We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit pricey but very accomodating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #79 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Myers, FL
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“A bit pricey but very accomodating”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Renaissance while I was in DC for a conference. I was a bit taken aback by the price, as conference rates are usually pretty good, but it wasn't completely unreasonable.

The staff was very accommodating, the room was clean and comfortable with excellent bedding and pillows. My husband ordered room service since we flew in so late, and his meal was good and not overly expensive.

Location is a quick cab ride away, and lots of good restaurants and activities within walking distance.

I would stay at the Renaissance again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 4hersheybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear 4hersheybear,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I agree that our location cannot be beat and is in the heart of everything.

I thank you for the comments regarding our ambassadors. They truly are our HEART of our amazing hotel. Our In-Room Dining ranks in the top 10% of all Renaissance hotels.

I agree that during convention season and peak Washington, DC travel season, rates can be higher than normal. I encourage you to return in the summer or winter months where our rates are a great value!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    558
    575
    193
    42
    40
See reviews for
219
176
50
782
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (345)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
OH
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

The staff is slightly better than average, not rude but not really welcoming you to the hotel. Once checked in you get a room that is clean and a decent size for the location. The area is safe although the city has a lot of homeless people that fill the streets and parks in the area; I'm happy to say we did not have a problem since the people may be homeless but are definitely not bothering anyone. The room at the hotel was quiet and you can find many places to visit within walking distance.

I suggest taking the subway to save a lot of walking, since attractions are spread out, although I don't mind walking and got to many attractions before breaking down and buying a metro ticket.

Room Tip: I requested a quiet room when making the reservation and got exactly that. If you want a quiet room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeenThereAlready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear BeenThereAlready,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I agree that we are in the heart of our Nation’s Capital and so close to metro that our entire city is at your fingertips just waiting to be discovered!

I do appreciate your feedback about our staff. I am deeply concerned that our ambassadors did not go out of their way to make you feel welcome. I have shared your feedback with our team so that they may understand the need to focus on each and every discoverer.

I do hope your travels return you to Washington, DC in the future and that you choose to stay at our hotel again so that we may showcase to you our true Renaissance service!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Savannah, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2013

This is a lovely hotel directly across from the Convention Center and a short walk wonderful Chinatown eateries. We stayed there for the inauguration and was able to avoid use of the metro to get to the swearing in. I was able to take a nap after the parade only to awaken to see our President on tv at the ball. In Cinderella style, I was able to quickly shower, dress, and run across the street and make it into the next ballroom where in 54321... I witnessed the first couple dance again. If I had not been staying so close, this would not have been possible.

This is also a hot spot for celebrities believe or not. It was great to see some notable historical people in the lobby. The staff were careful to maintain their guests privacy without making others feel like they were less than. The rooms were nicely appointed. I hate doors on small bathrooms and surprisingly, the sliding door in this one was perfect. This hotel is simple, not under or overstated, ideally located and has a huge Starbucks in the lobby.

When you are there, take a short stroll to CoCo Sala. Thank me later.

Room Tip: Corner room facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrekfusLunchDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear BrekfusLunchDin,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write about our experience during the 2013 Inauguration. As Americans, we have so much to be thankful for, and to witness democracy at its finest is truly a once in a lifetime experience.

Your story truly paints a fairytale ending as you were able to view the first couples dance at the convention center.

I hope you do not wait another four years before visiting us again!

PS: I thank you for your recommendation of Co.Co Sala – I tried it and LOVED it too!...So THANK YOU!!

Sincererly,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
248 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

Stayed here during the cherry blossom festival. It was a great stay, the room was nice and everything that should be expected at a Renaissance. I'd recommend it and stay again. Because it was the cherry blossom festival, the hotel was more expensive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear chris w,

Thank you for taking the time to write a nice review about our hotel and location.

Please come back and visit when Cherry Blossom festival is over – you will find competitive rates at a great value!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

I stayed here for 3 night for a business conference. The rooms are clean and updated but small. It would be nice if you could turn the tv so you didn't have to lay in bed and watch it.
When I checked in I wasn't pleased with my room and went back to the front desk to request another room. The front desk staff was very helpful and changed my room.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GBM23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear GBM23,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I certainly understand your frustration that you were not pleased with your first room; however, I am thrilled our team was able to find a room that suited your needs.

If your travels return you to our Nation’s Capital, please come visit us again!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean. The service was nice all around but Oliver at the desk was vey helpful with a great restaurant recommendation that was walking distance. With a convention in town, the hallway noise was a bit annoying late at night, but understandable. The even number rooms face the street, which was nice, but could hear the sirens. With the convention center basically just across the street and the Metro only three blocks away, it was an ideal location. I took a cab from the airport (about $16) but the Metro on the way back was only $2.50!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travlers_With_Kids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear Travlers_with_kids,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel.

I’m thrilled you enjoyed our rooms, hotel and our staff. I agree that Olivier is so VERY helpful!

Please come back and visit us again…and bring the kids!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2013

This is a big convention hotel. Right across from the Convention Center. The service is great. My room was fairly well appointed, but I really missed having a robe. For a hotel of this caliber I expect a bath robe in the room. I was delighted the fridge was empty, because I like to be able to store my diet cokes. All in all if you are attending a convention this is a great spot to stay.

Room Tip: Bring a robe
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Akhaustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
Dear akhaustin,

Thank you so much for the review of your recent stay at our hotel. I understand your frustration that you did not have a robe in your room. We do have robes available upon request – the next time you stay with us, please request one upon check-in and we would be delighted to accommodate your request!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#60 of 141 in Washington DC
1,631 reviews
Washington Marriott at Metro Cen...
#46 of 141 in Washington DC
976 reviews
The Henley Park Hotel
#104 of 141 in Washington DC
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott Washington, DC/Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marrio...
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
801 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Address: 999 9th St NW, Washington DC, DC 20001-4427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#38 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing