We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Had a Ball at the home of Inaugural Balls” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #58 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Orange County, California
Level Contributor
140 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 317 helpful votes
“Had a Ball at the home of Inaugural Balls”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Was honored back in Fall 2011 to get to stay at this historic "Grand Dame," as Presidents used to refer to this hotel. It was perfectly vintage looking on the outside, but with all the modern comforts of home in the room. The food at the breakfast buffet option was pricey, but laid out so gorgeously, and deliciously worth every bite. It was almost in walking distance to many interesting sites, and we took in every one we could when not working. I for a photo shoot, my partner for some p.r. work. Hope to re visit this historic hotel again, but am glad I got to have this experience I can tell future generations about.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TiffMateas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    885
    747
    309
    131
    83
See reviews for
481
484
107
767
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (375)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

Our family absolutely LOVED this hotel. We managed to get a wicked deal through Hotwire and I'm so glad we got this hotel! The staff is top notch, very polite, will always help and smile, I haven't seen a single frowning face, they all looked happy to be part of that hotel.

The location is amazing and pretty central, a quick walk/drive to all major attractions - the White House, all the museums etc.

The room was so beautiful and the beds/pillows were super comfy (and I'm usually quite picky about the pillows!) - they also had a very nice and clean bathrooms with great set of toiletries.

But the best thing about them is that when my son accidentally left his favourite stuffy they sent it back to us to Canada!!! I would definitely stay there again when I get a chance!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Svetlana Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarsdale, New York
Level Contributor
32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

I have stayed at the Mayflower and attended events there for many decades. I was stunned to enter the hotel on my last visit. They eliminated the charming lobby bar area, as well as the charming old bar that was on the left as one entered, and replaced both with a tacky, noisy space on the right hand side of the lobby. My husband and I endured one visit to the new bar, and never went back. Previously, we delighted in meeting friends in the old bar. I also found that the lobby bar area was a great place to people spot, and more than once ran into friends there by chance. This was an ill-judged renovation which has taken much of the charm and fun out of a Washington classic. The effect is to make the hotel colder and less welcoming. The rooms do not appear to have changed, but the attraction of the Mayflower was primarily the public spaces where one could see and meet friends and spot famous faces.

Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank KasiaNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 10, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on TripAdvisor. We appreciate knowing what you enjoyed about your stay and where we have area for improvement. I will forward your concerns to the hotel manager. Please feel free to contact me directly if you have any further concerns.

Adam Grode
adam.grode@renaissancehotels.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014 via mobile

I stayed for a week for work. I found the staff very helpful and the location was perfect. Literally 5mins from the Farrgot North Metro which is 3 stops from Union Station. Also very close to DuPont Circle with lots of restaurants and night life. Rooms are also quite spacious, modern and clean.

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge
Level Contributor
118 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

The spicy margaritas are one of the best things to ever enter my mouth. The atmosphere was electric and a great time was had by all. Everyone around us was having a jovial time and the party never ended. You MUST try a Spicy Margarita.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sheree t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Jersey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

In town for a sports event held over the course of several days at the Convention Center.

This is a huge hotel and used quite a bit for large conferences.

Pros
• Hotel staff was friendly and helpful. Cleaning staff was very good too.
• Beautiful hotel, inside and out.
• Beds comfortable. Bathroom clean and updated.
• Clean hallways and rugs looked newer.
• The famous Mayflower bar is here.
• Nice gift shops.
• Centrally located in DC.

Cons
• Parking is expensive at the hotel. You pay 46.50 for valet parking. You can park around the corner and pay $30/day but it’s still a valet service (meaning you just can’t get your car when you want it). It typically takes 10-15 mins to get your car at the hotel and only 5 mins at the place around the corner.
• Breakfast is expensive
• Wifi is not free
• At the front desk I asked for a USAToday (typically free) and was told to purchase it at the gift shop

I would stay here again but would look for a better alternative for storing my car.

Room Tip: The higher you are, the further you're away from the city road noises.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gwevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

We were so looking forward to staying at this hotel which had come highly recommended. We were traveling with our 2 children and had booked connecting rooms months before the trip. When we arrived, we were not given connecting rooms and even the manager was unsympathetic to our situation. Our bill was also full of erroneous charges (internet fees, the breakfast bill was higher than the paper receipt, parking charges were twice what was originally quoted). All in all, this has been the most disappointing hotel experience we have ever had.

Room Tip: Stay away from this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KBrown1892
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mayflower20036, Manager at The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, August 7, 2014
You should have expected more of your stay at The Mayflower Renaissance Hotel and apologize that we were unable to deliver a better experience. Feedback such as yours is taken very seriously and we share it with our various departments so that we may find ways to improve our service. I do have all your information and will be reaching out to you soon. Please accept our apologies for the lapses you experienced and we truly hope for the opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,
Darcy Roberts
darcy.roberts@marriott.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupont Circle Hotel
Renaissance Washington, DC Dupon...
#67 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 997 reviews
Sofitel Washington DC
#8 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 2,869 reviews
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#110 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#63 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 2,520 reviews
Dupont Circle
AKA White House
AKA White House
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 stars 605 reviews
Downtown / Chinatown
Loews Madison Hotel
Loews Madison Hotel
#70 of 141 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 stars 1,954 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036-4301
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#54 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#69 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing