We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and convenient” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Ranked #68 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
56 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and convenient”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

We picked this hotel because of its proximity to DuPont Circle for a two night stay. Despite its name it is a few blocks away but the neighbourhood is lovely. The staff are very professional and helpful. Our room was spacious and quiet. The hotel seemed much more personal thn it's size would suggest.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kildonan63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,082 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    360
    459
    188
    45
    30
See reviews for
220
216
65
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

I took my ladyfriend on a romantic trip to DC over the holiday weekend and was not dissapointed. I was able to get a great rate through the hotel website and due to my Marriot Gold level I was able to check in early, upgrade to one of the largest king rooms, have access to free wireless in room in addition to access to the club lounge. Front staff was very helpful in every way.

Room Tip: Arrive early and do not hesitate to ask for an upgrade. Rooms in the back have zero view yet are som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank yanks5102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
charlottesville
Level Contributor
114 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel is convenient to George Washington University and a short walk to DuPont Circle. The staff is friendly and efficient. Yes, the sleeping area was small but it was actually more convenient to have the TV, desk, and bed in close proximity. In contrast, there was a large glass-box tiled shower and plenty of counter space in the lavatory. For one person, the room was fine. My main complaint is that even the premium internet service yielded a weak signal and was not accessible in the conference meeting rooms (where you needed a conference password). The breakfast buffet was pretty standard, but cost $25.10 with taxes. There is only valet parking and it is $41.30 a day with taxes. Finding this place on mapquest or google maps is tricky, as there are several DC hotels with Renaissance in their name and this one is on New Hampshire south of DuPont circle.

Room Tip: Front rooms on busy street, back rooms no view but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cvillediner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
311 reviews
167 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

The Renaissance DuPont Circle is an older property that has been relatively well maintained. The decor and atmosphere is more hip/trendy than another nearby Renaissance (which is classier and more upscale). My upgraded room was still relatively small and the work space cramped and somewhat uncomfortable. The window was small, which made the room relatively dark. This hotel would be extremely convenient for those needing to be close to the George Washington University (a GW dorm is next door) or the Foggy Bottom area in general. It is not too far from Georgetown either. It is not convenient to most of the traditional tourist sites in DC. Although a Metro stop theoretically is within walking distance, it is quite a few blocks away. The immediate vicinity of the hotel is largely commercial and not all that scenic. I may use this as a backup hotel when I am in DC, but it would not be my first choice (or even my first choice for a Renaissance hotel).

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wedgewood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 10, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights with our teenage daughters and found the rooms too small. Double beds shouldn't figure at hotels anymore. No one has them at home - they should be queen beds. No free wi-fi in the hotel rooms but it was free in the lobby. The staff were extremely helpful as my daughter had trouble connecting her phone to the free lobby wi-fi and they went out of their way to get her connected. The lobby bar is nice but the bar staff have no idea about wines or spirits. They offered my husband campari when he asked what sort of Brandy they have. Totally lacking in knowledge. They breakfast reasonable and the staff helpful and efficient. The hotel is in a good location and isn't far to the subway or hop on hop off bus stop. The view from the hotel is boring and it is quite noisy during the day but we weren't there much so it didn't affect us too much. Don't think I'd stay there again just because the rooms were too small.

Room Tip: Ask for a quite large room on the high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlisonJacko63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
133 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

This hotel has a lot of shortcomings, and its only saving grace is the smiling and helpful staff. First night was a disaster when our room was above the loading dock, and at 4am the trash pick up began, then the laundry truck at 430am, then the food truck at 5am, and so on. I requested a quiet room, no such luck, and just 4 hours sleep, bummed out. Next day moved me to high floor and rear of hotel, when we went to get out belongings, the entire hallway was being redecorated and they were tearing off the wall coverings and had drop cloths. The new rooms on the rear, are even smaller rooms, though peaceful, I thought at least, I came back to hotel to nap at 1pm, and the maids slammed doors in and out of rooms by the minute, I finally had to tell them leave doors a ajar while cleaning like most hotels, and not go in out a room 20 times to clean it, they were unaware of the noise they created. The second night we got a good nights sleep though. They also gave us free internet for the previous nights debacle. The first room also had many housekeeping issues, the window glass was filthy on the inside, streaks and rip marks of who knows what, dusty furniture and the carpet needed a good vacuum. The second room things seemed in order. Though I got a great rate thru Priceline, there is no value in s sloppy run hotel to me. This is hardly worthy of a Marriott IMO. The location is also on a street and corner that is ripped up and down to one lane, though the nightlife and trains are a few blocks walk, the location is great.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank solohobo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Check-in was efficient, but it was a good thing we had the confirmation number as our name wasn't to be found in the system. Nothing says "welcome" like not kmowing who you are and why you're at the check- desk. Front desk staff was pleasant without being warm.

Our room was tiny, but well laid out with nice furnishings in reasonably good condition. The view through the one small window was of an air shaft. For three nights.

The amenities were rudimentary and included Aveda bath products.

There were no extra towels in the bathroom nor pillows for the bed.

Wifi access was not included in the room rate.

DuPont Circle is further away than you would think, although the location is okay.

I would not stay in this hotel again nor would I recommend it to others

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank drsampson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
The Dupont Circle
#35 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,850 reviews
Upper Northwest
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Westin Georgetown, Washington D.C.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hyatt Place Washington DC/Georgetown/West End
Dupont Circle
Kimpton Hotel Palomar Washington DC
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Address: 1143 New Hampshire Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-1522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End , Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#79 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern, relaxed elegance awaits you at the Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel. We welcome guests with thoughtful amenities and a prime location near some of the city's most popular landmarks. All of our 355 hotel rooms and suites are stylishly designed and boast goose-down bedding and luxurious Aveda bathroom products. Stay connected with in-room Internet access and Marriott's innovative Plug-In technology panels, or unplug in front of your flat-screen TV. M Brasserie, our signature hotel restaurant, serves fresh and flavorful American fare; M Bar is the perfect spot for a drink after a day spent exploring Dupont Circle. Planning a meeting or event in Washington, DC? Our innovative and flexible event space allows us to specialize in small meetings and ensure we cater to your unique needs. And be sure to ask our hotel Navigator for a few insider tips to help you experience the best of DC, the way locals do. Discover something new and exciting with every stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
m Street Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing