We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, friendly service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #57 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

2,420 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,024
    832
    334
    140
    90
See reviews for
540
569
113
852
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (416)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
106 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Recently stayed at the Mayflower Renaissance on a business trip. Hotel was nice, clean, and quiet. The staff was great - all very friendly and attentive. The concierge was especially helpful. The property is well located and within walking distance of convention center. Also very convenient to metro stations.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kilgore_Trout_88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
108 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed November 10, 2012

I'm not sure about the commitment to service at this hotel. When I checked in, there were 3 people behind the desk talking. I had to wait until one of them, looking annoyed turned to help me. She put me in what has to be the worst room in the hotel, tiny and dark and a little worn. I have never before done this, but I called down and asked if another room was available. The reply was that no, the other rooms were smaller (I can't imagine that to be true - the bed would be touching the door!). My coworker showed up 2 hours later and was given a huge room with a seating area - at the same rate. She had two double beds and I had a king. I later saw on a Foursquare tip that if you ask for two double beds, you will get this larger room. Wish they would have offered that as an option when I called down to change rooms! I was just glad I was on a conference room block rate and not paying rack rate...

The hotel is in a convenient location though. So if you can get a good room, and not pay full price, it is worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for two double beds - apparently its like a free upgrade!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Singmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My wife and i stayed at the Mayflower Renaissance for our anniversary and it was great. Driving in DC is terrible, so if you can take the Metro, you should do it. The Farragut North Metro stop is on the same block as the hotel. Very easy.

I have to credit their manager Lilly with making sure our stay was excellent. I made a mistake when booking the room, and Lilly bailed me out by making a change to our reservation when the regular 800# reservation line was unable to help me.

Upon check-in we were greeted with complimentary champagne, which of course was nice.

The hotel is gorgeous, and the room was very nice too. The rooms are not huge, but they are very comfortable.

The hotel is several blocks from the White House and much farther from the Smithsonian Museum and Capitol building. Get a Metro Smart card and take the Metro around if you can. Note on the DC metro, the rates are not a flat, standard rate like you would find in other cities like NYC. Rather, DC charges depending on how far you go. Check out the DC metro site to figure it out before coming to DC. Stations and Trains are clean.

There are a lot of restaurants and bars in walking distance. We ate at (Eric Ripert's) Westend Bistro. It was fantastic. (5 blocks away on 22nd and M St).

We really enjoyed the hotel and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank devers0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Beautiful old hotel just blocks from everything in the Capitol. What a wonderful place to stay. This is an historic grand hotel with everything just steps away;

-White House
-The Mall
-Pauls pastry (yes, the same ones that are awesome in London and France)
-Metro
-Bike rental

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeddalAround
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This is a classic old hotel, centrally located. If you are careful to ask about the room you are getting you can get a large comfy spot (the rooms are all different so location and angle really matters). Lots of old furniture throughout. When they finish the renovations it will be even better. A few steps from the Farragut North Metro so very easy to get around

Room Tip: Ask a lot of questions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a holiday trip from the UK for my wife and myself. We chose the hotel because of it's location and because we wanted a bit of luxury. The welcome at check in was excellent, but then things started to decline. The room small and tired, the restaurant and bar were closed for renovation and the mini bar was locked closed for all but one day because of a fault in the system. The other areas set aside for a bar were often used for functions leaving us with no where to buy a drink on a couple of evenings. We sat on the mezzanine floor one evening and gave up when we were not served or approached for 45 minutes. Not a shining example of US hospitality. The girl at the desk could offer no help. There was no safe in the room. Our coffee was not replaced on the first day at which point we complained. To be fair they took the email seriously and gave us breakfast vouchers as compensation, but all-in-all the hotel was far too expensive for what it offered and living on past reputation.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WickerArch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#15 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,120 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at The Mayflower
Marriott Vacation Club Pulse at ...
#107 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#22 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,232 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,870 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing