We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the Heart of DC”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Ranked #63 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Pittsburgh
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“In the Heart of DC”
Reviewed October 25, 2012

I recently attended a business conference in Washington DC and stayed at the Marriott Mayflower Renaissance. This hotel is one of the grand dames of hotels in the DC area.

If you want to be convenient to a large amount of restaurants and within walking distance to the Washington monuments, you can not get much closer. The variety of near by restaurants is outstanding, and you really get a flavor of DC by walking to them and other places. I would recommend if you are planning to dine at one of the better restaurants in the area make your reservations well ahead of time. DC is always busy. There really is no off season here.

The Mayflower room I had was clean and elegant, but not very large. A suggestion I would make to the hotel is that since many of their visitors are on business, they should have the desk set up to allow watching TV while working. Instead the TV and desk faced opposite directions.

There is no doubt that this hotel gets a large amount of conferences and business travelers.
I would not recommend it for families. The atmosphere is very professional and elegant, but not a good fit for children.

If traveling to DC on business this is a good choice. If bringing family, I would consider other options.

Room Tip: Make area dinner reservations well in advance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,493 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,061
    846
    348
    145
    93
See reviews for
556
587
116
874
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The front desk was very polite in informing me high floor was not available as requested but hey ! there was a suite waiting for me on the fourth floor ! An awesome upgrade !! Very spacious, the bathroom was probably a bit larger than some guest rooms in DC area. A separete living area with elegent furniture, desk with working area, TV, telephones, a book case with some western classics (!!), two refrigerators, complimentary coffee, tea etc....the bedroom with a Kingbed with everything that a standard guest room would have ....except the closet was half the bedroom size...it was truly an amazing experience....and the following morning the concierge had my choice of newspapers! Impressed hands down!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HotelCritique111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This was our 5th or 6th stay at The Mayflower and have always been very pleased with this hotel.

Staff at check-in is always very polite and helpful. We arrived this time a bit early, approximately 10:00am, our room was not available, however our cell phone number was taken, as we were going on a tour. We received a call within a couple of hours that our room was ready.

The room was nice and comfortable. We were on the club level, 8th floor, and took advantage of the club lounge and everything there was top notch as well.

This hotel is within a short walk to the White House and many fine restaurants are nearby. I would highly recommend this hotel for the leisure or business traveler.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This was a great stay for my boyfriend and I who were here for one night on business. Small things not so great - like lack of shampoo and coffee in hotel room but otherwise great hotel and great service - also free wi-fi in the lobby which makes it ideal for business. Nice place to get a snack or coffee upstairs in the lobby bar.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WanderingDiplomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for 6 days. I found the hotel staff to be extremely helpful - we met Jimmy (sales manager) on our first day, and he gave us some sightseeing tips and then sent up chocolate covered strawberries that evening for us! How delightful! The front desk staff and the bellmen were all very helpful. One evening we had trouble getting a cork out of our wine bottle, so called guest services, and someone was up in under 5 minutes! The service was top notch. The hotel rooms are a little dated - the carpet in the hallways could use replacing as it is showing its age but our room was extremely clean and maintained. The beds were comfortable; the pillows were just ok but could be softer. Our room was very quiet - didn't hear any noise except for the occasional siren which is typical for a downtown area in any large city. I had free wi-fi with my conference, and the hotel provided me with complimentary wi-fi for the remainder of my stay which was sweet! The location of the hotel is great in terms of the metro; a fair walk to the white house though but still manageable if you've got good shoes. I would recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greenapple05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed a few days for a conference & really liked it! I hope to return. The hotel is beautiful with historical charm. My room was comfortable & clean. I was lucky enough to be on the 8th floor & stumbled upon the lounge, which was a very nice surprise. The service was amazing in the lounge with them even making up a plate of amazing food after the dinner time period was done. My only complaint is that my room was near a service elevator & it was a bit noisy at times. Otherwise it was the perfect place for me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynneemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestbed
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I can't say say how pleased and customer focused the staff at the mayflower has been. Sofie at the front desk was so helpful in assisting our room change. She understood the challenges that we faced in our current room and was able to move us to a more accommodating space. Adam the manager was kind and understanding and assisted in making the changes immediately. Although in the mix of upgrading...we left a bag behind that contained my child's insulin and monitors. They immediately delivered the bag without delay. The concierge has assisted with all of our outings making our decisions easy and painless. Thank you Mayflower renaissance !

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bestbed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Sofitel Washington DC
#19 of 141 in Washington DC
3,161 reviews
Upper Northwest
Willard InterContinental Washington
Dupont Circle
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
The St. Regis Washington, D.C.
#23 of 141 in Washington DC
1,259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dupont Circle
The Jefferson, Washington DC
The Jefferson, Washington DC
#5 of 141 in Washington DC
1,093 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#29 of 141 in Washington DC
1,629 reviews
JW Marriott Washington, DC
#65 of 141 in Washington DC
2,961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection

Property: The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection
Address: 1127 Connecticut Ave NW, Washington DC, DC 20036
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Luxury Hotel in Washington DC
#53 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#56 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#68 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 581
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection has been a vibrant social hub in Washington, DC since opening in 1925. Refreshed and contemporary, our historic hotel newly inspires the city for business or pleasure with its premier location on Connecticut Avenue. The Mayflower delights with a timeless luxury found in our sweeping marble lobby, picturesque ballrooms, in-house health club, and luxury-minded guestrooms, offering plush bedding, high-speed wireless internet, and flat screen TV's. Enjoy a culinary delight at our lively American brasserie EDGAR, or step outside to experience the local flavor of Dupont Circle and other nearby attractions. Effortlessly blending historic tradition and modern luxury here in the heart of the nation's capital, The Mayflower Hotel is national treasure not to be missed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Mayflower Hotel, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mayflower Hotel Washington Dc
Renaissance Washington Dc
Washington Dc Renaissance
Renaissance Mayflower Hotel
Mayflower Hotel Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing