We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Be careful of the loud night club on DeSales Street” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #60 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Huntington Woods, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Be careful of the loud night club on DeSales Street”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2007

The Hotel has some exceptional characteristics. The hotel has lots of history and ballroom area is impressive, but the hotel is very busy. However, there are lots of people constantly coming and going. If you like a quiet, boutique hotel, this is not the place for you.

Noise is a significant problem. There is a night club (I believe on DeSales Street) which plays extremely loud music on Friday and Saturday night. We were located on the 6th floor, and use a white noise machine to block out doors closing and people in the halls; yet, we were awaken at 1 a.m. and 2 a.m. Friday and Saturday night by the loud, vibrating music from the night club. I felt like we were on Spring Break in Cancun.

The Hotel was completely booked. We booked through Skoosh.com, and when we arrived to check in, we were told that the Hotel could not accommodate our request for double beds. The only room available was a king bed. This was a problem, as we have a family of 4 and apparently the District does not permit 2 roll-away beds in a room. We were told because we booked through an online travel agency, our room request was not guaranteed. (Next time, I'll book with Travelocity, where I believe you can confirm your room specifications). We were very fortunate -- after we checked in, but before our room was ready, we received a call on our cell phone from the Hotel indicating that they had a canceled reservation and a double room opened up. This was impressive customer service, despite the fact that they were originally not responsive to our needs.

The Hotel has one of the best exercise rooms I have seen -- over 10 cardio machines (all with functioning tvs), free weights, and all new weight machines. Very impressive. No wait, even when the gym was busy.

All in all, I wouldn't recommend the hotel due to the noise problem. If you stay there, request a room away from LaSalle Street (main elevators). Instead, request a room near the Senate elevators (these elevators are over the main ballroom, however, so this could be quite loud as well).

  • Liked — Location, location, location, gym, large clean rooms
  • Disliked — Noise, too busy
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank mln124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,361 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    991
    814
    329
    139
    88
See reviews for
530
555
111
825
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (407)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
65 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2007

We stayed here for 2 nights and found the hotel well below par. The hotel has an impressive exterior and a stunning lobby area but the rooms are a major let down.As mentioned in a previous review, the bathrooms were basic and toiletries dissapointing, the soundproofing is awful both from the corridor areas as well as the outside location (my room overlooked and had the noise from an air conditioning unit). The rooms are tiny and also impractical, the only place I could watch my TV was from my bed due to the doors on the TV cabinet not opening more than 90 degrees. On a better note, the location is superb and the Concierges are marvellous and very helpful.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — Everything about the rooms
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Bradrakatak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2007

We just visted DC this past weekend for a family getaway and stayed at the Mayflower. We booked our trip through Expedia which failed to provide the Mayflower with accomodations for a family of 4 and my platnum Marriott account. The hotel was full and I can tell you they did a wonderful job of correcting the problem and putting us in a corner suite on the top floor. This is a beautiful hotel with wonderful service and food. The concerige was exceptional in getting us tickets to the Spy Museum (which is always sold out) and the Holocaust Museum (which also sells out). It is within walking distance of all the sites and situated in a great safe area of DC that is chock full of great resturants. I would strongly recommend this to a family planning a DC getaway!

  • Liked — Accomodations, Proximity to Sites
  • Disliked — Resturant is pricey but excellent.
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Fletched
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ft Lauderdale
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2007

The rooms are MARGINAL at best. The bathroom is plain and has zero imagination. On Sunday the shower ran out of hot water. Someone must explain to me how a hotel runs out of hot water. The soaps, shampoos and towels are on par with any Holiday Inn Select. The entire reason for writing this post is to convey to future guests that even their large rooms are too small. I cannot image what the smaller rooms are like if our 500+ square foot room was this small. (note: 500+ sq ft my backside!) There was one dresser with three tiny drawers and a night stand that held a clock and barley the phone.

The other item someone needs to explain to me is how housekeeping NEVER changed our drinking glasses. I can understand one night, but not multiple nights. If the glasses were not cleaned, what other short cuts are they taking?

The lobby does not have any chairs and the chairs that are available are located within the lobby bar area. I don’t know about most guests, but I will not sit in a bar if I am not a paying customer of the bar. Additionally, we were surprised that the lobby barely changed its flowers to reflect it was Easter (or the height of Cherry Blossom Season).

Very few amenities. (no spa, pool or lobby gift shop)

No matter the time of year you book your stay at The Mayflower, there are many things about this hotel that will always be true. The location will always be convenient for business and pleasure travelers. The Hotel has some great history and some interesting stories.

I do not anticipate staying at this hotel again.

Stayed April 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank TimmyC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
68 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2007

This is an excellent hotel, in a great location. I think it is under
-rated on this site. It is walking distance to many shops and restuarants and Du Pont Circle. There is a metro stop on the same block. It is not as nice as a Four Seasons or Park Hyatt, so for the same money I would stay at one of those. We were able to buy our room 1/2 price on price-line. It was an enormous double, but 2nd floor and no view. The Lobby Bar was a fun place for a drink at night or coffee in the morning. The elegant Cafe serves a wonderful breakfast buffet - worth the splurge. We liked the elegant, stately feel of the hotel. We had no complaints during our 3 night stay.

  • Liked — Location, Large room
  • Disliked — Unreasonably expensive room service
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
40 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2007

I stayed here on a short business trip, found it convenient to the metro. good amenities for business travelers. It did not have the best soundproofing from the street noise but otherwise a very comfortable stay.

  • Liked — Accessiblity to transportation
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank hola_y_saludos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans LA
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Mayflower during the latter part of February and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. The renovations are complete and the place looks great. This hotel has the best lobby in DC, bar none, and it's a pleasure just to look at it. Elevator service is quick and always available. Personal service was outstanding, from the doormen to the desk clerks, to the room service waiters to the housekeepers to the bartenders. The Mayflower has lost none of its old-time charm even though its completely modernized and efficient. This remains my favorite DC hotel and one of my favorites anywhere.

  • Liked — Welcoming attitude of the staff at all hours of the day and night
  • Disliked — There was nothing to dislike.
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank tiger178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#16 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,083 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#108 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#66 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#34 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,552 reviews
Dupont Circle
The Hay-Adams
The Hay-Adams
#3 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#28 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing