We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yep, The Mayflower is nice!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Yep, The Mayflower is nice!”
Reviewed October 17, 2010

My husband and I stayed here for 3-nights for our anniversary. I read other reviews and thought we'd give it a try. We were not disappointed at all. The service was great -- from the doorman to the housekeeping staff. The location was excellent -- in the midst of dining (Dupont Circle), Metro a block away, shopping (Burberry's and Filene's Basement, to name a few), National Geographic Museum (1-block away), Old Town Trolley Tours stop (1-block away).

The hotel is grandeur and charming (at the same time) and historical. Markers are noted throughout. Two suites over from our suite, a spy was captured by the FBI. I thought that was interesting. We stayed in the King Suite which was nicely appointed with a fireplace in the separate living room. The bed was very comfortable. My husband wrestles with his back and often has issues with hotel beds, but he had none here.

We ate breakfast in the hotel's restaurant once - I believe, the Cafe Promenade (?). It was a bit on the expensive side, but it was okay. We walked to Dupont Circle one morning and had breakfast at the Scion Restaurant at 2100 P St . GREAT breakfast! And, very reasonable. A fresh fruit bar is complimentary with your breakfast. My husband had a "beermosa" -- beer with orange juice -- very good! Everything we ate here was good -- can't wait to go again!

Overall, our stay at the Mayflower was excellent. The location and service are definite selling points. We'd definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DC_Chickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    848
    348
    146
    93
See reviews for
558
590
116
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2010

The Renaissance Mayflower is absolutely amazing! We were in a suite and the kids loved it! We walked directly to the White House and the subway was right outside the hotel to easy get around the city. I would recommend going in the fall to really enjoy the city and the history of our wonderful nation.

We are planning to go back next year for Labor Day weekend!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sajasmic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
130 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2010

It was a great end to a great holiday.The hotel is plush and roomy with an old colonial feel to it.The staff ran around to get our rooms ready for noon. Our room was lovely,very spacious.The beds were huge and very comfy,but we found some stained linen on the bed.There was a coffee machine provided also a hugely expensive minibarmbut handy if you needed it.The bathroom was plush , with good toiletries and towels.The concierge was so very helpful in suggesting places to eat,of which there are plenty.The breakfast is excellant but expensive at $23(£18) each.The drinks at the bar for a short and mixer about $10(£7.50).There's a bargain basement next door selling designer goods at really cheap prices.It's a 15 minute stroll to the White House.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrewsburyChefette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 4, 2010

I absolutely loved the Mayflower. It was classic and elegant. The location was fantastic! The White House was nice walk away and the area had lots of nice restaurants to visit at night. I would recommend it to anyone traveling to DC. The hotel staff were very helpful and welcoming. I can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ash_h_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2010

Before booking I read some of marginal reviews with caution.
If you can complain about the Mayflower then you have problems of your own. The Mayflower is stately, historical and friendly. The rooms are great. Very comfortable with all teh amentities. The staff was very friendly at all levels from the doorman holding the door for you, walking you to a cab with an umbrella, the great ladies cleaning the rooms. All were fantastic. If you like historic hotels with character, you won'ty go wrong with the Mayflower!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinman045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2010

This was my first trip to DC. I traveled with 9 colleagues. I LO VED this property and had an amazing room. The location was great and the service was excellent. The only problem is that the rooms were inconsisent. I booked 10 rooms for an offsite meeting that was being held at the hotel. While my room was AMAZING, there were some that were little more than dressed up jail cells. I had colleagues that had rooms that faced a brick wall. Some were tiny airless boxes. I, on the other hand, has a beautiful 1-bedroom suite with 2 flat screen tv's and a fireplace. So I think that your experience of this property depends on what kind of room you get. The interesting thing is that we paid the same rate for all 10 rooms, so I have no idea why the room quality was so varied. The food for our meeting was EXCELLENT both days and the staff could not have been more helpful. Once the space was booked the events department wasn't so great. But the people that I dealt in the hotel were top notch.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Klwoodsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
glasgow
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Stayed her for 3 nights as a stop over before flying onto Hawaii from the UK.

The location is very good with the White House only a short walk away, the Metro Line at the corner of the block (red line) and the Trolley Stop right outside the Hotel.

The rooms are large but no exceptional in any way given the reputation of the hotel, I've stayed in far more luxurious in Dubai for example. The rooms have LCD Cable TV's and Tean/Coffe making facilities. The bathrooms are reasonably well appointed.

If you have to pay for the internet in the Business Centre it is around a dollar a minute, which is ridiculous! It should be free, also the printer didn't work on the 3 occasions I tried to print important documents out.

There are a few bars nearby, go out the front of the hotel turn left then right at the traffic lights and along on the right are 2 or 3 bars, altough because it was Labour Day weekend when we were there they closed early??

We did the Old Town Trolley Tours which were very good and the ticket lasted 2 days, we also did the monuments at midnight and again it was nice to se all of Washingtons memorials lit up a night.

Woukld I stay at this hotel again, no!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iainb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,166 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing