We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Classy central place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Paris
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Classy central place”
Reviewed November 18, 2013

This hotel was ideal for the conference I was attending. Very confortable, great staff, good food. A stroll away from the White House and also DC's nightlife. Quintessential American hospitality. Swimming pool not part of hotel but facilities good. I would definitely recommend it to friends and colleagues.

Room Tip: swimming pool not part of hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank constantParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,499 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,064
    848
    348
    146
    93
See reviews for
558
590
116
875
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

We had not been in DC for many years - we found the location, the rooms and the staff at the Mayflower Renaissance fit all our needs. I had called the concierge ahead of our arrival and was very pleased with the service she gave. We walked to several restaurants recommended by the concierge (or found on Tripadvisor) and to a nearby church, we used the nearby metro stations, and appreciated the friendly but upscale atmosphere of the Renaissance. Our room was an upgrade, thanks to Marriott status and we were able to take advantage of the club level lounge, again based on Marriott status. There was an excellent breakfast buffet each morning in the club lounge and snacks were set out in the evening. Our room was spotless. The parking is expensive but we didn't want to drive in the city when it's much more convenient to use public transportation or walk. The staff was very friendly and helpful to us. I'm not a coffee drinker and the person at the front desk offered to personally get tea bags for me to have in our room when I mentioned that we only had coffee in the room.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KathieColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bay area, Ca
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2013

I spent a week here on a government rate, so I'm sure I did not have the best room in the house. It was pretty small though--no room for a side table on one side of the bed. The room was partly updated and partly old. The bath tub/shower was all newly tiled and had a great shower, but the wallpaper next to the tile was kind of old. Pillows in the bed were old and small. Good gym area. Super friendly staff. Bar had expensive drinks but a heavy pour. Nice touch of free apples and water bottles in the lobby (and gym). And a great location. I might return, but I would probably also look around for other options.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CaliforniaLew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2013 via mobile

Had I realized DC is practically within a couple miles (the sites) would have stayed somewhere that offers things like wifi and bar staff that can speak clear English. The bellhop and cleaning staff are great but as far as help from anyone else good luck. Gift shop girl who is obviously new is totally clueless to such simple things as you wrap jewelry and don't drop everything in a ball in a bag with a glass mug..seriously. It's like the staff is all hired by one person and they all know each other. For $400 a day you don't get WiFi, any food or free coffee and not even water in the warm refrigerator. There are many more hip places. This hotel needs to get a clue. Foreign visitors and conventions are keeping them alive. Edgars bar is good but slow as is everything in the city. We waited over 20 minutes for a drink. Prices are steep there too.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank passng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

I was really looking forward to staying here so I think I should start with its plus points.
Great location. We walked to the Whitehouse from here and got the metro from Union station easy enough.
The building. The building is impressive and the lobby area lives up to the past guests you read about in the tour books.
The staff. Really helpful and waiting to help you. Check in was smooth and the girl was welcoming, giving me a map and was seemed genuinely lovely.
The not so good... Once you leave the lobby you feel as if the care and attention to the hotel stays there. The rooms were basic, and in need of some TLC. Yes it was big and clean but the finesse was just not there. The main down side for me was the bedding. They still used blankets which is a bit dated but the fitted sheet on the mattress did not fit it. To me this is a basic for any hotel and something I do not expect to see. The corners kept coming off and the sides rides up exposing the mattress. In the end I slept on the top sheet with the bathrobe over me. They also don't offer free wifi in the rooms. Something someone wandering throughout the lobby can get but not a paying guest.
It was a little disappointing and I think the hotel could be great if they just put some money into it. Perhaps then would believe that a President might still stay there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eagle River, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
207 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

My wife and I spend a weekend at the Mayflower. Rooms were very comfortable, clean and quiet. We found the staff always welling to help and always offered a greeting when we passed. The location is easy walking to area sites. If you are site seeing in DC, get to a downtown location, park your car and walk. Driving in town is a real test of nerves!!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MIFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norman, Oklahoma
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
Reviewed November 13, 2013

This is a wonderful old hotel that has for the most part kept up their common areas and kept the character of the place while updating. I was here to attend a conference so the rate was reasonable (for Washington DC) and the food service was excellent. Being a Marriott Platinum member I had free breakfast every day and it was quite good with a wonderful selection. Only problem I had was that you can't get a cup of coffee in the hotel early in the day. Went down Sunday morning to find a cup of coffee (the pot in my room was not working) at 6:25 AM and they said they would have coffee out around 7:00. Really?? Just seemed odd that you can't get before then. Other than that the stay was very nice and the room comfortable and large for a bit city (upgraded due to Platinum status no doubt).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sdavis3908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,165 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,097 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,632 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing