We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Autograph
$186
View deal
Booking.com$186
Expedia.com$186
Priceline$186
Hotels.com$186
FindHotel$186
Travelocity$186
View all 18 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,159)
Filter reviews
3,159 results
Traveler rating
1,364
1,031
429
197
138
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
1,364
1,031
429
197
138
Show reviews that mention
All reviews marriott vacation club white house farragut north metro beautiful hotel the concierge lounge classic hotel dupont circle lobby bar location is great king bed mini fridge metro stop valet parking few blocks dc area edgar autographs
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
596 - 601 of 3,159 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

We visited the Mayflower on a family vacation and loved our stay. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. And the location was terrific. We had no complaints.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank Bob C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Dear Bob on Long Island!

It is with our sincere appreciation that you selected The Mayflower Hotel to spend your family vacation in our Nation's Capital! The hotel has been center stage for over 90 years and we are delighted that we could share our storied service with you and your family.

We do hope that you will choose The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection as your hotel choice during your next adventure to Washington, D.C.

Again, thank you for staying and for your loyalty to the brand!

Warmest regards,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2017 via mobile

We were recommended to stay here by our travel agent as it was a good position & a reasonable price.

We were not disappointed, both were true. It is also surrounded by shops, patisseries & restaurants.

The real advantage of this well established hotel is the staff. From the moment we were checked in by Kereta on reception who was very helpful & understanding, to the FOM Leley who made us feel most welcome, as if we were at home, to Frank the doorman, who always greeted us with a smile & a great laugh (similar to his namesake Frank Bruno the boxer).

I must also mention John C Montana the GM, who ensured all was up to our expectations.

Thank you all & the other members of staff whom work to ensure guests are well cared for.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank TopBan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 26, 2017

Greetings from The Mayflower Hotel Peter M!

On behalf of Mr. Montano and the staff at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, we sincerely thank you for selecting to stay with us. We do hope to be your hotel of choice during your future visits to our Nation's Capital.

It was our sincere pleasure to have you as our guest and I will be sure to pass along to the staff members your kind accolades. Thank you for your loyalty to the brand! Wishing you safe travels to your next destination!

Warmest regards,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017

I expected this to be a typical D.C. joint with no imagination and little charm, but I was pleasantly surprised. The Mayflower is beautifully decorated and quite nice. As expected for the area, you'll pay an arm and a leg to stay there, but it was a nice stay. In spite of the historic feel in the lobby, the rooms are modern and spacious. The hotel is quite near Dupont Circle, which is great if you wanted to hang out there. One huge downside was the lack of parking onsite, but I suppose for D.C., that's typical.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 509lp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Greetings L P!

Purposely-built with a social character, The Mayflower's address on Connecticut Avenue allows for us to be city center. With the White House, National Mall, business district and Georgetown in easy walking distance, The Mayflower captures the essence of Washington D.C. like no other. Thank you for your kind accolades, on behalf of the General Manager, I thank you for selecting this legendary Autograph property!

We will look forward to your next visit!

Wishing you safe travels,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile

The perfect hotel to visit due to location to monuments and White House. Access to the underground is a few yards away and surrounded by stores.
The staff is friendly. This hotel "HUGE". A quite ornate hotel which reflects wealth of the city. Our room large beautiful and clean.
We spent one night.
It was not conducive for our needs for the time period of our stay. For the price you pay for a room it you do not have coffee, tea in you room. Therefore if you desire a cup tea or coffee you have to go to the resturant in the lobby to obtain it. Keep in mind, the Hotel is a block long so if you are on the opposite end of the building you have a trek. Then once you get to the restaurant you have to validate that you are guest and not someone off the street (because we were told people have done that) to access the coffee. Also, if you try to obtain coffee in the morning, you are not allowed to have the coffee in the resturant unless you are purchasing a meal. Therefore you need to the Mezzanine (2nd) floor to consume it or walk back to your room which by that time it is warm. We will not do this for two weeks especially if working late, therefore we switch to another hotel.
But otherwise this great for a short visit.

Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Traveled on business
Thank JllesBee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 24, 2017

Dear JullesBee,

I appreciate when guests take the time to let us know about their experience. As storied as the city where it resides, and revered as a national treasure, The Mayflower captures the essence of Washington D.C. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed the historical charm of the hotel! I do however apologize that your experience was not exceptional and we do hope that you will allow us another opportunity to showcase our hospitality. We wish for all of our guests to have all of the comforts while away from home.

Thank you for selecting The Mayflower and for your loyalty to the brand.

Extending you best wishes on your travels,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017

Disclaimer: When I write reviews, I rate apples against apples and oranges against oranges.

That being said, as a Marriott Platinum Member with approximately 80 nights so far this year, I wouldn't even consider having the same rating system for hotels like this competing with Courtyards and Residence Inns, etc. They all serve a purpose of their own.

The Mayflower is in a league many others just can't play in. This is a beautiful hotel with an upscale feel, beautiful rooms, exceptional housekeeping, and bell men that treat you like royalty.

If you have status with Marriott, the lounge is very nice. Breakfast is good and the evening collation is usually good was well. However, this is DC and it seems like everyone in DC has status, so the lounge is busy...but adequately staffed. The Lounge Team pumps out the food and keeps the area immaculate, but there may be times you just won't find a place to sit immediately.

The Hotel itself is literally steps away from the DC Metro and a CVS Pharmacy (Both Convenient). While Edgar's (the house restaurant) is very good, many others are also nearby, including the always popular Morton's Steakhouse. The hotel is also walking distance to the White House and many popular attractions. Cab ride from Washington-Reagan (DCA) averages between $20 and $26, including tip, consistently. Oh, and if you ever need a cab, there's always a line of them at the cab stand out front. I've never had to wait.

Last but not least, and my favorite tidbit: This hotel's elevators are as efficient as any hotel I've been in. Literally, no lag. You get in and press your floor button and the door closes immediately. Someone gets in along the way and you hit the "close" button, and the doors close immediately. Most of the time when you walk into the lobby, there's an elevator waiting with open doors. If not, press the up button and one will be there very quickly. If you're impatient like me, it's a big plus, LOL.

I have roughly 15 nights here over the past year, and about the same number at other brands in the area (Marriott's, Hilton's and others), and this is now my hotel of choice when I'm in DC

Room tip: If you have status with Marriott, Lounge is on 8th Floor.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bizler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
suzannebutt, Guest Relations Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this reviewResponded August 22, 2017

Good Day Bizler,

By capturing the must-have experiences The Mayflower offers, and
showcasing Washington, D.C as a dynamic destination, our language inspires
people to action. We welcome our guests to experience a curated journey, new adventures, and the historical original in character of the hotel that was established in 1925. Thank you for your kind accolades, I am delighted to forward them to our entire staff!

Thank you for your loyalty and for being a Marriott Rewards Member. We graciously will be awaiting your next arrival to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection.

Warmest regards,
Suzanne Butt

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews