We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Weekend Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Washington Plaza Hotel
Ranked #27 of 141 Hotels in Washington DC
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'll admit some reviews had me a little nervous, but I think some people are rating this spot on 5+ star hotel standards. IMO this hotel doesn't claim to be all red carpet luxury. If you want luxury & all the bells & whistles, choose & PAY for a hotel in that category...I'm off my soap box now LOL

Stayed here on a Spring Break trip w/ my kiddo & it was a fabo experience!When we arrived the staff was on their toes & very helpful. We were quickly checked in & given the Wi-Fi access code. Wi-Fi worked excellently during our stay BTW. No problems w/ internet speed at all.

The day we arrived & each day of our stay, the room was spic & span. The bed linens were fresh...I'm one of those people that pulls the covers back & like digs through the sheets, all the way down to the box spring :-) The bathroom was equally clean. Loved the fact the shower head was a little higher (I'm kinda tall) & the water actually got nice & hot! Thought the complimentary bottled water daily was nice.

Now, the best things about this hotel are 1) Location & 2) Cost....you really couldn't beat the price considering how close you are to many of the attractions. I was expecting to pay a bit more than I did considering the location.There are plenty of bars, restaurants & things to do within quick walking distance. An added bonus was the CVS right across the street for those "dang I forgot to grab the _____" runs.

I didn't try the room service or their restaurant. Yeah these prices were a lil steep, but I mean it's a hotel, it's to be expected. Had a cocktail one night at their bar & it was fine. Service was quick & drink poured nicely.

All in all it was a great experience & I would gladly book here again. I've not run into a hotel staff that was on point all the way around in a very long time...which can make all the difference in the world when you're on vacay.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cantblockmyshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 7, 2014

Thank you for your recent stay and your praise of our hotel. I’m delighted to hear that you had a fabulous experience with us! I’m glad that our hotel rooms and amenities were to your liking. Thank you for taking the time to recognize our colleagues and the excellent service they provide. We all look forward to seeing you again on your next visit to Washington, DC!


Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,636)
There are newer reviews for Washington Plaza Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,233 - 1,239 of 2,636 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2014

This was a SUPER hotel. Clean, friendly, and safe! Parked car underground…not scary. The pool was A+. I think a lot of business people use this hotel, so pool is underused…great for kids. Room service was excellent…a treat for my daughter. Try the mac and cheese - it is linguine noodles with a rich sauce!!! Fries were super. Great caesar salad. No more expensive than a diner. Walked the first day - a 10 year old could make it downtown with breaks. The next day we took subway from the Capitol area back and only had to walk 4 blocks back to hotel. Not a lot of places to eat around hotel, pizza shop and The Brown Bag were good. Nice mini-fridge, good TV with cable channels, nice AC. CVS across street. GREAT bathroom separated with a sink area and closed off with door for extra privacy for changing area. Bath and Body toiletries! Great place…will stay the next time and recommend to all friends.

Room Tip: Back side of hotel has no view, but much quieter than front. We like that.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbickel17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay. I am delighted to hear that you had a great stay and you could take advantage of all the hotel has to offer. I’m glad that you and your family enjoyed our beautiful pool. I also appreciate your comments regarding the excellent room service – it is an option that provides great convenience. The Caesar Salad is a favorite among our guests as seen in previous reviews. Thank you for your kind recommendation and we hope to welcome you back very soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Just the kind of hotel if you need peace and quiet. Loved the pool area and very comfortable
lounge chairs. Pool side service is a plus. Sunday brunch on the patio was delightful. Staff was
very pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank diva23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for reviewing your stay at the Washington Plaza. It’s wonderful to read that you were able to have a quiet and relaxing stay in such an active city. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Sunday Brunch on the patio. Please come back and see us again soon!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Hotel is in a convenient location for sight seeing, but that's about as much as can be said about this hotel. Queen "Superior" rooms are dark & pokey (seriously small, like 1ft between end of the bed and the wall). We asked to be moved rooms, but got told they were all the same size.

For the same rate, there are a lot nicer hotels in DC.

Don't believe the room pictures online, they are taken from very clever angles.

Also, my wife got a couple of bites in the room, which other reviewers have also experienced.

Don't use hotel to make calls. Extremely expensive. $4 just to connect.

Ended up leaving a night early. Loved DC, but would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in 343. Avoid.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kerryandstuart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. I am sorry to hear you weren’t delighted with your accommodations and I sincerely regret that they did not meet your expectations. Please know that we do have a variety of room sizes. If room size is important to you, I definitely encourage you to book the Superior King room, as it is much more spacious. If you would like to further comment on your experience, please contact me directly at generalmanager@washingtonplazahotel.com.


Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Mette V
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We arrived at the Washington Plaza after a long drive in miserable conditions--but when Larry opened the door and greeted us, we felt immediately welcomed and at home. He was charming, efficient and EXACTLY what you hope every first impression from a member of staff will be--and he continued to make my husband and I feel as if we were important and valuable guests merely by remembering us and being kind. The hotel is centrally located, clean and very good value for the money. I'll come here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dr R M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you so much for the 5-star review and applause! I’m delighted to hear that you were very satisfied with your stay right from your welcome, to your accommodations, and our convenient location. I will pass along the compliments and appreciation for Larry and the Concierge team. We look forward to welcome you back on your next visit with the same service!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

Three of us were in DC for a three night stay and wanted a hotel near the attractions. Plaza is a little less than a mile walk to the Mall. Service was wonderful, rooms are small but served the purpose. Well kept and cleaned nicely. Only complaint was the pool closed at 9pm during our June stay, it was hot out and would of appreciated a later closing time. Parking is an additional cost.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a1detect
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WPManagement, General Manager at Washington Plaza Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2014

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to experience our wonderful guest service! We look forward to welcome you back!

Best regards,

Tom Casey
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Washington DC hotels
Cambria hotel & suites Washingto...
#50 of 141 in Washington DC
674 reviews
Upper Northwest
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
Kimpton Donovan Hotel
#26 of 141 in Washington DC
1,679 reviews
Dupont Circle
Holiday Inn Washington DC-Central/White House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Phoenix Park Hotel
#18 of 141 in Washington DC
328 reviews
Upper Northwest
Hilton Garden Inn Washington, DC Downtown
Capitol Hill Hotel
#11 of 141 in Washington DC
1,527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Washington Plaza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Washington Plaza Hotel

Address: 10 Thomas Cir NW, Washington DC, DC 20005
Phone Number:
Location: United States > District of Columbia > Washington DC > Upper Northwest
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Romantic Hotel in Washington DC
#35 Family Hotel in Washington DC
#52 Business Hotel in Washington DC
Price Range: $106 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Washington Plaza Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 340
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the fresh new feel of the Washington Plaza. Designed in 1962 by world-famous architect Morris Lapidus, this recently renovated Washington DC hotel near the White House offers an engaging balance of cosmopolitan ambiance and unpretentious hospitality – perfect for international business trips, romantic getaways, and once-in-a-lifetime family vacations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Washington Plaza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Washington Plaza Hotel Washington Dc
Washington Plaza Dc

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing