We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #79 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Beaumont, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Convenient location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

The hotel is conveniently located to downtown, easy walking distance to metro and many restaurants. The staff was friendly and helpful providing excellent service. Rooms are clean and comfortable. Pickup by several local tour companies at hotel also made it convenient.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slmatt1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear slmatt1010,

Thank you for writing a review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel. I’m glad you were able to have a wonderful experience, from our location to our great staff.
We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    528
    544
    182
    41
    37
See reviews for
204
167
48
739
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (329)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great downtown location fir business in the area. The room was very comfortable. The only reason I did not give this five stars was that the Club Lounge breakfast was picked over at 7:15 AM and not refreshed for quite some time.

Room Tip: Nice view from the 12th floor on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Bill A,

Thank you for writing a review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel. I’m glad you were able to have a wonderful experience, from our location to our great staff.

I certainly understand the frustration of visiting our Club Lounge at 7:15am and not have the food you desire for breakfast. I do apologize that this was one area of the hotel you did not believe to be excellent. I will certainly work with your culinary team and staff to insure that we do a better job having great food available all morning.
Please let me know the next time you visit our hotel. We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
324 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The fact we were attending a conference whereby the rooms were discounted did not dilute the fact this is a hotel in a great location with all the bells and whistles! Free time was spent in the well apportioned gymn or walking a few blocks to fine restaurants or the mall. The Presidential Bar closed way too soon ( last call was at midnight ) for a convention hotel. Parking is not cheap ..... just like the rest of DC. We had two banquet dinners and they were some of the best we have ever experienced ..... no rubber chicken at this hotel! The rooms are well appointed and the King size beds are just that ..... King sized! WiFi was adequate (it came with the room) and even though we were told you could only get it in your room I found it throughout the hotel.

Room Tip: If you want a room with a view and still sleep at night (especially if you are a light sleeper) make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garnett h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear garnett h,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel. I’m thrilled that while you were at a convention, you were able to enjoy the local vibe of Penn Quarter and our amazing Vida Health Club.

I certainly appreciate your feedback about our banquet culinary team. I have shared your feedback with them. We do get rave reviews from the attendees that our food is amazing – I’m glad you had the same experience.
Although we are in a great location for conventions, we are also great for visiting our Nation’s Capital for a long weekend or vacation. We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
43 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

The Renaissance Washington D.C. has a very friendly, helpful staff. The food was awesome. I recommend the French Onion Soup and the buffet breakfast.
This was a nice hotel in a convenient location. The bar had TVs on showing various sporting events. The lobby had many couches that were comfortable. A plus was the Starbucks in the lobby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KimmyUNC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear KimmyUNC,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel. I go agree that our hotel is the perfect location for a weekend getaway.

I appreciate your comments about our President’s Sports Bar and our French Onion Soup. To be honest, it’s my favorite item on our extensive menu. I also recommend our Crab and Corn Chowder and our Crab Cakes!
We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

I couldn't have asked for anything better of a hotel than what Renaissance Washington had to offer. Upon our arrival we were greeted with a wonderful staff and excellent service. The hotel was clean and had a beautiful ambience. Our requests were satisfied and they made us feel as we were important to them. We had our 15 month old child with us and they made the stay an ease. They asked if there was anything we needed for our child to not hesitate to ask. When we asked for some warm milk for our daughter, they kindly and happily accommodated us. We were truly impressed and look forward on returning.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank josagu76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear josagu76,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel.

I appreciate your comments about our staff and our flexibility of accommodating guests of all ages!

We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
89 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

Rooms are nice and quite spacy. Lounge is closed on Saturday and there is no breakfast for diamond members during weekend. Location could be better. We have found that a lot of attractions / nice restaurants are around 20 -25 minutes walk. In front of hotel is big construction site. Service was average and houskeeping very early and noisy.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlenaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Marlanaba,

Thank you for writing a review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel.

I appreciate your comment that our hotel is about a 20-25 minute walk to all the sites of our Nation’s Capital. We are quite close to the metro (only two blocks away) and from there you can get to anyplace in the city. The construction site you reference is almost complete and will include over 300,000 square feet of dining, night life and retail when completed at the end of this year.

We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, NY
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

I recently returned from a three-night stay at this hotel. This was my third visit to a Renaissance Hotel, which is one of the Marriott brands. (The other locations I visited were in Atlanta and New Orleans.) I love the swanky, dramatic lobbies, modern decor, piped in music and inviting, plush seating dotting the atriums of Renaissance establishments. A great gathering space for clients and families alike. I'm equally enamored of the spacious suites and always-helpful staff. When my husband needed an umbrella during an untimely rain shower, he was able to borrow one from the front desk, which we remembered having to do while staying at the New Orleans Renaissance. I'm finding this Marriott brand to be a consistently excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FAMILYTRAVELER07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear FAMILYTRAVELER,

Thank you for writing such a wonderful review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown hotel and our Renaissance Brand

I, too, love the vibe of our lobbies and the ability to meet and greet or just find a quiet corner to read a book or catch up on emails. The lobby has something for everyone. I also encourage you to seek out our RLife LIVE events we hold each month. Local, new artists can be found performing in our hotel lobbies.

We look forward to your return in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#48 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#58 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,504 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#62 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 773 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#72 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Address: 999 9th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Cancelon, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing