We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marriott chain- but actually pretty good”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
183 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Marriott chain- but actually pretty good”
Reviewed April 29, 2006

Stayed here for 3 days 2 nights and booked it through Marriott(--)for a rate of 240 that included breakfast, champagne, chocolate covered strawberries, and a junior non-smoking king sized suite. Remember this a a Marriott chain....and I have had rough times recently with Marriott chain hotels....Firstly, if you book a package or request anything specific such as a non-smoking room, they don't care and they don't want you to remember....they are there to get your money with the least possible effort. So, make your requests known to everyone....

Pros: Location, we walked everywhere...granted our feet hurt, but didn't use any transportation. Room size was excellent, and decor was nice. Bath amenitities, breakfast was great selection and quality, good for price, concierge

Cons: Large, may feel non-important, toilets don't flush well, no comfy chair in room,

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jppalooza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    848
    348
    146
    93
See reviews for
558
590
116
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
chevy chase md
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2006

We got married at the Mayflower in March. Over 200 guests mostly out of town. The wedding and catering were AMAZING. (ask for Dominick Sanchez if you thrown an event). The renovated guest rooms are amazing! Even the picky NY and FLA contingent were blown away. One guest had a loud air conditioner outside their room...they got moved...other than that it was perfect and a very good weekend value.

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank YankeeFanDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, Cailfornia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2006

I had a very disturbing experience staying at this very old and run down hotel. The air conditioning is very loud and ruins any sort of peace and quiet in the room. The room itself is old and in need of repairs. I felt like it was pulling teeth to get any sort of assistance while staying there. To get extra towels or having a maid to come in to make up your room in the morning was like pulling teeth. Forget about receiving a turn down in the evening, it just doesn't happen. The location is alright but not great. It is still a distance to get to any good restaurants. I would definitely say go find a more accomodating hotel when staying in Dc this one is not worth wasting your time and money at.

Stayed February 2006
Helpful?
8 Thank Winmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

I just stayed at the Renaissance Mayflower for three nights over Easter weekend. It's a beautiful hotel. I really liked the decor of the public areas and my room. The room was small by today's standards, but not cramped. It had a nice marble bath. The decor is very traditional, but not stuffy at all. The bedspread was raw silk. Downside: this hotel was very busy as it seems to have a lot of conventions. The public areas can be very noisy and crowded. My room did not have an easy chair for reading and/or relaxing. It only had a desk chair. There was no coffee maker in the room. Both of these ammenities are basic in four-star hotels today. Also, the doors are impossible to close quietly so I heard doors opening and closing all the time. It wasn't a deal breaker, but if you're a light sleeper, this is definintely something to consider. The bar was great with lots of dark wood and red velvet couches. This hotel has a lot of history since it opened in 1925 and therefore lots of character too. Overall, I really like this hotel. I got a great holiday rate on [--------]of $169 with one night free. I would not want to pay the usual rate of $300 or more. For this amount, I'd want a larger room with all of the ammenities. All in all it's a great place.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
1 Thank Mid_West_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2006

We reserved a room several weeks in advance for FOUR (2 adults, 2 children) - the internet confirmation stated that the number of guests in the room was "4," and the room type was "deluxe room, 1 king or 2 double." Upon arriving (after driving 3+ hours), we encountered a rather aloof front desk clerk, who informed us that the only room available was with a king bed. We asked to speak to his supervisor, who was more polite but equally unhelpful; apparently, fire regulations allowed for only 1 roll-away per room. We wondered aloud: Where was one of us to sleep, on the floor? It was a very bizarre experience. We then retrieved our car; the valet actually attempted to charge us an hour of time! (he then relented). By the way, the 800 number was also unhelpful. We had received e-mail confirmation of our reservation before arriving; in my view, if they couldn't accommodate us, we should have been told then (ahead of time). We went to a different hotel and enjoyed our stay, but it was a very difficult few minutes.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank money4mice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2006

I stayed here for 4 nights for a conference at the end of February. The rooms were nice as well as the bathroom (they had great bathroom ammenities!). The room service was good. Never saw the gym. Location was central to everything.

  • Stayed February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hardingk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2006

The rooms are very small but clean. The maid service was terrific and hotel staff very friendly. I traveled with an associate and was surprised to learn that the view from both of our rooms was overlooking a unsighlty utility box (different sides of the building). Another downside was that the only exercise facility for this hotel is two blocks away. Although I love the Marriott chain because of the marble bathrooms, I loathe the expensive dining options in the hotel. I continue to stay at Marriott Hotels but I make it a point to take my dining business elsewhere.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Anchorage_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,166 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing