We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, clean, comfortable room only 2 block walk to convention center.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #80 of 142 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

16th floor corner room:
-lots of natural light
-overlooks museum and city views
-fan provides perfect 'white noise' effect
-Aveda products
-1875 power blow dryer
-iron and ironing board
-drip coffee with mini liquid creamers
-comfortable semi-firm bed
-fluffy warm (but not hot) down comforter
-pleasant smell when initially entered room
Lobby
-polite, professional staff
-new, modern lobby with free wifi and plenty of cute, comfortable areas to sit and relax
-Starbucks




  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tamige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Tamige,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about the Renaissance, Washington, DC Downtown Hotel.

As our hotel rooms were recently renovated, I appreciate you addressing all the new facets of our rooms! We look forward to having you return soon!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,480)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,312 - 1,318 of 1,480 reviews

Reviewed April 27, 2013

This hotel is a great location for walking to all the monuments. Just a few blocks to Ford theater and then about 5 or 6 to the mall. Not a big deal when there is so much to see along the way and the weather was great. We got a great rate on priceline (129) and were able to check in early. Based on other reviews we requested a high floor, which we got the 10th and were on the atrium (inner) side. In my opinion choose this side if possible as it was soo quiet and I really don't think there would be much of a view from the outside as the hotel is surrounded by tall buildings. I can see how a lower floor would have a lot street noise. There are lots of bars/restaurants/shops etc. around the hotel. We walked everywhere. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: There is a computer setup near the front desk so you can check in to your flight and print a boardin...
See more room tips
Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank CrackerJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear CrackerJack,

Thank you so much for taking the time to review our hotel based on your recent stay. I appreciate your feedback regarding our proximity to all there is to see in Washington, DC.

I have to be careful, though as my daughter mistook the “mall” for being “all things to shop for!” (smiles!)

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2013

I visited this hotel for business and couldn't have enjoyed my stay more. My room was large and comfortable; I loved the decor. The bedding was lush and so comfortable. The lobby has your choice of several sitting areas - all lovely and inviting. The staff went out of their way to take care of any request I had. The food was great too! I'd love to stay here again and will do so if I travel to DC in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Ann B,

Thank you so much for commenting on our hotel. I certainly do agree that our hotel rooms, beds and lobby are all very comfortable and inviting!

I’m thrilled that our staff took care of your every need and that you enjoyed our chef’s culinary delights! We look forward to your return soon!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

The hotel is in an ideal location (across from the convention center where I was for a conference), and walking distance for the cool attractions. The beds are comfy. The walls are thin, however, and the "modern" decor is not my personal favorite....BUT, the service was EXCELLENT!! Anderson at the front desk was spectacular! I got there very late, and I was so tired...but he totally took care of my travel needs and accommodations. There were some difficulties with my reservations and he fixed it without batting an eye. Thank you. I will recommend this hotel without hesitation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kirsalli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Kirsalli,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. As you mentioned, we are in a perfect location near the convention center and the sites of our Nation’s Capital.

I agree that Anderson is amazing – I’m thrilled he was able to take care of your reservation and insure you had a perfect stay here!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We checked into our room today 4/24 and Anderson was very helpful and friendly with assisting us in finding an excellent place for dinner and and sights to see around Washington at night!!! You rock Anderson! Thank you for all your help....

Room Tip: We did not use the swimming pool but I am sure it is fabulous!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebB0615
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear DebB0615,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our ambassador, Anderson. I, too, agree that Anderson rocks! I’m thrilled that he was able to help you navigate our Nation’s Capital and see everything you were interested in exploring!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

We bought this through priceline and did get a great deal, however, when we arrived we didn't get a funky room but had to take all they had left for double beds which was a handicap accessible room. We didn't mind the extra moving around room but it wasn't like the photos on the internet. They had no brochures for you to just look at as far as what to do in the city. You had to go to the "Navigation Desk" and this is where I was annoyed. As I ask a question they (two of them working the desk) kept interrupting ME to answer the phone. I patiently waited my turn and was standing in front of them. I deserved their full attention not the person who is ringing in on the phone. The man quickly handed me a tour bus brochure and then took the phone call. I stood there for another 10 minutes while he was on the phone and finally I walked away. All set with that treatment.

Room Tip: If you defintiley need two beds then don't book on priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear ChristinaR,

Thank you for your feedback about your recent stay at our hotel. I apologize that we were unable to accommodate you with a room with two double beds to your liking.

I certainly understand your frustration as our Navigators were not as friendly and helpful as you would have liked. I have shared your feedback with our Front Office Manager who will educate our Navigators on the importance of taking care of our guests at the desk first.

Please do try to visit us again soon. We would love to show you our Renaissance style and service!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

Well located and they have the basics down, clean efficient room, good bedding, shower that works, flat screen tv and Internet. And lots of accessible plugs. The staff is mostly responsive and they try hard to keep everything going in a very busy, mostly business, hotel environment. Some of the rooms face the inner courtyard, so if you want light and a view, let them know when you reserve or check in. The conference food ranged from manageable to inedible -- really a throwback. (If you are planning a conference here, be clear about your expectations for food.) The restaurant in the hotel is just okay and the little market is hardly ever open, so bring your Starbucks card and prepare to stand on line. The lobby bar is noisy, but the wine is good and it's a generous pour. You won't starve, since you will be located well within walking distance of lots of great restaurants. (When did DC food get so good!) The gym is very well equipped, but the reception desk has a sleepy guy at the helm and I had to ask for help to use of the machines that wasn't working. Summary - adequate for a quick business or sightseeing trip, but if you want anything more upscale, look elsewhere.

Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
Thank NYCJake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear NYCJake,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. I am glad that you enjoyed our location and your room while here.

I do apologize that you did not enjoy your food while attending a convention. I have reviewed your feedback with our Director of Beverage and Food and Chef and they are sharing your comments with our team. I have also shared your feedback at the Vida Health Club with their manager regarding your experience at reception.

I do hope that when you return to Washington, DC that you do give us another chance to showcase our culinary delights and service!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#62 of 142 in Washington DC
1,722 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Hampton Inn Washington, DC - Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Downtown / Chinatown
Grand Hyatt Washington
Grand Hyatt Washington
#70 of 142 in Washington DC
4,910 reviews
Penn Quarter
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington DC
Kimpton Hotel Monaco Washington ...
#83 of 142 in Washington DC
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 9th Street, Washington DC, DC 20001-4427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#37 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Family Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $112 - $1,018 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel, you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes DC exciting. Award winning restaurants, boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing