We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #16 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed January 4, 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice and clean on the sixth floor. The hotel is located in a quiet neighbourhood very close to the Foggy Bottom Metro Station. The breakfast was excellent (Continental Buffet). The staff was very nice, too.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank SchowiidrideFerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Hello SchowiidrideFerie!

Thank you so much for sharing your experience with us at The River Inn! I am so happy to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one! We really are located in an ideal location; so close to dining shopping and transportation. I will certainly share with the team that your stay was a great one and they assisted in making it so. See you on your next visit and make sure to try our restaurant, Dish, for dinner! If you enjoyed breakfast, the dinner menu is sure to please!

All the best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,685 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    999
    532
    96
    37
    21
See reviews for
585
488
85
307
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (308)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a wonderful time at The River Inn!!!! The accomodations were very nice and the staff was incredible! Great suggestions for meals and sights to see with our 12 yr old! Will definitely be back! The front desk staff provided great information and helpful tips to save us searching for information on our own. Thank you Brianna and her counterparts on all the shifts for their help in finding places to eat, and even when to go get cupcakes! Great location close to the Metro and fairly easy walk to Gerogetown. Would highly recommend this property!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Auditkat69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Greetings Auditkat69!

Thank you so much for spending your New Year’s get away with us at the River Inn! How wonderful to spend such a special time with us! I am so thrilled that our team was able to make such great suggestions for dining and sight-seeing! Briana will be absolutely delighted to learn that she was able to make such a positive impact on your stay with us! We all know our cupcakes well at the River Inn so I am glad to see our suggestion was a fantastic one! Thank you once again and we look forward to hosting you in the near future!

Warm regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

stayed twice for my interviews. location is a huge plus. room is large with kitchenette, staff is friendly, though gym is kind of small. maybe the nice memory here affected my decision to accept the offer.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwusc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello gwusc!

First things first, congratulations to you! Thank you so much for spending time with us and sharing your experience with the TA community! Our whole team thrives on creating pleasant and memorable stays; I cannot wait to share your experience with them. All the best to you and please keep us in mind when your travels bring you back to DC.

Warm regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
State College, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 147 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

This is a nicely located hotel, sort of in-between Georgetown and the Lincoln Memorial in the quaint historic area of Foggy Bottom. The building is not a historic monument and the rooms are a bit noisy and one can hear a distant roaring of the freeway because of the old windows but the noise was not terrible, something that one can expect in the city.
Our room was spacious and we had a kitchen equipped with refrigerator and a gas stove, among the usual things. The hotel provided tea and coffee and the nearby Trade Joe's can offer a variety of things for breakfast or dinner, if you wish. The bathroom was nice. We stayed for two nights, the staff is courteous and professional: it took me only once to explain what I need and they never asked me to repeat, much less looked puzzled, but rather engaged right away. The atmosphere is very welcoming.
Parking is a regular caveat. it is $40 per day and is not included in the price of the room. We used Penguin Parking, an online search engine and found parking for $14 per day within 20 minutes of walk (no in and out privileges, but it was $52 and not $120.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dmitri K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Hello DmitriPortland_OR!

Thank you so much for spending time with us at the River Inn! I am so pleased that our team was happy to assist with all of your inquiries and that pour location was so conducive to your stay. It is great to see that our spacious guest suite made your stay comfortable as well. Our focus is to create a true home away from home feeling and I am elated to see that our team was able to create a welcoming atmosphere for you. Thank you so much for the kind words and we look forward to your return!

All the best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2013

great hotel! we loved the room and also loved the suites. front desk was extremely nice and accommodating. location is safe and close for walking to many things. also, metro a short walk away. i would highly recommend this property.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canoehag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello canoehag!

Thank you so much for spending time with us at the River Inn! So wonderful to see that your stay with us was a pleasant one and that our suites were so accommodating! Being so close to the metro, restaurant and shopping, we are also huge fans of our completely ideal location! Thank you for sharing and we hope to host you again in the near future!

All the best,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I stayed at The River Inn in Foggy Bottom for a few days, as on a holiday in Washington. It is super close to the FB Metro station, a Whole Foods and near to the GWU campus.

I cannot praise this hotel enough. From the moment that you enter the foyer - super friendly (and they are genuinely friendly) staff greet you and make your stay as easy as possible. Will and Brianna on the front desk were brilliant.
The rooms are huge - mine had a living room, kitchen and dressing area in front of the bathroom and there are all the facilities that you need (hairdryer, free wi-fi, large tv, fridge, fresh coffee maker etc). Housekeeping came everyday and the place was spotless.
Room service was quick and of a nice standard.
It is in a lovely, quaint, quiet location that is a 10 min walk to get onto the top end of Pennsylvania Ave or 20 mins walk into Georgetown.

When I return to DC - I will 100% stay back at The River Inn.

J.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Greetings jen m!

Thank you so much for the incredibly kind words regarding your stay with us at the River Inn! Our whole team thrives on creating fantastic and memorable says for our guests! Mission accomplished! Both Will and Briana will be so delighted that they were able to create such a positive impact on your stay. Thank you once again and please know we are now your home away from home when your travels bring you to DC!

Warm regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clarksville, Maryland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2013

Just an overnight stay after a company Christmas party and we didn't want to drive an hour home when possibly not completely sober. We took ans executive suite, which had been a one-bedroom apartment in the original incarnation of the bldg, It had a huge living room with a wall of glass that allowed us to see the Potomac river when it wasn't raining. One end was a dining area, which next to full and fully equipped kitchen . Very nice modernized bath, Very large bed room with a huge foam king sized bed; it was so high of the floor that I had to take a little run-up to get in. Extremely comfortable with extra pillows and linens so you can adjust to you own liking. Plentiful closet/storage space. All lighting fixture has extra plus to operate or charge your digital devices, Quiet, very pleasant and efficient housing staff, front-office people very professional, efficient and helpful. Only had one meat (breakfast), but the simple American breakfast was deliscious.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ken S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ModusHotels, General Manager at The River Inn, responded to this review, December 26, 2013
Hello Ken S!

Thank you so much for staying with us at the River Inn! It is wonderful to see that we were able to make your stay with us a comfortable and pleasant one! Our guest rooms really are amazing. Many have expansive views of DC or the Potomac and all are incredibly spacious. Those combined really create the home away from home feeling we want all of our guests to enjoy. Glad you enjoyed breakfast in our restaurant, Dish, as well. Please make sure to try Dish in the evening on your next visit. The seasonal fare offered is phenomenal! Take care and we will see you soon!

Warm regards,

Lee
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
1,486 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Hotel Hive
Hotel Hive
#2 of 141 in Washington DC
385 reviews
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
University Inn Washington DC
University Inn Washington DC
#58 of 141 in Washington DC
1,390 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
The Watergate Hotel Georgetown
#7 of 141 in Washington DC
343 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing