We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The River Inn
Nearby Hotels
Omni Shoreham Hotel(Washington DC)
$188
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Capitol Hill Hotel(Washington DC)
$328
$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
The Dupont Circle(Washington DC)
$479
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$220
$194
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$293
$280
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$238
$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Washington Court Hotel(Washington DC)
$389
$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown(Washington DC)
$428
$335
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$351
$314
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$502
Hotelpower.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,913)
Filter reviews
1,913 results
Traveler rating
1,176
575
102
38
22
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,176
575
102
38
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfoggy bottomwhole foodskennedy centergrinderdish restaurantsmall kitchencoffee beanstrader joesfull kitchenlincoln memorialresidential streetwatergate complextree lined streetquiet neighborhoodtwo blockswithin walking distanceseparate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
1,539 - 1,544 of 1,913 reviews
Reviewed August 10, 2010

For value for money, this hotel is hard to beat. Our double had a huge comfortable bed, free wireless internet, and a useful kitchenette. There was also a spacious bathroom and dressing area, and lots of space. Absolutely no complaints about the room and much to admire.

Hotel staff were efficient and helpful throughout our short stay.

The location in Foggy Bottom was ideal to enable us to walk down Pennsylvania Avenue to the centre of town to see the sites, or to stroll along the course of the river to upmarket Georgetown. The hotel also offers free bikes to enable guests to go on cycle tours, which is a terrific extra. I wish we had had more time to take advantage of this.

The hotel is situated in the University area, surrounded by chic, elegant town-houses on tree-lined avenues, I'd recommend a walk round the University buildings in the summer evenings.

We would have stayed longer if we could. I'd recommend the River Inn to anyone visiting Washington DC for business or pleasure.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dsmale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2010

Thank you for your great review. It's great to hear that you found the suites and the staff accomodating. It is even better that you took advantage of our complimentary bike rental. There is nothing like a bike ride on the National Mall. Foggy bottom is a chic neighborhood and we hope you had a chance to see the ongoing exhibit of art in the nieghborhood as well. Come back and see us the next time you are in town!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2010

I was travelling with my 10 year old daughter, on a trip down the East coast of America and spent ages on searching for a good hotel in DC, I am pleased to say that I found this hotel excellent. The staff were very welcoming and when my daughter lost her teddy bear, as it had been picked up with the change of bed linen, the Head of Housekeeping got on to it straight away and it was promptly returned.

The facilities in the room are good, with everything youi could need for a holiday, the rooms are spotlessly cleaned each day. There is a small business suite but there is wifi in the rooms if required.

I found the hotel to be in a quiet street but within walking distance to a Trader Joes, a metro stop (Foggy Bottom) and very close to Georgetown. We never tried the hotel restaurant but mainly because we just grapped something light after a log day exploring DC.

I thoroughly enjoyed DC and would recommend this hotel to all, I hope to return back to DC and I would stay at this hotel again without any hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Hello there:

We want to thank you for your positive feedback. It is always fulfilling to hear such great comments from guests. Having been a child not too long ago, I always understood the importance of having of embracing a teddy bear and we are happy to have found him safe and sound. It looks like our location suited you perfectly. We hope to have you back at our property the next time you are in the States. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2010

Nice staff, great location to explore D.C. and Arlington by foot or bike (which is complimentary), large rooms with kitchen at good rate - loved it!

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ibert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2010

Thank you for your kind review!!! We assume you took that great bike ride on the National mall. Come back and see us again next time you are in town. Greetings to Sverige!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2010

The River Inn is very conveniently located with one of the best prices for the location. The staff were all very friendly and eager to help. It is just a short walk to the Metro. People just walk everywhere in DC. We started our vacation there by walking to the Lincoln Memorial and saw all of the sights at the Western end of the Mall and walked back. The kitchen was great for a quick (cheap) breakfast. There is a boutique grocery store up the street, but my advise is to bring food and plastic cups, plates, plasticwear (especially if you are traveling with more than two people) with you. Stop at a WalMart before you enter DC because everything is VERY expensive there. We loved the decor of the room. The bathroom was really nice and clean too.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2010

Hello there and thank you for your positive feedback. When we read comment like "staff is very friendly and eager to please" it really makes us happy and gives a feeling of accomplishment. We absolutely agree that walking is the way to go in DC. We are glad to hear you took advantage of our kitchen facilities and the bathroom was to your liking. Please come back and see us the next time you are in town and ready for some more walking!! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2010

The accommodations were great, but the best part was feeling like we were part of the neighborhood. We had a large, king suite, it was almost bigger than the first house we owned. I loved the view from our room and the beds were very comfy. Great A/C on the two muggy days while we were there. My only criticism would be the lack of electrical outlets in the hallway vanity area and kitchen. And if you are going to provide Starbucks coffee beans and a grinder, then why have the tiny four cup coffee maker? If you stay here, don't rent a car - everything is convenient. I highly recommend visiting Trader Joe's as soon as you arrive. After a day of walking on the Capital Mall, it was so nice to go back to the room, collapse, and fix something light. The restaurant owner/manager is very friendly and the salmon was delicious. We were in NY last year and were pleasantly surprised by the inexpensive prices for meals in DC. The metro is a short block or so from the hotel and very easy to figure out. We are from a rural area and unfamiliar with mass transit - so two words of advice 1. stay to the right on the escalators if you are going to stand still and 2. the train doors are not like elevator doors, you can't hold them open if they start to close (you could actually put the train out of service and have a car full of enemies). We are totally out of shape, but borrowed the hotel's bikes and went to Arlington and Georgetown - except for one hill in Georgetown, the whole area is relatively flat and easy to bike around. I would definitely stay at the River Inn again

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kittyparade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fom_tri, Front Office Manager at The River Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2010

Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious suite and being part of the neighborhood is a great feeling. We will certainly forward these comments over to the pertinent staff regarding the outlets and the coffee makers. I absolutely agree with your comments regarding metro. The traffic pattern on the left hand side is extremely aggressive and the quantity of people holding doors open is immense. More signage should be available at the metro stations. Let's hope they figure that out. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again soon!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews