between Georgetown and the Convention Center (Washington International Horse Show). The location is very convenient. The hotel was very quiet, even during a busy Halloween Saturday night. We had an early flight out, and had a hard time hailing a cab at 6am on a Sunday, but the doorman was resilient and VERY HELPFUL! Overall, a nice place to stay in a busy city.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room at the end of the hallways.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelMOMandDaughter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I spent four nights at this hotel in December with my sister. Our room was quite large and the bed was very comfortable. The hotel is located in a short walk from lovely Georgetown and attractions of the National Mile. Downtown is a bit far away but still with in a walking distance. Staff was very friendly and ready to answer all our questions.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 715 and it seemed to be bigger then other rooms a saw open on the corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bjarkithors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

Although the hotel itself does not have any wow factors, the location makes it worth considering. One block from The Ritz and a 15 minute walk from quaint Georgetown, DuPont Circle is where you'll find the glowing holiday lights, great variety in restaurants and near all forms of transportation.

I recommend staying on the executive level to gain access to the lounge to nosh on a few things and get water, juice, tea and coffee which would normally cost $7-12 downstairs at the bar or when order room service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Worldtraveler884
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This hotel is certainly satisfactory. The staff were friendly and the rooms were adequate for a two night stay. I found the location I little distant from the centre of town. DC dies off in this end of town after dark so it was very quiet walking the streets at night....not altogether pleasant. Overall, the hotel was good enough although after getting the feel of DC I would stay somewhere closer to the action if I was to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
2,919 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/George...
#10 of 140 in Washington DC
424 reviews
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Madera
Kimpton Hotel Madera
#55 of 140 in Washington DC
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#36 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing