We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An old queen of downtown Washington”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #64 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“An old queen of downtown Washington”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

THis hotel was made famous by the indiscretions of generations of politicians who had more freedom for dalliance than the current mores allow. If only the walls could talk. Meanwhile the rooms still are quite nice -- somewhat bigger than one usually gets in a downtown hotel. The service is a little slow -- 2 requests made to the desk were ignored.

Room Tip: high floor less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neur14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    846
    348
    145
    93
See reviews for
556
587
116
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Pulling up to The Mayflower almost feels like a step back in time. A stay at this hotel conjures a feeling of old school elegance, you almost feel as though you should be pulling up in a horse and carriage instead of a taxi. And that's a good thing in a world where a good hotel means all white furniture, bored looking staff and swimming pools on the roof... The Mayflower is a classy lady. Sadly, she is a classy old lady and in desperate need of a refresh.

First the good - the staff at the front desk, in the lobby and at the front door are sublime. There was a water main break nearby and we were without water for two of the three days we were in town. The staff responded beautifully to this very unexpected crisis and kept us well informed. There was more bottled water available than my hands could carry. They made sure we knew where we could shower and were willing to help book us at nearby properties if necessary. I stayed put and toughed it out in large part because the staff responded very well to this unfortunate situation. (Gotta love those DC water mains....sheesh)

Now the bad - the room could definitely have used a refresher. The carpets need cleaned and there was a slight musty smell. They are renovating the minibars (at least that's what the sign said) and there was only a mini fridge. My mini fridge was not cleaned after the last guest (maybe even the guest before that) and there were half empty containers of food and old yogurt on the shelves. It was gross. I called the front desk and they quickly sent someone to clean it. I was happy with their response but disappointed I had to even call. I ended up having to call them again moments later when I was about to shower and discovered the lotion on my sink was empty. A small item but it means they didn't replace the toiletries after the last guest (or maybe the guest before that...) Again, the front desk was quick to respond and apologetic. Finally, I got out the shower and was surprised - startled really - to hear a knock at the door and then the door opening. A hotel staff person (a female) was opening my door just as I was coming out of the bathroom. When she saw me coming around the corner, she quickly shut the door. I opened the door and inquired as to why she was in my room she replied "they told me you checked out." Confused, I explained I just checked in and she abruptly turned to go down the hallway and mumbled something about "having to check the room ok thanks" and she was off... Fortunately, she was wearing housekeeping attire and I'm pretty certain she belonged there. This intrusion was rather surprising considering I JUST checked in an hour before. (Post stay note: I had a surprisingly rude encounter with a hotel operator. This issue was promptly addressed by a staffer in the GM's office. She was pleasant and apologetic.)

Overall, my experience with this hotel was good. The water main issue was a downer but not within the hotel's control. The housekeeping staff leaves much to be desired. The rooms could use a refresh but were comfortable and the beds were fantastic. The hotel was quiet. The lobby bar was busy and great night for a drink. You can't beat the location. Easy to access the metro, walkable to awesome nightlife. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelloGorJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Level 6 Contributor
184 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Sure, the Mayflower Renaissance enjoys a wonderful reputation. However, the hotel's reputation is better than reality.

The rooms are small, dated and in terrible need of updating. The bathrooms as small, tired and in need of updating as well.

The complimentary wifi in the lobby barely works and $15/day (per device) for wifi in the rooms is robbery.

We let the desk know our toilet was broken and asked for additional towels and pillows. It took two more visits to the desk to get the toilet repaired and four calls to housekeeping and the front desk to get the requested towels and pillows (by they way, three pillows for two people in a king-size bed, what's up with that?).

Considering the price of the rooms and the Renaissance brand, Marriott is mailing it with this property. For the money, there are simply too many other quality hotels in DC which make the Mayflower a third or fourth choice at best.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenBear_Husker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Second stay here - last was a few years back. Lobby area and restaurant are revamped and nice. Bedrooms slightly tired but cannot fault. Great location, good value rate on trivago. Breakfast was extensive but expensive. Lobby staff were very friendly, restaurant waiters could try harder on the friendly scale!

No hesitation recommending for location and value.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

Overall good location, adequate hotel. The upside: location, lobby, executive lounge and quiet rooms with 2 queen sized beds. The downside: slow to flush toilet, worn towels and robe, and stained carpet. I arrived late and the next day I noticed a hair clip that was not mine in the shower area. This could happen anywhere, however, it just added to the tired appearance of the room. The breakfast buffet and the exective lounge breakfast was good and served similar food. I give it a 4 dot rating because of the location and the price. The room is a three dot.

Room Tip: Get a higher up floor for more quietness. If you asked for foam pillows check immediately --I did no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travelhound2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I stayed both in Washington Plaza and Mayflower, during my tour to DC. Both are very nice, but I would definitely chose Mayflower over Plaza.

PROs:
- good location
- free internet
- very nice rooms/lobby/outside of the building

Overall, it really makes you feel special when entering the building.

CONs:
- breakfast is mot included in most of their offers.

I paid 105 USD/night for 2 persons without breakfast. Definitely a very good ratio value/price.

Would I return? Definitely !

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GlobetrotterRo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Our family stayed here for 4 nights during the end of May. We had 2 rooms. One, a suite. The other, a standard room.
Overall, our stay was extremely pleasant. The only reason I don't give 5 stars is because as mentioned in another review, I too found the guest rooms slightly "worn" and showing their age. Otherwise, the staff was very helpful and friendly giving great reccomendations. The location was sublime! Metro just outside, tour bus/ trolley stop at the front door. Walking distance to the White House and many, many attractions. Price was also reasonable for the season and location.
Definitely suggest the restaurant in the hotel. the kids menu had a huge selection and the portions were grest! and the corned beef sandwich - wow, so delicious!!!
We will return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank smluke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,162 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,096 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#30 of 141 in Washington DC
1,629 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing