We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Accommodations, Good Location, Good Rates.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel
Ranked #84 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I went to DC for the 2013 Inauguration. I pricelined a hotel after seeing the prices. I bid $200 and was set up with the Renaissance. They were very accommodating with 2 double beds. The lobby was incredibly large and chic. I was impressed. The list price was $600 for that weekend. I would say it's a good rate at $200 year round.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Jacob L,

You were one of the lucky ones on priceline this past weekend! We are thrilled you were able to “choose” our hotel for Inauguration. Now that you have experienced the Renaissance Washington, DC hotel, I encourage you to visit Marriott.com on your future trips to DC!

We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,549)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,443 - 1,449 of 1,549 reviews

Reviewed January 22, 2013

I stayed here with family over the weekend for the inauguration. We arrived a little after 11 and the lobby was absolutely mobbed. The front desk clerk was calm and friendly, not giving any kind of impression that he might be a little stressed out about the upcoming festivities (and crowds). We were able to check in over 3 hours early. The valet service was excellent, walking us down to the car to retrieve something we forgot.

The room itself was beautiful, nice rainfall showerhead, great view of the street down below. Starbucks downstairs. I didn't go to the bar/restaurant, but the people I was with did and they said it wasn't bad. The hotel is in a great location, about a mile from the Washington Monument, Smithonian Museums, etc.

Everyone, from that first front desk clerk to everyone else we dealt with, was super nice, helpful, and friendly. When we were ready to leave, we had a little difficulty due to the road blockages after the inaugural parade. The valet ($40 for 24 hours) packed all our stuff in the car and then DROVE us to where we needed to be. How nice is that?! This is a hotel that obviously prides itself on customer service.

I would definitely stay here again - my only complaint is that there is a charge ($13) to use the WiFi in the rooms. Yes, there is free WiFi downstairs. But c'mon - it's a little ridiculous to charge for something like that.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank griff08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Griff08,

Thank you so much for your amazing review about our hotel. You are certainly correct – this past weekend was truly a hectic one with Inauguration festivities. We are thrilled that each ambassador – from valet to front desk and throughout the hotel catered to your needs. We take pride in providing individual service, even during conventions and special events!

I have passed your comments regarding our parking team to their manager. I do hope that we have the opportunity to WOW you and your family in the future!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Went there with my friend for a holiday. The hotel is ideally located and is walking distance from most of DC's attractions and is just 2 blocks off Chinatown/Metro.
The area is safe and the hotel is clean and neat. Checkin checkout is a breeze and the staff is friendly and helpful.
At request they also let us checkout late which was really helpful.

The room could do with slippers though.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yuri P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Yuri P,

Thank you for the great comments regarding our Renaissance hotel. I’m thrilled our team was able to accommodate your late check-out request. Although slippers are not standard, please do not hesitate to call our Delighted to Serve ambassadors in the future as we do have slippers available upon request!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2013

They have done a great bed remodeling the hotel. Love the room, lobby and restaurant. The new mattress was very hard. I called the front dest and was told all the mattress had been replaced, so they would be hard. I guess they will be broken in in 6 months or so. Otherwise a great hotel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Transporter104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon L, General Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 26, 2013

Dear Ross C,

Thank you for your wonderful comments about our recent renovation to our guest rooms. I certainly understand that a perfect mattress leads to a perfect night sleep and certainly apologize that our beds were too hard for you. Please do return in the future and we will add an additional mattress topper to soften the bed to your liking!

Sincerely,

Sharon Lockwood
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2018
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Anne_Bensheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenFredericks, Guest Relations Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: May 2017
Thank Pedro O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
darnellmsmith, Front Office Manager at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Eliz_TP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Mount Vernon Square
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
Marriott Marquis Washington, DC
#66 of 141 in Washington DC
1,802 reviews
Upper Northwest
Courtyard Washington Convention Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Henley Park Hotel
#100 of 141 in Washington DC
826 reviews
Mount Vernon Square
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washington DC Convention Center
Homewood Suites by Hilton Washin...
#34 of 141 in Washington DC
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel

Address: 999 Ninth Street NW, Washington DC, DC 20001
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Washington DC
#42 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#47 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#48 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $183 - $1,026 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 807
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the culture of DC while experiencing true sophistication at Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel. When you arrive at our hotel in Washington, D.C., you will feel as if you have found a hidden gem amongst everything that makes the area so exciting. Boutique shopping, CityCenterDC, Verizon Center, Spy Museum, Chinatown, National Portrait Gallery and the world-famous National Mall are all steps from our stylish hotel but will feel worlds away once you experience everything we have to offer. Our newly renovated hotel offers five dining options, including a Starbucks Cafe, a vibrant lounge, an onsite day spa and Vida fitness center. Uncover the best of DC with Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel, a luxury hotel in downtown DC that strikes the perfect balance of style and substance. Our hotel will leave you wondering how you can be so close to the Washington DC Convention Center, CityCenterDC, and Penn Quarter yet feel as if you've found your next great escape. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, HotelPower, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Washington, DC Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc Hotel
Washington Dc Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing