We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oldie but very cozy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Washington Plaza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 140 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
SP, Brazil
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Oldie but very cozy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nice and cozy. It's well located, walking distance for lots of good restaurants and stores.
We first stayed on a room with a little balcony. It was spacious and very quiet. The second time we stayed there, they placed us on a much simpler and smaller room, which was also fine but the chair was all cracky and peeling. Funny that this hotel is so nice but they lack attention to this kind of detail.
Still was a very nice stay.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank SBedin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,398 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,157
    859
    239
    73
    70
See reviews for
487
744
206
549
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (460)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

The hotel is near downtown, and the room is very comfortable. Even near main road, you may still have very nice sleep, and the bathroom is very nice also. There are two churches just nearby the Hotel.

Room Tip: Opposite side to the circle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank white j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

Thanks to TA, we found this great hotel. I grew up and lived around DC but had never heard of this place. Perfect central location, great pool. The rooms were small but clean and adequate with my 2 kids. The staff was terrific and very attentive. I wonder what will happen wen this place gets discovered considering all the hotels around it are way more pricey.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RebeccaEmmaAva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montgomery Center, Vermont
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We spent 5 nights, everything is wonderful. Room is very comfortable and clean. After tired DC tour clean room and pool so good. finding a newspaper in front of room every morning. smiling faces, Thank you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hknstn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I’m delighted to know you enjoyed your stay and found your accommodations very comfortable and clean. We are looking forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in June. The room was spacious and clean. There is a separate room with the bathroom countertop/sink, and an additional room with a toilet and shower.

The décor was modern, bright and fresh. We had a view overlooking the pool. There was a fridge and microwave in the room. The bedding was clean. Our bathroom toiletries were very well stocked and the room was cleaned well each day.

There is a café across the street which has coffee, snacks, a good breakfast and other items for a light lunch/dinner. There is a liquor store a block or two away, which is open daily. There is also a CVS down the street. We were on a motorcycle so it was easy to get around and find parking spots.

The parking is $25 per day in the underground lot. It's nice to have a safe place to park, but we'd rather have had dedicated bike parking.

Staff was helpful and friendly. Each time I asked for something (a coffee mug, wastebasket, extra coffee packets) it was delivered quite quickly and accurately. The staff really went out of their way to make us feel comfortable.

I would not hesitate to stay here again. The lobby is beautiful, the pool is large and used by many, and the location is good. The price can be a bit high, but it was good or comparable to other hotels in the area, and this one had the advantage of being renovated and fresh.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Minneapolis_MNLegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our property. It is wonderful to hear that you had such a great stay and were satisfied with your accommodations, our location and services provided. I was so pleased to hear that our associates went out of their way to make you feel comfortable! I also wanted to let you know that our rooms are not equipped with a microwave. Again, we appreciate your feedback and look forward to welcome you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Berlin, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

The staff was nothing less than outstanding. we came in early and they got us our room in less than 5 minutes. The pool was worth in weight in gold after the 96 degree days in July. They even got us a rental car when every place we tried was out.

Room Tip: the 3rd floor was very quite, and very comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you for your high praise of the Washington Plaza Hotel. It is wonderful to know our guests think so highly of our team. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend, Indiana
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We spent 3 nights at the Washington Plaza at the beginning of July. Upon check-in we found we were upgraded to a superior king room with a balcony. The room was very clean and the décor up to date. The bathroom had a 2nd room with a door enclosing the toilet and tub/shower separately from a closet/dressing area that included a sink with a large counter. The room had a mini fridge which came in handy and a safe. The balcony had 2 chairs and a decent sized table. We never had to wait long for an elevator and could make it from our car in the basement to our room in less than 5 minutes. The pool was fantastic. It was very large and the patio had plenty of chairs and umbrellas. Overall, this is a great hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Thank you so much for the 5-star review! I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed your room and amenities and glad we were able to give you a complimentary upgrade to a king room with balcony. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan
Kimpton Donovan
#33 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
Dupont Circle
Courtyard by Marriott Washington Embassy Row
Courtyard by Marriott Washington...
#32 of 140 in Washington DC
4.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Kimpton Mason & Rook Hotel
#14 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
One Washington Circle Hotel
#29 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,723 reviews
Phoenix Park Hotel
#6 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
Foggy Bottom - GWU - West End
The River Inn
The River Inn
#12 of 140 in Washington DC
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Property: Washington Plaza Hotel
Address: 10 Thomas Circle NW, Washington DC, DC 20005-4106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing