We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Will be my new home away from home” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The River Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The River Inn
Ranked #10 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
263 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Will be my new home away from home”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Our family stayed here during our GWU school visit. I have stayed at the GWU Inn also in the past, and this place is on par with that property, but a little less expensive. The location is steps from the Foggy Bottom Metro stop, and to the entire GWU campus, the Nation Mall, White House, Georgetown and other west side DC attractions. the room was large, two beds and a fold out couch, a full kitchen and living room. The only problem I had was the bath, which was small and not very modern. Check your bill , as there was a restaurant charge on mine that I did not make, but it was quickly taken care of. That being said, as my son has decided to go to GWU, this is where I will be staying for the next 4 years. I hope they have a frequent visitor program!!!

Room Tip: One elevator was out when we were there, so if it is again, choose a lower floor as you will be usin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromAway67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
Thank you for your kind review! We have recently refreshed our guest rooms, so I am glad to hear that the accommodations were to your liking. As for our “frequent visitors program,” we here at The River Inn reward repeat visits of our own accord, no need to fill out any additional information. Thank you for choosing The River Inn, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    823
    474
    82
    34
    18
See reviews for
489
429
74
252
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hamme, Belgium
Level Contributor
235 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

I stayed in DC several times, but this was my first stay at the River Inn, and it was very satisfactory. Considering the quality of the accommodation the price level is moderate. I just had some trouble with the gas stove (not used to it) and I wondered if this is safe.
Location is very good. I like to walk and I walked all the way down to the White House (roughly 30’) and to Georgetown (about 15’). Metro Foggy Bottom is at 5’. I can recommend the Whole Food store (next to the metro station) with a wide range of organic products. With their much extended buffet, It is also a good alternative for breakfast our lunch.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geert-Hilde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
We here at the River Inn are very fortunate to be in such a prime location, we are just steps away from the Foggy Bottom Metro, and are located a midst many great shopping and dining options. I am glad the quality and price of our accommodations were to your liking. Additionally, I am so glad to hear that you took advantage of our on-site restaurant Dish + Drinks! Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and I hope that the next time you return to DC we will see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orlando florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

Went to DC for a visit to GWU. This hotel is an excellent choice. Convenient to the school, about 3 blocks from the metro. Customer service was excellent from the time of booking through checkout. Room was big (looks like former apt bldg): bedroom, large living area, dining area, narrowl separate kitchen. Bathroom was small, but there is a counter space outside of bathroom. Plenty of hot water. Clean, appearance as relatively new, kitchen had nice size refrigerator, two burner stove, plates, etc. Plenty of room for a family of four. Free wifi in the rooms. In the middle of the block of a tree lined street providing for quiet rooms. Will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank searchinggreatfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you for your great review! Many GWU students and family members stay at The River Inn because of its close proximity to the school and our staff’s thorough knowledge of the area. You’re right; the building was originally an apartment complex, which makes the addition of separate bedrooms and kitchens very unique to our property. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed these accommodations. We hope to see you at The River Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The staff are all super friendly. Everyone says hello, offers great advice and were so nice. We stayed here three nights. Your a short walk (2 blocks) to the metro and The Mall and all the sights are not far off. The rooms are spacy, they have a kitchenette.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markbgriffith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
I’m so happy to hear you found our staff helpful; our service is what makes The River Inn exceptional. I’m also glad you had a great three night stay and that everything you needed was close by. We thank you for your review, and we hope to see you at The River Inn again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Loved this hotel. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. The rooms were clean and newly remodeled. Really liked having a refrigerator in the room. The Metro was close, Kennedy Center was a quick walk, and we loved seeing all of the co-eds from GW University. Will definitely stay here again. Would love to see it in the fall when the leaves are changing. Nice area.

Room Tip: I requested an upper floor room which was given to us, but we gave it up in order to stay next to ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pittspitts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your wonderful review! I’m glad to hear that you found our staff members attitudes to be welcoming and helpful; making your stay even more enjoyable. Everyone’s talking about the newly refreshed rooms that have beautiful kitchens. This time of year the local scenery is so gorgeous making Foggy Bottom a hidden gem in every way: very accessible to many great venues without the noise of the city, beautiful views, and flowers blooming. We look forward to seeing you at the Inn again, and next time you really will be a local!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed here 3 nights and I did not like it. From the outside, the hotel looks very cute with the lights however I found the walking way to Wholefoods very dark and empty in the night. The room was spacious but not cleverly organised. The toilet was small but there was a long hallway to the toilet so unnecessary, there was not a mini fridge inside so weird. And there was also a bunk in a mini section of the room, very claustrophobic and unnecessary again. When we got to the room, it was very very cold, and then we switched on AC, it got heated gradually, but it was noisy. There was an electrical leakage in every outlet and switches and we got the shock every time until we decided to touch them with a towel. The bed was so small for 2 ppl and again there was enough space that is not used in the room. Of course tv did not work, there was the sound only. the woman at the reception was very kind and gave us the directions about the place we wanted to go. I would not go back, it did not worth $ 224 a day! Try One washington Circle!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ozlemitu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for your Review. I am sorry to hear that you did not have an enjoyable stay and prefer our sister property (One Washington Circle) instead. Your feedback is important to us and the concerns you raised will definitely be addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Great experience at the River Inn! Kacem, Will and all of the front desk personel were very accomodating. Quiet, lovely neighborhood with a short walk to the Foggy Bottom metro. Highly recommend!! Great find!! The one and only problem was sketchy internet on higher floors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kacem O, Front Desk Supervisor at The River Inn, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
Thank you so much for your review! I am glad to hear that our front desk agents were able to facilitate a good experience and that you enjoyed the conveniences of the Foggy Bottom neighborhood. It really is a quiet gem in the middle of the District. I am sorry to hear you had some intermittent Wi-Fi issues which we are currently looking into, and hopefully next time you will find it more accommodating. Once again thank you for your review and we hope to see you at The River Inn soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Avenue Suites Georgetown
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,271 reviews
Dupont Circle
Hampton Inn Washington, D.C./White House
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Fairmont Washington, D.C. Georgetown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 1,140 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#9 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,915 reviews
Upper Northwest
Embassy Suites by Hilton Chevy Chase Pavilion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Inn

Property: The River Inn
Address: 924 25th St. NW, Washington DC, DC 20037-2152
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#9 Best Value Hotel in Washington DC
#14 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#15 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The River Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 126
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The River Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The River Hotel Washington Dc
River Hotel Washington Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing